We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent hotel, fantastic service and location, minor issues stop it being perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #26 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, fantastic service and location, minor issues stop it being perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool in April 2012 for a short weekend stay. We selected it due to its excellent location for a brief stay in Liverpool.

The hotel is on the Liverpool waterfront, just down from the Albert Docks.

If you go by train, you need to access it via James Street station, and the hotel is about 5 minutes walk away. If you arrive in Liverpool via Liverpool Lime Street station, the hotel is about 20 minutes walk away.

If you go via car, the hotel is easily accessible, and fairly well sign posted. Car parking was plentiful, but unfortunately Crowne Plaza policy is to charge £10 parking for guests, which is a bit of a rip-off.

The reception of the hotel is a bit sparse, but very clean and well kept. Checkin was fast and efficient - reception staff were FANTASTIC, very friendly and helpful - top class!

The hotel currently feels new, clean and tidy. Rooms are a decent size, clean and comfortable - everything works - with good aircon. Little or not noise from outside, which was a real plus, and no noise from corridors or other guests! Good quality complimentary toiletries. TV was a good size, but with a limited number of digital Freeview channels - again, this appears to be a Crowne Plaza policy, and something they need to address. If we had a minor complaint it would be about the bed - it seemed comfortable enough at first, but neither of us slept well, so points deducted for that.

Wifi was available in the lounge for free, but internet in the room was NOT included in the price - £7 to use it, which in this day and age is NOT acceptable - NOT GOOD!

There is a bar/restaurant - pleasant enough, but RIDICULOUS prices for food and drink - £15 for breakfast?!?!? This is crazy when you consider that if you walk for 5 minutes along the waterfront you will find Liverpool One, which has plenty of cheaper good quality food and drink. We ate at Liverpool One on the evening we stopped over and also had breakfast there, and we reckon we saved £50 on what the hotel would have charged us.

The leisure facilities are next to the hotel, and include a gym, sauna and pool. These are well kept, with a really good sized pool. Children were allowed in the pool if supervised, but not in the spa pool if they were under 6 years old.

The hotel is in a fantastic location for visiting the city - the Museum of Liverpool, Albert Docks and Liverpool One shopping Centre are 5 minutes walk along the waterfront, whilst. main city centre is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

This is a really nice hotel - great location, fantastic staff, great leisure facilities - but there are lots of niggling things (mostly to do with Crowne Plaza policies rather than the hotel itself) that stop this getting top marks.

On the whole I can recommend this hotel!

PROS
Great location
Good clean rooms
Good leisure facilities - large pool!
Fantastic staff

CONS
Parking charges - £10 for each night
Free wi-fi only in the lounge - £7 to use the internet in our room - RIDICULOUS
RIDICULOUS prices for food and drink, especially when 5 minutes walk away you can get better food at half the price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor facing the river for decent views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coopuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I am pleased to hear your feedback regarding our fantastic staff as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. As you mentioned our hotel is situated in a great location near to the Albert Dock which is one of the most popular tourist attraction in the North West.
I am sorry to hear you didn’t have a good nights sleep as the Crowne Plaza not long introduced the Sleep Advantage package which includes upgraded bedding and results in more comfortable sleeping experience.
Wi-Fi is available on the ground floor complimentary but there is also a free option available in the guest bedrooms as well as a higher speed chargeable option.
We are always monitoring our guests’ feedback to ensure we offer the best value for money and I value your comments concerning our prices for food/ drinks.
Once again thank you for your time. I truly appreciate your feedback and I would like to ensure you that all comments will be taken on board and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Liverpool very soon.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    772
    251
    80
    47
See reviews for
437
826
74
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Wanted a hotel overlooking the Mersey but quietly located away from the night clubs. Ideal as next to Liver Building, 5 mins walk to Mersey ferry, 10 minutes to Albert Dock and . Reasonable breakfast minutes to Liverpool One. Breakfast OK although like any self service breakfast the food wasn't that hot. Staff very helpful and attentive. Room wasn't right over the Mersey but overlooked a walkway and a sort of canal and no traffic noise at all, as requested. Previous experience of Crown Plaza is Manchester Airport and I find the rooms there small, dated and cramped. This hotel is far far better. We did upgrade to two double bed but the room still didn't feel cramped. Would return here again mainly because I am a light sleeper and know that I can get a peaceful room in the city centre. Pool very warm and great jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room overlooking the water as these have no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mintey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you vey much for taking the time to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I am glad to hear we could accommodate your needs for a quiet room as we know the importance of our guest requests and a good night sleep. I truly appreciate your feedback regarding our Buffet breakfast which I have shared with our Breakfast Chef. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our Leisure Club and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Once again thank you for your kind comments.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend during winter. Beautiful hotel, great staff and easy to walk to all the attractions of Liverpool (Waterfront, Albert Dock, Beatles story, Matthew St, big outdoor shopping centre).
Room was great. Pool area fantastic. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay here at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I am always delighted to hear such positive feedback. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our great staff, and our hotel location which is well situated for exploring the great City of Liverpool. I am also pleased to hear you enjoyed our delicious full English breakfast buffet and the Leisure Club which also includes Gym, Fitness Classes and Spa.
Once again thank you and I truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
King Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Is this boring, yet another good review by us for a IHG hotel but credit where due. We arrived here for a 1 night stay and found the staff so good (pleasant, cheerful, helpful) esp. reception staff and concierge that we stayed on another 2. Just a few parts would benefit from a bit of a refurb but there was nothing to spoil our visit in any way. Wonderful Manx Kippers available every day if you wanted them. Thanks chef they were the best ever. Great view down the restored Princess dock and out to sea. Other side directly opposite Liver building. Wonderful massive bed. what more can I say?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lloydw31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment on our pleasant, cheerful and friendly staff. I am always delighted to receive such positive feedback and I can assure you this has been shared with all our employees including the Chef for the wonderful Manx Kippers.
Once again thank you and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We spent three nights as a mini break in March 2012. All the staff were polite, friendly and courteous, giving a very relaxed and warm welcome. Good location, near Liver Birds building, Waterfront with Albert Docks and Beatle Story and then not too far away from Liverpool Centre with its shops. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfasts - plenty of variety and was warm. Fabulous stay, will stay again, and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandpipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your mini break and appreciate your feedback on our polite and friendly staff. As you mentioned the hotel is situated in a great location which makes it easier for exploring the fantastic city of Liverpool. We are proud to hear you would recommend the hotel to others and cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Liverpool
#32 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing