We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
41
127
199
100
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
127
199
100
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room was tiny kensington palace towel rail natural history close to hyde park
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 544 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Positives:
-clean, private bathroom
-towels (albeit scratchy) changed daily
-comfortable bed with clean sheets
-good wifi (even in basement)
-2 minute walk to Central/District/Circle Underground lines
-we were allowed to keep our bags in the breakfast room after we checked out until that evening.
-breakfast included coffee (undrinkable, sorry), tea, hot chocolate, juice, milk, canned peaches, toast, one variety of cold cereal, toast, croissants, cheese, some sort of processed “meat” I didn’t dare try, and boiled eggs. So definitely enough to fill you up before a day of sightseeing.

Negatives:
-very small. Take your expectations of a small room and lower them. The room was tiny. This is ok if you are, like us, only going to be sleeping here.
-staff not warm or friendly. I challenge you to get the receptionist to crack a smile (to be fair, they were polite) Witnessed the breakfast staff being a bit snappy with guests.
-Breakfast room so very very small as in you cannot even get into an inner table because chairs and tables are so close to one another. It’s an old building and at least they offer breakfast which can save you some serious cash if you’re on a budget and you’re ok with the same thing every morning.
-room is hot so we kept the window open. If you are in the basement, it’s a bit noisy as someone lives in a residence right across the stairway outside your window. You can hear people in the rooms around you and there’s a heavy door right outside the room that slams when people come in and out at all hours of the night.
-although in Notting Hill, this specific few-block radius did feel a little run-down and seedy.

In summary, this hotel is a very good option if you are on a budget and just need a shower and a bed. We spent 5 nights in March and paid about £60 per night (booked over 3 months in advance). Keep your expectations low, this is not a “luxury hotel” but I feel like we got great value for our money. If you can afford to splash out on something a bit nicer, do that.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank sarchrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingHillGate H, Manager at Notting Hill Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your stay with us on Tripadvisor.
This helps us improve the service that we give to future guests and also understand what is important to the people that stay with us.
If you will look for accommodation in the future do not hesitate to contact us.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

Very clean room in good location. Just 2 mins walk from Notting Hill gate station. Very easy to connect to Piccadilly line to Heathrow airport. Comfort breakfast. My room was in a basement;I would complain a bit about noise from upstairs. It’s very loud when people walk. I can’t sleep properly in early morning.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Chanida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingHillGate H, Manager at Notting Hill Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your stay.
We highly appreciate our guests’ comments as they help us to improve our service, ensuring that we deliver an experience in line with our guests’ expectations.
If you mentioned to the reception that there is any issue with the room we would change for you as making our guest happy is our main rules.

If you will look for accommodation in the future do not hesitate to contact us.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Great and quiet location.we stayed there for 5 nights,so close to Notting Hill Gate station and Portobello Road,Lovely clean en-suite room,small but if you have already been in London you know that the price is the size and location,the towels were changed every day,good breakfast,staff is very friendly and helpful.Great value for money,will definitely be using here again.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank ryansmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingHillGate H, Manager at Notting Hill Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your stay with us on Tripadvisor.
This helps us improve the service that we give to future guests and also understand what is important to the people that stay with us.
I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been shared among the team.

It will be my pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

I was with my family (we are 4) 10 days ago in this hotel. We chose this hotel because we wanted to be together in the same room, a central place and also a good value for Money experience.

The hotel is near the tybe station. However, it has no elevators and if you come early and want to leave your things in the hotel (in a luggage room, for exemple), you need to leave it in the breakfast room, very accessible to others and because of that, very unsecure.

The room is very small and the bathroom is the smallest one I have ever seen.

The room was apparently clean. However, in one drawer we found a peace of underwear, which means that the standards of this hotel are not that high...

The room was also very hot inside and we weren't able to turn the heater off.

You need yo leave the room keys at the reception, which is something I don't understand.

It wasn't a big deal for us, because we stayed most of the time out of the hotel.

The best thing is the localization, but I am not sure if it will be enough to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank pjduarte71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingHillGate H, Manager at Notting Hill Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your stay.
We highly appreciate our guests’ comments as they help us to improve our service, ensuring that we deliver an experience in line with our guests’ expectations.
Please note that the hotel and the breakfast room is secured by CCTV and no one entering the breakfast when used for the luggage unless has luggage inside the room.
Space in the centre of a big city like London is at premium,bathroom Maybe on the small but is clean and practical,we still feel it is better to have your own shower and WC than sharing with others. . We also feel that all inclusive (20% VAT, lot variates in the open buffet breakfast, Free WiFi) price charge in the centre of a big city, is good value.. Lift is not advertised anywhere.
Since you informed the receptionist about what you found in the drawer ,we have taken immediately the required action with the Housekeepers and I assure you that this will not happen again.
Regarding that the room is hot,as soon as you informed the receptionist the room is hot ,he simply came up immediately to show you how to close it.we only recommend you to keep your room card with the receptionist when you go out and pick it up when you come back ,just for security reasons, and this is a choice mean while is no problem at all with us to keep the room card with you at all time.

Once again thank you for your feedback. I hope that you will consider us when you are next in London.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Warsaw, Poland
5
Reviewed 26 December 2017

The location of the hotel is very convenient. Rooms are small but quite functional. Very good value for money for spending a week in London and walking around the center. The staff is correct.5 floors, no lift.

Room Tip: Prefer lower floor if you don't like walking upstairs without lift.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingHillGate H, Manager at Notting Hill Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review; your comments are very useful as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel and the services we provide. Please note that we only have 4 floors.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews