We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveller rating
270
180
75
44
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
180
75
44
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barfour poster bedtapas bar next doorfeature roomlounge areacar parkole oleself cateringshared bathroomsteep hillrefreshing changelots of characterthe main hotelbedside tableguest loungelovely hotelold building
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 603 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Shabby Chic. This was just shabby. £104 for a room with a shared bathroom. The 'bathroom was clearly an old utility room complete
with pot sink and wooden draining board.

The toilet door handle was poorly fitted so couldn't get out. The lock on the bedroom door was difficult to open.

Bedroom furniture was old. A very large wooden mirror (approx 8 ft high) was broken and leaning against the wall. Had it been knocked it would have caused serious injury had it fallen over.

Our room was by the entrance. It was like being on a station platform. Door slamming, the receptionist with her extremely LOUD voice greeting people right outside our door. Horrendous.

The 'pool' (See photos) was not available due apparently to maintenance!

The whole place is shoddy and in need of a great deal of attention.

Definitely not the 5 star that they claim. I would suggest 2 star.

Complaints were made. Receptionist said she would contact the manager but when asked on two subsequent occasions about this she said she was unable to contact him. Phones do actually work in Lincoln! More a case of...they have our money so sod em.
Avoid this place
Much nicer hotels close by.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteHouse1, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Good afternoon.

Many thanks for your review, however as per your friends review below, we do not suggest that we are 5star.

Your booking reservation was for one of our ground floor rooms with shared bathroom, I am sorry that this was not to your taste. For future guests, it's worth noting that we have several different tiers of rooms, including many with en suite facilities.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Really dissapointed in this b&b not 5 star not boutique not worth the money . Really needs some tlc Lincoln a Lovely place and plenty of restaurants just stay somewhere else. It's a shame because the location is spot on asked to speak to manager but he was not available .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WOWSEEFELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteHouse1, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thank you for your review. I am really disappointed in the content of your report. We purport not to be a 5 star establishment, but a good quality offering in an unrivalled location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel (actually more of a B&B) having paid just under £200 for 2 nights in 4 poster room with we Paid just under £200 for 2 nights in a 4 poster room with ensuite. Paid extra £20 for parking space in tiny carpark for the 2 night stay, which seems excessive. We enjoy staying in old 'character' hotels so accepted the narrow, sparse entrance up to the reception desk, in the centre of the building. Greeted warmly by one member of staff who was an asset to the hotel- very cheerful (and extremely apologetic when I told her the bed hadn't been made the first day). The location was perfect for a short stay in Lincoln - a couple of minutes from the cathedral, castle and Steep Hill. Although breakfasts are eaten in the restaurant next door, we didn't find this a problem. I was a little surprised by the 'bar' facilities, which, while a clever and convenient set-up (fridge of drinks on 'honesty' basis, and free tea/coffee making area) felt a little DIY 'youth hostel' for a hotel!
Sadly, the room was disappointing; lovely 4 poster bed surrounded by mismatched cheap furniture with dirty wardrobe doors and cobwebs hanging from lights, one which didn't work. Curtains were thin and dirty. Carpet had a huge discoloured patch at bottom of the bed where some furniture had obviously once stood, with threadbare patches. Huge black fake leather chair dominated one side of the bed so no space for bedside table that side. Damp patches on ceiling near window. The room was initially freezing but my husband managed to turn the radiators on - very carefully as they wobbled precariously when touched! In the bathroom the sink plughole was broken and there was something stuck in it. Although the rest of the room seemed clean it was shabby, with a water stained old chest of drawers and chipped exterior on shower base. Shaving light didn't work - good thing my husband has a beard!
This has the potential to be a lovely place to stay, in the best part of the city but needs a desperate revamp.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank elainejjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteHouse1, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you for your review, you've highlighted some issues that I will look into.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

If you are looking for a characterful family friendly hotel in an excellent historic location just a few steps from the glorious Cathedral and Castle then you definitely need to stay here! There are also a great deal of interesting shops, historic pubs and eateries nearby and so you really are fully catered for on all levels.

The hotel amenities are good too, with an honesty bar, lounge and plentiful free tea & coffee making supplies with the parking most conveniently located to the hotels rear.

Our room (one of the mews rooms) was very well proportioned for a family of 4 with a lounge/kitchen/dining area, 2 separate bedrooms and a separate bathroom off the lounge area. The larger of the 2 bedrooms also has a comfy chair and separate access doors outside into the rear grounds and car park and the top of Lincoln Cathedral can be seen through these doors from the bed. Fabulous!

Both bedrooms and the lounge also each had TV's which was also a bonus.

Having read some of the other reviews I think it only fair to mention the slightly negative points which are that the room was not spotlessly clean (few smears on the mirror, couple of errant hairs here and there) and there were are few small chips and cracks around the room. But considering the under £80 per night price we paid for this magnificent room (suite?) it was not absolutely not an issue. Obviously this is my subjective opinion, but for me these little imperfections are absolutely a non-issue.

Furthermore, even had we had paid double that price I would still have not considered it a big issue as the prime location, magnificent room, surroundings and building itself plus the lovely staff would have more than made up for it.

I will definitely come here again as I really did like it that much and would go as far as to say that I would only stay elsewhere in Lincoln if I absolutely had to!

Room Tip: Mews 3 is utterly fabulous and quiet too with a prime view of the top of Lincoln Cathedral from the main bedroom. Marvellous!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteHouse1, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thank you, we'll look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Wow beautiful place so clean and quaint check in was friendly and easy was shown to our room which means a lot got codes for door and WiFi and didn't ask for WiFi which was so nice the room was clean and very nice we had a four poster bed with an suite which was really big bath plus shower really nice place to stay nothing to much trouble on checking out staff really helpful as the same on check in thank you

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazevans1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteHouse1, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Glad you enjoyed your weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews