We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,669)
Filter reviews
2,669 results
Traveller rating
1,107
1,054
356
94
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,107
1,054
356
94
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews separate toilet pool and steam room executive room albert dock hanover street city centre leisure facilities q park the sofa bed car park excellent location discount voucher modern hotel key card hotel bar mini bar breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 2,669 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Went October half term week. Hotel was severely under staffed and unable to cope with the hotel being full. There were queues every morning at breakfast, even though we went down at the recommended 'quiet time'. The first morning we weren't offered tea or coffee, we had to ask for it eventually after we had finished our breakfast, we were greeted by a very sullen and over worked member of staff who asked us to wait- when we had clearly already waited throughout our whole breakfast (at least half an hour) we ended up asking another member of staff who obliged, unfortunately the coffee was so strong and stewed the we could have stood a spoon up in it! The next 3 mornings we did get our coffee almost as soon as we arrived, by the final day it was weak enough to drink (we do like strong coffee- but the first 3 days were unbearable!) They struggled to keep the hot food stocked up on a couple of the days too. The Continental breakfast selection was poor, not what we were expecting, we have spent lots of time at the Cardiff Novotel in the past and their selection is much wider with Smoked Salmon and more cheese, hams etc.
Now, the room.... The bed was hard but comfy, fortunately we like a hard bed and slept well. Our son also slept well on the pull out bed.
The floor was pretty filthy like someone had gone mad with the fake tan and covered the floor with it! This SHOULD have been cleaned, not a good first impression.
The shower leaked all over the floor so we had to dry the floor after every shower!
When I booked I asked for a quiet room with a nice view. We got a room that looked out onto a brick wall and had a dance studio in the building so it kicked out LOUD dance music till at least 9 every night except Thursday.
The gym and pool were pretty busy most of the time but that's to be expected during holiday times. Not enough room for changing though. I think they expect you to emerge from the pool and go straight back to your room to get changed.
The hotel states that there's a Jacuzzi but it's actually a seat within the swimming, which when not working becomes a health and safety nightmare, because you can't see it's there and someone could very easily jump onto it or swim into it, causing themselves a GREAT deal of damage or in fact life changing injury. This sounds dramatic but if a child or adult jumped into the pool onto this invisible shelf (there's no signs to say it's there) they could easily break a leg or 2 or their back! I swam into it and got an enormous bruise on my thigh.
So, quite a disappointing stay at Novotel Liverpool, should have paid half the price for what we got.
Pictures are of the filthy stained carpet and 'lovely' view!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Caperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Caperry,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cyril Bulvestre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Room was decent size with two seats (unusual and most welcome!) And coffee table, small fridge and safe sited at the kettle area. Staff in restaurant and bar were mainly foreign and didn't understand us when we asked what the restaurant special of the day was. We were told yes we sell food! Hotel in good area for restaurants and grocery store. 15 minute walk to Albert Dock. Pool, never used it but is there. Only downer was the constant cold air from the A.C. reception female in evening was very rude when I went down to ask if it could be looked at. Very rude indeed. Maintenance man brought up a blow heater and said its always on -that's just the way it's made....

Stayed: September 2017
Thank isikelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Isikelso,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Liverpool Centre.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Cyril Bulvestre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Recently stayed for one night and this was our first visit to the hotel, which is a 10 minute walk from Liverpool Lime Street and well located for Liverpool One as well as many of the sights of this great city.
We arrived early and had an early arrival request unfortunately the receptionist was quite abrupt and was able to quickly advise she had no rooms ready without even checking the computer system- I appreciate this is not guaranteed but no effort was made.
Arrived back just after 2pm to check-in and had the delight of waiting for over 25 minutes with only two desks for check-in and very slow. The room was tired and a view only of walls, the bathroom and toilet were separate bizarre and an inconvenience, the vents in both haven't been cleaned for a long time.
As mentioned in my headline the location was the saving grace.... no staff at check out the following morning only a box and a sign-out sheet very impersonal and no opportunity to feedback hence using this forum.
Sadly with so many other better and cleaner hotels in the City we will not be back here, average at best.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GR1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We stayed here at Easter time. It was a great hotel in the center of Liverpool. The hotel itself was clean, with swimming pool etc. The only negative would be when we arrived our room wasn't ready at midday, we let the staff know we would go out for a while and come back. When we returned 3 hours later the room still wasn't ready. We had to sit in the hotel bar for another hour before we could get to our room. This wasn't enough to put me off staying again though as the hotel is seconds from the shops so you can nip in and out. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel itself was very clean.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank SaoirseMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear SaoireMcC,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Liverpool Centre.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Cyril Bulvestre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews