We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous as usual”

Il Forno - Liverpool
Ranked #88 of 1,680 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Attended with family for my partners 30th birthday service & food was excellent as always, been to this restaurant many times over the years even with the competition in Liverpool one this is still our favourite

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    834
    365
    159
    91
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We've always wanted to try authentic Italian pizza from Il Forno, and we were not disappointed. They were incredible, but be careful if you order garlic bread and expect a few slices - you get a whole pizza base smothered in garlic butter - which is lovely but filling.
Service was quite slow, but as we weren't in a hurry it wasn't a problem, if we had have been on a deadline though - iit was too slow. Wouldn't put us off going back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chedder_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth a go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Location - fairly central, easy walking from Albert Dock area and several other restaurants side by side. Welcome - polite, quiet and friendly. Coats taken and handed a retrieval ticket and then respectively shown to our table. Menu - Good choice of Italian dishes. No specials board. Service - Drinks waiter friendly, food waiter slightly aloof and detached manner. He stood looking disinterested while we advised him of our order. He didn't write anything down. This wasn't really a problem. Food - very nice. My wife had a starter of baked stuffed pepper on a fresh tomato sauce and it was delicious. We both had pizzas for mains and no complaints. The base was thin and crispy baked in an open flame, although not wood chip fired, oven which is in the middle of the open-plan kitchen. I had ice cream for dessert which was excellent. The coffee was really well done and of good strength - top marks. Price - Our meal consisted of 1 starter, 2 pizzas, 1 dessert, 2 coffees, 1 glass red wine and 1 beer.This came to £48 - including service charge. Interior - Very smart and pristine clean shininess as only the Italians know how. Toilets were clean and fresh also. Overall - we found Il Forno a very enjoyable experience and I would recommend it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turrysagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brillant restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The staff were attentive and very friendly. It is a busy restaurant and popular with locals and tourists alike. Good food and worth the money we paid. Best Italian in Liverpool, I have ever had. 

Helpful?
Thank Kristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Fantastic, authentic food with lots of special events during the year.

Helpful?
Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Forno - Liverpool also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Il Forno - Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing