We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of hope street hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
hope street hotel
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Three cheers for independent boutique hotels. It's not easy to get noticed in a world of large international chains, but this hotel does a brilliant job. Funky, well-appointed and bright rooms with nice exposed brick detailing, hardwood floors and great bathrooms. I liked everything. The cable TV offering was probably the most extensive that I have come across (Sky Sports AND BT Sports, for instance). Pretty decent breakfast too; you get both the buffet and a choice of mains for £16.50, which isn't bad these days. If I ever come back to Liverpool, this is where I'm staying.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Back_to_Sandringham,

Thank you for your brilliant review. If you do leave Sandringham again - we are corgi friendly.

Best wishes, Mary C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 352 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here when we visited Liverpool to watch the Reds against Stoke.

It just so happened that it was also the weekend of the grand national so the hotel was extremely expensive and busy but tickets to Anfield are hard to come by so we take them when we can!

The hotel itself is very nice with a cool restaurant and bar area. The room was tiny (really tiny) and was a bit of a maze to find. Also, for some reason the temperature of the water in the shower was set to blindingly hot and couldn't be adjusted.

Would stay here again for a game but certainly would not pay the same price again for the place

Liverpool won 4-1 for the record

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ourkid1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

A colleague and I stayed at the Hope Street Hotel for one night. I had amazing views from my room, and the room was spacious and comfortable. The only "negative" comment is that I could not figure out the taps in the shower and nearly drenched myself

The staff were friendly and helpful, recommending a restaurant around the corner where we had a wonderful meal.

If I have the opportunity to return to Liverpool, I would definitely want to spend it at this hotel, and hopefully for more than one night next time.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank CeliciaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear CeliciaS,

Thank you for your kind recommendation and apologies for the drench. We would love to welcome a fan back and help you enjoy lovely Liverpool.

Best wishes, Mary C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

An excellent independent hotel. Room very comfortable especially the beds. The young staff were helpful friendly and enthusiastic. There was a good atmosphere in the bar which like the restaurant The Old Carriage Works was well decorated and furnished. Breakfast was copious. This hotel really works. So much better than a drab chain.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear Peter D,

Thank you for our all round excellence, very kind of you to put it in writing.

Best wishes, Mary C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 2nd anniversary on 29th Aug 2016 and had booked to stay in this hotel as it is one of our favourites. We had booked a studio room under the advanced booking scheme in April. When we arrived at the hotel they informed us that due to a computer glitch the payment for the room had not been taken in April 2016 so the booking had not been processed in full. As this was a special occasion the hotel apologised for this error and advised us that they had upgraded us to a penthouse suite but only charged us the rate we had previously paid for the studio. The penthouse was fantastic and both my wife and I were overjoyed and greatly appreciated the help from Tullulah the young lady who was on reception at the time and all the staff for making our anniversary such a memorable experience. We always rated the hotel highly but our opinion after this event has increased as they greatly exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear Ian M,

Thank you for your lovely review and so good to hear you were happy with our solution to losing the studio room! Tallulah thought you were both lovely and a pleasure to welcome.

Next year? All the best, Mary C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4,324 reviews
Hard Days Night Hotel
#29 of 99 in Liverpool
3,292 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#14 of 99 in Liverpool
2,554 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hope street hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hope street hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#7 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: €82 - €299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — hope street hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your hope street hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street
Hope Street Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing