We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it was”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
Ranked #46 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza, John Lennon Airport for two nights on 27/28 January, 2012. Having stayed in the hotel previously, when it was a Marriott, I must say that we were both disappointed. On check in we were informed that there would be a parking charge – never had to pay for parking when it was a Marriott. Room was OK, however there was a musty smell in the lift and in the corridor area by the lift on the first floor. The cost for internet access was high (£4.95 for one hour) with no free access in the public areas. The cold meat selection at breakfast was not too good. No smoked salmon on the table, even though it was listed on the selection menu. I asked a waitress if any was available and she said she would go and find out but never came back to us. Not up to previous stay when a Marriott, would not stay again.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Norman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear NormanD

Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay.
Our goal is to provide the best service and quality of product around and Im sorry we fell
short with you. You comments will be shared with the appropriate departments.

Thank you,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

945 - 949 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel for business and football, which was converted from the Old Aerodrome Terminal at Liverpool. Fabulous art deco style with lots of memorabilia and even a 1930s aeroplane parked on the front area. Lots of history attached to the building and it is sympathetically renovated. The room we booked was an Executive Room with a super 6'6" bed that was really comfortable. The room was reasonably spacious but some things in the room were not up to scratch. Firstly, the complimentary bottles of water were open and one of them had at least an inch out of it so they were unusable. The hospitality tray only had decaffeinated coffee:- also on the second day even after I left a note to the housekeeping team. I would have thought they would supply regular coffee! The tap in the bathroom was covered at the spout end with the previous guest's toothpaste which wasn't overly hygienic. Another silly thing was a large rip in the net curtain - a simple thing to rectify. Moving on to the dining arrangements, we couldn't get a table for dinner until late as there was a large coach party in - shame - so we went across the road to Damons, which is an American-style diner/restaurant. The next morning for breakfast we were confronted with what could only be described as a creche right in front of the restaurant entrance! It would have been safer and more pleasant/quiet if this group of individuals (with toddlers/infants on the floor) could have been moved along to somewhere more appropriate. On the Sunday evening we couldn't eat in the Restaurant as it was closed! Not what you would expect in a 4* hotel. There was a bar menu which was very limited and expensive. Had a small dry pizza and some smoked salmon 'slithers' with rocket and two ciders and it was £36! Pity there was no restaurant service.
The following day was a Monday morning so normality had returned. We took breakfast in the Executive Lounge and were looked after by a delightful lady called Brenda. She couldn't have done more to make sure we had a lovely time. A credit to the hotel! We had an informal business meeting on Monday lunchtime and there were large crumbs on the carpet and also the seating area/banquette in the bar area.
If you are staying only as a nightstop before/after a flight, this hotel would be ideal but not so good if you wish to go into Liverpool city itself as it costs £15 in a cab each way. There are buses from the main road. For City centre activities, stay at the hotel in the city itself.
This hotel just needs to keep an eye on the small stuff/attention to detail as it has the good branding of Crowne Plaza and people come to expect certain standards.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are away from the airport side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeattree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a room with two double beds in and it was a bit of a squeeze to fit the travel cot in, which they had said would be possible. The service was generally very good with pleasant staff.
The only occasion the service let them down was one instance on reception. I enquired into booking the restaurant across from the hotel, whether I needed to book etc. eventually she decided yes, I did need to but didn't off to book for me or even give me the hotel number.

The David Lloyd facilities were very good, although if you ring the main switch board they are unaware that the hotel uses it!

Breakfast was what you would expect.

The rooms were clean.



  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acarline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

feather topper and duvet made the bead very comfy, good location for airport. beautiful art deco interiors.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rapeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

When we went 18mnths ago to veiw the hotel with our son and his future wife we knew that they had made a good choice of venue the help from the wedding co-ordinator right down to the finest detail was fantastic and the proof was in the day when everyone could not sing the hotels praises enough.What can I say from the moment we walked in to when we left the staff where professional and curtious to us. We stayed 14/2/12 as it was our sons wedding venue. They had a 1920/30 style wedding in keeping with the venue. And it was a great day and evening. The food at reception was fantastic also the evening buffet you know its good when all you hear at the wedding breakfast is scrapping of plates and compliments to the waiting staff and to pass this on to the kitchen. Breakfast in the morning was a nice choice of cooked or continental, again friendly waiting on staff for wedding guests with sore heads:) Would really recomend the Crowne Plaza to hold a wedding or just to stay overnight.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 98 in Liverpool
1,837 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport

Address: Speke Road | Speke, Liverpool L24 8QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#34 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: €72 - €203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly Concierge will greet you on arrival at the hotel, a former Art Deco airport terminal building. Take in the vintage aircraft stationed outside the entrance and step into Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport's Lobby and lounge, where thousands of fans greeted The Beatles in their 60s heyday. Your sumptuous room or suite awaits, or you can head next door for complimentary use of the facilities at David Lloyd Leisure Centre. Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport is 1 mile from Liverpool-John Lennon Airport and 1 mile from Liverpool South Parkway rail station, with direct trains to the city centre in 15 minutes. Leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and stroll 20 minutes to Speke Hall, a gorgeous Tudor manor house nestled in the woods. Meet colleagues or clients at nearby businesses such as Jaguar Cars and Shop Direct, or invite 300 to banquets and conferences in our 12 elegant meeting rooms. Our Art Deco Starways Restaurant backs onto the former runway, and you can order from 24-hour in-room dining. For a stylish base in a convenient location, you'll find that the long and winding road leads to Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Crown Plaza Hotel Liverpool
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing