We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the airport and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport
Ranked #50 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed here overnight before going away on holiday. The hotel is in a good location, close to the airport but also next door to a large new Garden Centre with restaurant inside if you wanted a browse and a bite to eat. They have offers on for eating with a very reasonable cooked breakfast. Across the main road on the corner the Mersey Retail Park is located with all the shops you are likely look at.
Our only problem is where our room was located. We were on the first floor overlooking the reception entrance which is also the designated smoking area. The room was very hot and stuffy and we were forced to leave our window open. From early evening until early hours of the morning we had very loud talking, shouting, laughter and foull language as all the smokers from the bar congregated. Between this you had taxis coming and going, horns beeping and lots of loud noise.
If you stay here try to get a room on the far side of reception and towards the rear of the hotel. The other option is to close your windows and try to sleep in a hot stuffy oven!!

Room Tip: Opposite side to reception and hotel entrance area or you will be above the noisy smoking crowds
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yinsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 509 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

We where able to get a family room for 4 people which saved us the cost of another room. The breakfast was great with plenty of hot and cold items. This hotel appeared to be in a safe area and was clean inside and out. It cost about 12 pounds for a taxi to downtown Liverpool. The staff was great and very helpful. We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed in holiday inns for the rest of our vacation when they were available.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarence g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Simply does what an airport hotel is expected to do. Very clean, friendly staff, free and good quality internet access. Breakfast is free so may not be top notch but will feed you.

Rooms are comfortable , no noise, typical HI express bathroom with excellent shower.

I did walk from the terminal, about 25 mins, but would not recommend in the dark. Path is very uneven and I tripped twice. If you are looking for a walkable hotel try Premier in or of course Hampton.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I'd say all rooms are the same
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Harold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed here overnight after catching a late night flight into the city, so did not use any facilities apart from the room and the breakfast. Hotel was clean, bright, comfy and well located for coming in late at night, although not quite close enough to the airport - would have been great to walk to the hotel instead of a taxi, but it was a bit too far to walk with a bag at midnight. The room was just what I needed - comfy bed, quiet, perfect temperature, well designed and equipped bathroom (love the bathroom door design that becomes the toilet door when open!), even in-room tea & coffee facilities, although I didn't get time to use.

My husband did not rate the breakfast, but that's because he prefers a proper english fried breakfast with lots of choice, but it was perfect for my continental breakfast preferences, as there was good choice of cereals, jams and even muffins. It was certainly good for the price of the room, so no complaints. It is a no-frills hotel - don't expect the Ritz, but it's perfect for a basic comfortable stopover.

Room Tip: Don't get a room over the bar/reception area if you want a quiet night - ours was on the 4th flo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahlegge79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Hotel was perfect apart from food. I got fish and chips which was very poor quality. The chips were dry oven chips and the fish was oven cooked and dried up. Then the breakfast, the orange in the machine was watery and I had to tell staff to change it, then it was not chilled. No bacon left in the trays, this was at 7.30am. The self service toaster took three go's to get the toast lightly browned. The only other issue was the fan in the bathroom being on constantly.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stban2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Sefton Park
Sefton Park Hotel
Sefton Park Hotel
#66 of 98 in Liverpool
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#57 of 98 in Liverpool
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport

Address: 1 Speke Hall Avenue, Liverpool L24 1UX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#26 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#33 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: €69 - €69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool John Lennon Airport is ideally located for both Liverpool Airport and as a base for exploring the fabulous City of Liverpool, which is celebrating as European Captial of Culture 2008. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value for money so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile. We offer complimentary secure parking at the hotel for any guests staying overnight or attending a conference in one of our 3 purpose built meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing