We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Sir Thomas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sir Thomas Hotel
Ranked #57 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Stayed for two nights beginning of October ,very helpful staff including the doorman receptionist ,staff at breakfast,lovely delicious food ,comfy clean room,doorman helped us plan our day with very useful information concerning how to get to certain places ,

Room Tip: Try not to stay at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jaynesimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Went here late afternoon on Sunday 1st October with my daughter for some cocktails
We went to the bar ordered the cocktails and we're told to take a seat
Ten minutes later still waiting and my daughter asked were the cocktails were and was told they would do them in a minute
After 5 more minutes we decided to sit by the bar and a barman asked us what we wanted and we advised him had ordered cocktails fifteen minutes ago and pointed out the blonde haired barman who was at the end if the bar talking to girls who were on hen night
We eventually got the cocktails with no apology and sat by the bar
An order came in from the hen party for cocktails and the wrong cocktail was made and to our astonishment the bar man drank it
How unprofessional
Also an older couple came in snd approached the bar and asked if there was a restaurant and the staff just pointed and said sit somewhere up there and left them to it
When we were leaving the couple were outside looking for somewhere else to it
Would not go there again which is a shame as the interior is lovely
Need proper management in there

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Service was not good not at all. In hotels restaurant, they treated hotel guests like they were customers outside. I have never seen service like that.

Hotel guest should be a king in hotels restaurant, too.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kai-Lars-Timo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirThomas, operations manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Kai

Please let me first apologize for your experience in our restaurant here at The Sir Thomas hotel. We pride ourselves on providing exemplary service with highest quality food having done a full internal investigation we have now implemented a full review of our training program to ensure this type of experience does not happen again. Thank you for your review

Kind Regard
Steve Ascroft
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Our third visit to this hotel, we stayed in a room on the front this time but it is very noisy like a room on the M6. Its only noisy on the morning though so if you can put up with it the view makes up for it. There is building work across the road so ask for a room at the back of the Hotel. Our room 104 was very good the bed comfortable and clean, breakfast was better this time and the horrible curtains have beem removed. We will highly recommended this hotel for its location and price.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bobbytrip2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirThomas, Operations Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Bobby

Thank you for your review we are working very closely with Liverpool city council and our maintenance department to put a 2nd glaze on all windows facing the front with our hotel being a listed building we have got to follow all rule and regulations and i can assure you we are working very hard to achieve this.

kind Regards
Steve Ascroft
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Nice location. Wonderful breakfast. My husband liked the full English breakfast and I liked the buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, juices. Bar was very nice and staff were accommodating. Problem: mattress! I couldn't go to sleep on this horrible mattress. I am talking feeling the springs on what I might imagine is a 30 year old mattress. I forgot but meant to tell them before we left that they needed to get a new mattress for our room. I had to lay on the coverlet and sheets to try and sleep. As far as the noise staying in a front facing room we didn't have a problem with that.

Room Tip: Try out the mattress first! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Norma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirThomas, operations Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Norma

Thank you for your review. Your comment mean a lot to our team and we really appreciate the positive feed back you have given us. having spoken to our head housekeeper and checked all mattresses any that do need replacing will be as soon as possible.

Kind Regard
Steve Ascroft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#17 of 100 in Liverpool
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Podworks Hotel
#59 of 100 in Liverpool
379 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#21 of 100 in Liverpool
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Thomas Hotel

Address: 24 Sir Thomas St, Liverpool L1 6JB, England (Formerly Henry's Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: €54 - €198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Thomas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to The Sir Thomas Hotel, Liverpool. A 39 Bedroom boutique hotel located in the heart of Liverpool City centre, just 30 minutes from John Lennon Airport, 45 minutes from Manchester Airport and in close proximity to the main railway station. The Sir Thomas Hotel offers an unrivaled and quality personal service often not available at the large corporate hotels and we are committed making all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. The Sir Thomas Hotel is located in the neo classical former bank of Liverpool building in the centre of Liverpool, just minutes away from the bustling commercial and shopping districts including The Metquarter, Cavern Walks & Liverpool One. Enquire about our Upgrades to either our in house Suite or our Luxury Waterfront Penthouse, offering an unparalleled view of the city and make it a stay to remember. The Sir Thomas is not only a hotel but also houses on the ground floor the beautiful St John Restaurant, Bar & Lounge named so after the highly acclaimed Chef Stewart St John whose vision & creativity launched the restaurant in 2004. The St.John Restaurant is everything you would expect from dining in a top hotel, full of classic style and sophistication with an added contemporary twist. Over the past 10 years our team of chef’s have built an unrivaled reputation for creativity, style and consistently high standards. The St.John offers a contemporary bar menu, ideal for lunches and early evening meals as well as a a full grill menu for the finer palate. The Lounge & Bar offer unrivaled quality in our drinks selection of continental beers, champagnes, fine wines and extensive cocktail list as well as being the first Hotel in Liverpool to offer a traditional Afternoon Tea complete with freshly baked scones and delicate finger sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Thomas Liverpool
Hotel Sir Thomas
Sir Thomas Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing