We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”
Review of 62 Castle Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
62 Castle Street
Ranked #53 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Great hotel - lovely rooms, good food and very helpful staff - definitely worth a visit- and Liverpool is amazing.

Room Tip: I think they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRSHSHEFFIELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 514 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

We got engaged here 12 months ago ,and decided to return for our 1st years engagement anniversary,as we enjoyed it so much.

Location to shops ,bars and restaurants could not be better and a short stroll to the Albert docks.

Bar area sophisticated and well stocked from champagnes to cocktails.

The hotel rooms are massive and the beds are the most comfortable you will ever sleep in.

However, having to pay boutique prices for this hotel,we feel there are minor issues that need addressing,to keep this hotel up there with the best in Liverpool.

There are no mini bars in the rooms ,difficult to fill the kettle from the designer tap,shower ok if your under 5 foot tall and some of the fixtures and fittings are looking a little dated.

It would also be nice for tea and coffee to be served to your table ,rather than self service, when partaking in such a wonderful breakfast.

It may also be prudent for the staff taking the booking , to pay attention to why guests are returning,especially when celebrating a special occasion.

We love the hotel and hope the minor issues can be rectified for future guests.


.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjenkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed here for four nights over a long weekend in Liverpool, we usually try for boutique hotels rather than chain ones and this was recommended on a boutique hotel website.

First impressions were good: central location, period exterior, stylish decor and a helpful receptionist.

The room was quirky and spacious but I agree with other criticisms that the lighting was insufficient and could do with some brighter paint on the ceiling. The lack of a fridge was slightly annoying as we like chilled drinks to take out with us. For a modern hotel, the lack of Wi-Fi was disappointing too, although there was a hardwire network, we had to use our smartphones on 3G.

The first morning we decided to have breakfast at the hotel, even though we hadn't pre-booked, as it was our first time in Liverpool and we didn't have a clue where anything was. Unfortunately the breakfast was disappointing as we has to ask for basics like salt, pepper and sauces and we weren't offered any tea or coffee other than what was in the jugs. My girlfriend asked for a full (veggie) english and the waiter seemed surprised when we asked for toast. The menu had basic spelling errors too. Needless to say, we decided to go elsewhere for future breakfasts.

The room maids seemed efficient in making the bed and replenishing the room with tea, coffee and biscuits. However on one occasion we returned to find pyjamas left on a lampshade.

Making tea had the quirk of trying to fill the kettle up from the bathroom basin and it was difficult to fit it under the tap. Although the shower controls worked they appeared to be upside down. In addition to fixtures and fittings, the bedside light switches were confusing, particularly if we wanted to traverse the steps to and from the toilet during the night.

Overall, because we stay in boutique hotels often, expectations were high and this was disappointing compared to others we had been to.

This hotel has the potential to be great, but not enough attention to detail just turns it into good.

If i was to go to Liverpool again I would probably look for a different boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cducklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed here on Boxing Day, I waited to get to the last minute to book and got a good deal direct with the hotel. They gave us a corner room which gave a fantastic view over Liverpool, I loved the interior, everything was very tastefully done. It had really two massive comfy leather chairs looking out over the view of Liverpool which was a great finishing touch. Everything was decorated really tastefully, comfy bed, nice bedding, towels, etc, all really comfy. The only shame was the restaurant Merchants Bar was shut, which is a shame as I read really good reviews about it. We ended up going to Nobel House which is close by and was very good food with great service. I would stay here again and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chapelapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel numerous times now, never let me down!
I prefer the master suites as opposed to the house suites since they are bigger and only £10 more. The restaurant in the hotel is lovely and really great value for money, would 100% recommend a stay here, perfect as right in town! p.s. best beds in the entire world soo comfortable I didn't want to go back home to my own bed!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liverpool_89_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 98 in Liverpool
1,653 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 98 in Liverpool
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool by Marriott
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,256 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 62 Castle Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 62 Castle Street

Address: 62 Castle Street, Liverpool L2 7LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: €63 - €180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 62 Castle Street 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 Castle Street is a 4 star hotel in the heart of the City Centre. 62 Castle Street is a Grade II listed building which was built in 1868. The luxurious hideaway of 62 Castle St is more than just an exclusive hotel. The original site was known as "The Old Bank" although, dramatically transformed in 1985 the building has maintained its unique features including, the main staircase, huge marble pillars and stunning high decorated ceilings, not forgetting the old bank vaults, which still remain intact to this day! The 4 star hotel offers 20 individually designed Suites offering guests high quality and spacious rooms. All rooms have King-size beds, a lounge area with sofas or lounge chairs and a flatscreen LCD TV. All rooms have two phones in the room, and are equipped with a desk for working or used as a dressing table. The large stylish rooms include modern en-suite bathrooms with powerful drench showers and some with Baths and all luxury toiletries. The rooms have an amazing full Length leaner mirror which is a main feature in the rooms. The rooms are even large enough to unwind and do Yoga. Some rooms have Juliet balcony doors which flood the room with natural light. 62 Castle St Hotel does not have its own restaurant/bar, however we are in the heart of the city centre and our team have a wide knowledge of the best places to dine. Whether you are coming to Liverpool 1 for a shopping extravaganza or experiencing the excitement of the Beatles phenomena or simply visiting for business, the hotel is within easy reach of everything Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your 62 Castle Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Castle Street Hotel Liverpool
62 Castle St Liverpool
62 Castle St Hotel Liverpool
62 Castle Street Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing