We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and very helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #20 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Conveniently sited near to the Pier Head,own car park costa £10 per day for residents (£20 for others),very welcoming reception staff efficiently checked in and given all relevant hotel information clearly within five minutes..good start.Rooms cleaned to within an inch of their lives,no hairs in the sink here and nice white towels and bathrobes as standard,T.V.,coffee,tea,all the usual including nice biccies!...and complimentary water.Mini bar stocked at your request,good room service menu 24 hours,wi-fi access. the other people in our party were a bath robe short but this was immediately rectified on request,although their room heating system was faulty,quite cold.
Someone came to repair it but it needed parts so no heat overnight and as it was only one night's stay somewhat inconvenient,but these things happen...I'm sure they would have been offered another room if staying longer.
Visited swimming pool,sauna,steam room (visibility nil...needs air circulation sorting out),all very enjoyable;sitting in the jacuzzi you are facing the Liver Buildings,superb view.Mens' locker room a bit tired,locks damaged,some keys missing, needs some attention but to be expected as a bust city centre gym and health club,could benefit from a spindryer for drying costumes.The locker room attendant on Friday 10th February afternoon should be mentioned too..he never stopped while we were there,ensuring no excess water in shower areas and generally doing a great job..nice lad.
Didn't eat at hotel,but taxi ordered to take us to dinner,concierge a really nice bloke who could not do enough to help.Bar open for night cap around 00.30am,no pressure to leave,pleasant barman
.Had breakfast in our room,£3.00 surcharge,nice selection of good quality food without being too much,on time
.Checkout next day in five minutes,no mistakes on the bill...don't you just hate the mystery £7.60 you never signed for!.And that was it..a really pleasant stay,all staff working together,knowing their jobs,will go again.A TIP: check their website 3-4 weeks in advance of your trip..great discounts if you pay in advance.
All in all a good overnight stay at a discounted rate,compares well to others we have done;the staff are the key here,it shows if they are not happy and these obviously are!!

Room Tip: Ask for the view overlooking the River Mersey,third or fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186337Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,922 - 1,926 of 2,427 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for just one night and I am very thankful it was just one night, I honestly wonder about the positive reviews and wonder if this is the same place as I went!! Location is good but everything else is rubbish! On arrival the reception staff were disinterested and its slightly annoying that you have to pay extra for parking, especially when they charge a premium anyway. The reception area and bar is very tired and everything just looks shabby.

We headed to our room where the disappointment continued. The bathroom was pretty rancid, dirty shower head, dirty bath and the soap holder looked like it hadnt been cleaned for weeks - just unpleasant. The rest was 'ok' but dont expect a good nights sleep in an average bed with the hardest pillows ever. In terms of the facilities, well they exist but they are certainly not luxurious. The pool area, changing rooms etc are just tired and well a bit dirty.

All in all this hotel is SEVERLEY OVER PRICED. Its not opulent its a dirty, tired, unwelcoming place that you might just live with if they didnt charge you £100 to stay there. I would advise you to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MN27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear MN27,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Crowne Plaza takes pride in the level of service and cleanliness at our hotels. I am sorry that we fell below your expectations. I would like to discuss this further with you. I have sent you a private message in attempt to gain more information about your stay.
I look forward to hearing back from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Katie J
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Great hotel!! The room was warm, clean and a good size. Breakfast in the morning was one of the best selection's & quality (great Sausages) i had seen in any hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed here twice over a two week period with work. The hotel standard was excellent and I can honestly say they have the best beds EVER!!!! Nice crisp cotton bed-sheets nice fluffy robes - perfect. The only downside to the hotel is the standard of food in the bar (dont bother eat out) and the steam in the steam room scalded the back of my leg. But I would still stay here again no problem. I loved it :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opulence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Hi
Hubby & I stayed on a £99 per night dinner bed & breakfast rate for 2 nights in January. It was excellent value.
Position of the hotel is fantastic. We had a view of the Liver building & river Mersey from our room. The meal we had in the restaurant both nights couldn't be faulted and the breakfast's were superb.
There was a corporate event on our first night, but apart from a bit of over exuberant noise early on it didn't spoil the night.
Drinks can be a little expensive, but nothing unlike any other hotel price.
Museums nearby are excellent, and only a very short walk away. Liverpool overall far far exceeded my expectaions. The city is exceptionally clean and well kept compared to the likes of Manchester nearby, and the people are so so friendly and helpful if you need directions or information.
Overall we had a fantastic 2 night/3 day stay and would go back without hesitation.
The hotel is a little tired, but it serves it's purpose and is fantastic value for money if you get it on it's offer deals.
Regards
Barbara

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the river and Liver builings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 98 in Liverpool
1,841 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,471 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#17 of 98 in Liverpool
3,304 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: €89 - €292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing