We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From one Hotellier to another”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

the only thing I can say about this Hotel is DO NOT STAY HERE!!! I work in the hotel industry and I have never felt like this about any hotel. There was no friendly welcome room was tiny when need to get a cot in family room available not given was made to feel like I was walked in on the bottom off someones shoe. enough said

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,778)
There are newer reviews for The Liner Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,142 - 4,146 of 4,778 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

We got a discount rate for this hotel, but it wouldnt have been bad for its normal price. Location is superb, literally a stones throw from the station and where we wanted to be, with its own free carpark (wish I'd known) a snazzy reception with a restaurant attached. The rooms were on the small side, and the beds a bit basic (I had a bad back so I noticed), but a good view over the city. The Liner was perfect for what we wanted without going "overboard".

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

we stayed here 2 years ago and i would have said excellent to everything but this time we had a standard twin room. the beds were uncomfortable with no mattress protectors on and the mattress i had was stained.the door handle was missing off the bathroom door. to be fair i expect the management will put this right as they appear to be diligent and professional, maybe just a case of a bad cleaner who did not report it.
i would say upgrade your room if you can.
good position for the city. staff were lovely and helpful.
breakfast was just OK but adequate.
i would not pay more than £60/night for the twin bed basic room.

Room Tip: try to upgrade to a superior room, the one we had last time was lovely but the twin bed standard was...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KIM f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed one night with my daughter before a uni open day visit.We arrived late and were delighted at how close to the station it was. We were checked in and ordering room service within 20 mins of getting off the train! The room was very clean and comfortable with all the little niceties of coffee making equipment etc.
We had requested a room facing away from the train line as I had read those rooms were noisy. Breakfast was lovely, staff were helpful and the Uni was only a short walk away.
I can't think of any real negatives at all!

Room Tip: Our room facing away from the train line was quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Just back from a long weekend apart from quite a small room excellent hotel and will defo use again when in Liverpool

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hookster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,149 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 98 in Liverpool
1,771 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#56 of 98 in Liverpool
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: €61 - €124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool
The Liner Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing