We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Sir Thomas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sir Thomas Hotel
Ranked #57 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 17 September 2017

I was very disappointed by the room in the Sir Thomas. The downstairs is stunning, clean and appealing which I thought meant that the rooms followed that theme. I was wrong. The room was dirty and dusty. The bathroom suit has not been changed since the 1960's by the look of it. The bath was covered in stains and marks that have been there for years. The windows are thin and old. The whole room really needs updating and a good clean. The room really was not worth the money paid.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We went to stay on Monday 4th of September.I can't remember the receptionists name Sarah,Cheryl maybe but I am sure the hotel can look this up and give her our compliments as she was a credit to the hotel.We spent less than 10 minutes with her whilst we checked in but she was so friendly,helpful and informative that I feel she deserves recognition by the hotel so nice to be told that "any problems,information or any queries just please use the phone in the room or come and see me personally".As somebody who had been in the hospitality business this is something that should be standard but we know it isn"t always the case.She was lovely.The rooms are lovely and spacious with everything you would expect.My only problem was the noise but to be fair the hotel does mention this on it's website.As a listed building their hands are pretty much tied but they are I believe looking into secondary glazing.We were unfortunate as in our room directly overlooked a building site and so as well as the usual city noise of 24 hr buses and people we had jack hammers going off at 7.30.We had to close the window and being the beginning of September and nice weather and it being a hotel without air conditioning it was an awful night's sleep so much so I was so tired in the morning I didn't go for breakfast,which I have been reliably informed is excellent normally.Having been born and brought up in Liverpool I am used to and am quite fond of normal city noises but I feel that once the nearby construction is finished and the secondary glazing installed I would not hesitate to book again and urge others to as it is a beautiful hotel with great staff

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maxine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The Sir Thomas is an older hotel in the city center and would better for a bit of updating and some TLC in some areas. Having said that we found our room to be clean and spacious, the staff very friendly and helpful breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from, it's a shame that they no longer do a discount to eat in the restaurant but a massive bonus is the discounted parking as most places are with walking distance we left our car in the car park for the duration of our 4 night stay and it only cost us £30 pounds instead £80. We would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bill194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

The making of this hotel is the amazing staff and lovely breakfast. The rooms and hotel is shabby, in need of refurbishment and the room was very noisy at night being woken by hen parties at 4 in the morning. Park at NCP not Q park next door to NCP to get hotel discount.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Yola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We chose the hotel based on its' location as it was midway between the railway station and the Cavern Quarter and tours we wanted to take.
Lots of bars and restaurants close by and easy walking distance for members in our party.

The hotel is a little tired looking in places but it's also clean and the staff are friendly.
The view from our room (310) looked out onto an old and empty building on a side street.
The room was very warm of an evening and we had to open the window a little to let some air in which led to some traffic noise from the streets on the first evening.

Breakfast service on our first morning was fast and friendly (6 Sept) but the following morning, tables were left uncleared and a queue of people were waiting for tables.
The service each morning was by different people so we're not sure if it was a staffing issue or the fact they worked differently than those on the previous day.
However, the breakfast buffet offered a good choice all round.

We would like to return to the hotel again as it offered everything we needed for a couple of nights' stay.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Hard Days Night Hotel
#29 of 99 in Liverpool
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Thomas Hotel

Address: 24 Sir Thomas St, Liverpool L1 6JB, England (Formerly Henry's Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: €49 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Thomas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to The Sir Thomas Hotel, Liverpool. A 39 Bedroom boutique hotel located in the heart of Liverpool City centre, just 30 minutes from John Lennon Airport, 45 minutes from Manchester Airport and in close proximity to the main railway station. The Sir Thomas Hotel offers an unrivaled and quality personal service often not available at the large corporate hotels and we are committed making all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. The Sir Thomas Hotel is located in the neo classical former bank of Liverpool building in the centre of Liverpool, just minutes away from the bustling commercial and shopping districts including The Metquarter, Cavern Walks & Liverpool One. Enquire about our Upgrades to either our in house Suite or our Luxury Waterfront Penthouse, offering an unparalleled view of the city and make it a stay to remember. The Sir Thomas is not only a hotel but also houses on the ground floor the beautiful St John Restaurant, Bar & Lounge named so after the highly acclaimed Chef Stewart St John whose vision & creativity launched the restaurant in 2004. The St.John Restaurant is everything you would expect from dining in a top hotel, full of classic style and sophistication with an added contemporary twist. Over the past 10 years our team of chef’s have built an unrivaled reputation for creativity, style and consistently high standards. The St.John offers a contemporary bar menu, ideal for lunches and early evening meals as well as a a full grill menu for the finer palate. The Lounge & Bar offer unrivaled quality in our drinks selection of continental beers, champagnes, fine wines and extensive cocktail list as well as being the first Hotel in Liverpool to offer a traditional Afternoon Tea complete with freshly baked scones and delicate finger sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Thomas Liverpool
Hotel Sir Thomas
Sir Thomas Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing