We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, but forget the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, but forget the breakfast”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel is excellently positioned, less than five minutes walk from the Cavern in one direction and the Liver Building (and hence the Mersey) in the other. We were booked into a “plush” room, and while the adjective was a bit overblown, the room was very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated and was a bargain at the price. The whole hotel oozed elegance and the reception staff were unfailingly pleasant and polite.

On the other hand, I have to say that breakfast was a let-down. Service was “relaxed” – although only three other tables were occupied when we came down it was over 20 minutes before we were served – and the price was a bit of a rip-off: £6.95 each for a bowl of pre-packaged cornflakes, a croissant and three half-slices of toast. Not only that, but we were charged extra for our single cup of coffee!

All in all, I would definitely return to the hotel if staying in Liverpool but would arrange to breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SemperteFallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    488
    126
    27
    15
See reviews for
114
910
48
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I can't believe how little we paid for this bang in the centre hotel in Liverpool. £60 a night with breakfast on a special winter deal. We did have to change bedrooms once as they put us in a room with a noisy fan outside (Liverpool or Everton? I don't know. ;) ) I think management should avoid this room at all costs in future as even if someone has paid a bargain price for their stay - they should at least be able to sleep. False economy to keep having to move people. Anyway the decor was lovely - the location superb and the staff all very friendly. We particularly liked our breakfast waiter - so he got a tip. Do try all the wonderful and free art galleries and museums and make sure you visit both cathedrals and catch a ferry across the Mersey. We also did an Anfields Legends tour and went around the ground with Jan Molby. Great fun.

Room Tip: say - don't put me in the one with the noisy fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This boutique hotel sits just a few yards from Liverpool One shopping centre & a couple of hundred yards from the Albert Dock complex. Perfect for a sight seeing tourist. We booked a Groupon deal for just one night and were very pleased with our room. It was small but adequately proportioned, scrupulously clean & had nice touches such as a Bose Ipod dock, flat screen TV & a power shower. Bathroom was a good size and well fitted but we needed all of my 6 O Levels to work out how to get water out of the taps! We loved the decor & clean modernity of the room.
The down sides of the room (212) was no view at all & a loud intermittent noise which went on all through the night. (I think this was a boiler fan firing up & running) Apart from this little niggle we were favourably impressed. Reception was efficient & the morning staff was very friendly. We did not breakfast in Noble House but the fun and "real" greasy spoon next door to the hotel where we were treated to a real Scouse welcome.
Loved Liverpool & will be back. A great weekend venue.

Room Tip: Keep away from 212 if you are noise sensitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, the only drawback is no bar facilities, but we'll get over that! :D Spotlessly clean and the best shower I've ever had in my life. The staff were lovely, especially the night porter/receptionist was an absolute gentleman! I would highly recomend this hotel apart from wht I said above it's central to everything. 5min walk from the centre of town and about 3mins from Matthew Street, the late night bars are there and the Cavern! I really can't fault it. :D :D :D

Room Tip: We had a 'comfy double' and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night whilst on a business trip. Check-in was quick and the receptionist very friendly, was given a free upgrade to a plush room (not sure what the difference was as this was my first time at the hotel). Room was very nice, decorated well and finished to a high standard. In-room internet is free but only available via network cable, I believe their is free wi-fi in the public areas. The only issue I found was the pillows, very thin and not comfy at all.

I had breakfast in the Noble restaurant, paid for it upfront but probably not necessary, most items were around £7 for a cooked breakfast including coffee/tea.

Overall a lovely hotel, I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will return later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJ_MCNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,012 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
2,378 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,378 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Property: Heywood House Hotel
Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#8 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#9 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood House Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing