We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I feel very mixed about this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I feel very mixed about this hotel”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My boyfriend booked this hotel for my birthday through LastMinute.com and I have mixed reviews.

The hotel is very easy to find although at first we were worried as the car parking charges said £20 for 24 hours, not to worry though as this is the rate for people not staying. If you have a room it's £10 a night which was OK, going rate for this type of hotel.

On entering the hotel we were greeted by a doorman and went to check-in. My boyfriend showed we were pre-paid and we were offered the option of swiping a card for further charges but declined this so we could 'Pay As You Go'.
The guy on check in was lovely and informative. The reception area is very nice with a nice large bar.

THE ROOM - We went up to our room which was over looking the river, my boyfriend was pleased as he had asked for a view of the river. When booking laterooms it was classed as a Queen bed, but it was more like a standard double. It was very comfy though with plenty of nice pillows. We also had a couple bottles of water in the room.
The fridge was empty which suited us as we never use mini bar's but can be filled on request. TV was OK but a bit of a blurry picture now I'm used to HD!
The room was not as big as some I have stayed in but still space to move plus there was a chair and table as well as the usual furniture.

It was a bit weird that there was only 1 sachet of hot chocolate and 1 bathrobe, I know it must be a popular hotel for business travelers but when the room has been prepared for a couple it would be nice to have 2 of eveything. A quick call to reception sorted that although the dressing gowns weren't the best but it was a nice extra.

ONE BIG PLUS - After coming back from the shops we walked in to a birthday card and some chocolate brownie desserts which was a lovely touch and hugely appreciated. Although it's a good job my boyfriend had bought some spoons as he bought a Birthday cake, as they didn't leave any so we'd of been eating with our hands.

BATHROOM - Small but well kept. I had both a bath and shower during the stay. The bath took ages to run but was lovely. The shower was brilliant! Great pressure and temp with a decent curtain! Nice big towels too.

FOOD - The first night we had dinner in our room which was lovely. Could not fault the food although my boyfriend signed for it then a few mins later we had a phone call to say we needed to pay as we didn't swipe a card. I said OK we'll come down in a bit and the guy said 'I'll come up'. Slightly annoying as we were already eating and then had to wait again for change. We weren't going to tip as already paying £3 tray charge plus the high cost to begin with.
We also had breakfast the next morning in bed. Well 2 words - DON'T BOTHER. We had a special rate of £10 each and we both chose a full English and with that got a bakery basket.
Now I'm not a fussy eater but was NOT happy with the food at all.
The 'toast' was basically bread that had been shown the toaster. There was 2 pots of marmalade but no jam which was a disappointment as there was a croissant but I only really eat them with jam on. The coffee wasn't very nice and there was no sugar on the tray, luckily we still had some in the room from the coffee making tray. The best bit was the small blueberry muffin. It may be different if you go down to breakfast, but had it in the room for a 'treat'. The Little Chef brekkie on the way home today was better and half the price!

LOCATION - Fantastic location. Very near to everything. I would say this was a great location if you drive there, but if getting a train and having a night out etc then there are even better located hotels right in the middle which are on the same level as this one.

OTHER - Got 2 champagne glasses from the bar to take up to the room. Both had smears on and one was chipped, and the barman had 'checked' them aswell - we saw him do it!

On the morning of checkout we had an invoice pushed through the door with the following on:

1 night package
Parking
Breakfast
1 night package
Parking
Breakfast

It came to over £200. Bearing in mind we had pre-paid the room and only had breakfast once I thought this was a joke. Quickly sorted but a mistake that shouldn't of happened.
It was also annoying that the rate for the room was cheaper than what my boyfriend paid on laterooms!

Anyway sorry for the long review! Overall it was a pleasant stay and the brownies were a great touch, but for a future visit I think we would book elsewehere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JemmaJ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    798
    257
    82
    48
See reviews for
467
875
74
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Only stayed here one night but really enjoyed my visit. The location is great, right next to the Liver Buildings, we had a room with a view of the dock which was nice. The greeting from reception was very friendly and all the staff that we encountered were helpful, pleasant and efficient. The room was very comfortable and had two double beds. The beds were a delight, really really comfortable with lots of pillows, I had a wonderful night's sleep, which is unusual for me in a city centre hotel but the room was very quiet. Breakfast was great, a fantastic choice of food and everything was excellent quality, the sausages and bacon were delicious. I honestly couldn't fault our stay and can't understand the bad reviews that I have read, the people must have been very unlucky, I could have easily stayed for a week!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river or dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenieWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My hubby and I stayed in room 116 on a bitterly cold weekend in Feb and along with the toasty temperature in our lovely room we were met with warm smiles and hospitality throuhout our stay. The room was spacious and with little touches of luxury made for a very enjoyable break. I particularly enjoyed the complimentary water and mints and yummy quality biccies and hot chocolate provided, as well as the quality shampoo and bubble bath in the bathroom, small touches that set this hotel apart from others that we have stayed in recently. Breakfast was a cornucopia of yummyness and I left the room absolutely stuffed after so much choice and quality of ingredients, as a head chef I appreciate good food, well cooked! The only negative aspect would be the slowness of service in the restaurant on the Friday evening. there were 5 tables and three staff but waiting times for the food were a little excessive (over 30 minutes for our main course) and we had to ask twice for a beer that my hubby ordered. In her defence the waitress was very apologetic and explained she had 'poured it but left it somethere' and knocked it off our bill. However the steak and wine offer that I ordered were delicious and well worth the wait, the steak melted in the mouth and was cooked to perfection so maybe the old adage of he who waits....

Room Tip: room 116 overlooks the waterfront and dock
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon-Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Conveniently sited near to the Pier Head,own car park costa £10 per day for residents (£20 for others),very welcoming reception staff efficiently checked in and given all relevant hotel information clearly within five minutes..good start.Rooms cleaned to within an inch of their lives,no hairs in the sink here and nice white towels and bathrobes as standard,T.V.,coffee,tea,all the usual including nice biccies!...and complimentary water.Mini bar stocked at your request,good room service menu 24 hours,wi-fi access. the other people in our party were a bath robe short but this was immediately rectified on request,although their room heating system was faulty,quite cold.
Someone came to repair it but it needed parts so no heat overnight and as it was only one night's stay somewhat inconvenient,but these things happen...I'm sure they would have been offered another room if staying longer.
Visited swimming pool,sauna,steam room (visibility nil...needs air circulation sorting out),all very enjoyable;sitting in the jacuzzi you are facing the Liver Buildings,superb view.Mens' locker room a bit tired,locks damaged,some keys missing, needs some attention but to be expected as a bust city centre gym and health club,could benefit from a spindryer for drying costumes.The locker room attendant on Friday 10th February afternoon should be mentioned too..he never stopped while we were there,ensuring no excess water in shower areas and generally doing a great job..nice lad.
Didn't eat at hotel,but taxi ordered to take us to dinner,concierge a really nice bloke who could not do enough to help.Bar open for night cap around 00.30am,no pressure to leave,pleasant barman
.Had breakfast in our room,£3.00 surcharge,nice selection of good quality food without being too much,on time
.Checkout next day in five minutes,no mistakes on the bill...don't you just hate the mystery £7.60 you never signed for!.And that was it..a really pleasant stay,all staff working together,knowing their jobs,will go again.A TIP: check their website 3-4 weeks in advance of your trip..great discounts if you pay in advance.
All in all a good overnight stay at a discounted rate,compares well to others we have done;the staff are the key here,it shows if they are not happy and these obviously are!!

Room Tip: Ask for the view overlooking the River Mersey,third or fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186337Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for just one night and I am very thankful it was just one night, I honestly wonder about the positive reviews and wonder if this is the same place as I went!! Location is good but everything else is rubbish! On arrival the reception staff were disinterested and its slightly annoying that you have to pay extra for parking, especially when they charge a premium anyway. The reception area and bar is very tired and everything just looks shabby.

We headed to our room where the disappointment continued. The bathroom was pretty rancid, dirty shower head, dirty bath and the soap holder looked like it hadnt been cleaned for weeks - just unpleasant. The rest was 'ok' but dont expect a good nights sleep in an average bed with the hardest pillows ever. In terms of the facilities, well they exist but they are certainly not luxurious. The pool area, changing rooms etc are just tired and well a bit dirty.

All in all this hotel is SEVERLEY OVER PRICED. Its not opulent its a dirty, tired, unwelcoming place that you might just live with if they didnt charge you £100 to stay there. I would advise you to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MN27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear MN27,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Crowne Plaza takes pride in the level of service and cleanliness at our hotels. I am sorry that we fell below your expectations. I would like to discuss this further with you. I have sent you a private message in attempt to gain more information about your stay.
I look forward to hearing back from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Katie J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,888 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#10 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing