We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
  
Ways to Experience London Mithraeum
from US$191.61
More Info
from US$174.84
More Info
from US$48.96
More Info
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
238
95
21
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
238
95
21
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman temple sound and light show on display numbers are limited roman times modern art time slot queen victoria free attraction take photos bloomberg excavations mithai chanting information mist descend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2021

The London Mithraeum is an excellent example of Roman Britain showing the only serious contender to Christianity in late antiquity. Mithraism was extremely popular among 4th Century Roman soldiers. It most likely failed to Christianity because it excluded women from its membership. It wasn't your father who made you get out of bed and attend church on Sunday mornings! The London Mithraeum is free of charge, but you must book tickets in advance. Also, this is the original site of the Mithraeum which was moved to another site near Temp Tube Station and was outside for 75 years. It is now back in its ordinal location and protected from the elements.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2021

Its small however its very well organised, laid out and immersive - the experience in the temple ruins was great and unlike anything else I have experienced at another musuem and the display of roman artefacts is impressive. I was there for between 30-40 mins in total.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank leileireid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2021

Amazing experience!! Great gem to visit in the heart of the City of London where you can see contemporary art and artefacts 1900 years old.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank R6143GSalexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

Wow. Friendly staff, wonderfully presented exhibits and all free! A lovely way to spend an hour below the middle of London!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Curious61260003804
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2021

I am appalled with my visit to the London mithraeum this week. The museum guides were constantly on their phones watching videos and looking at disgusting pictures on social media which my 10 year old child was unfortunate to witness. The staff were not friendly and were too concerned making social media videos rather than even acknowledging my visit. This is a terrible look for Bloomberg and I expected better with having experience in a corporate company for over 20 years. To the standards of which on social media museum guides are posting videos in which they are dancing inappropriately with their bottoms in the air. Not the greatest look for such a company and I will never be bringing my child to such a place of filth and ignorance from their staff ever again.

JR

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank johnathonr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews