We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Bail House & Mews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bail House & Mews
Ranked #17 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

I visited here with my partner. Check in was quick and easy and our room was spacious and clean with lots of character. We did have an en suite, although there was a shower in the room with us, which i found quite odd. Also, there wasnt any soap or anything provided in our room so we had to go buy some as we have never stayed a anywhere that doesnt provide the mini shower gels etc. Tea and coffee supply in the room was plentiful. I didnt sleep very well as the bed and pillow was quite hard for my liking... but thats just my personal preference. Breakfast was offered for an extra cost in the morning but we got it elsewhere.

The location of the hotel is great near the castle, cathedral and some shops and bars.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Georgina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailHouseManager, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your review. The shower in the room is an item which some of our guests enjoy.

Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

The location is excellent but condition of the hotel is ver poor and needs upgrading . The room was very disappointing shower needs repairing . Would not recommend this hotel . The pillows were not very comfortable. If you have a room on the front this could be very noisy. The plus point of the stay was the breakfast was lovely and very good value and all of the staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank tinadburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailHouseManager, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your review, we operate a constant cycle of maintenance throughout our properties & aim to deal with all issues quickly

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Maybe my expectations were a little high as I looked forward to our little trip to Lincoln but I cannot hide my disappointment with this hotel. At first sight of the online advertising it looked good, affordable with great reviews so I thought it were fail safe. Huge mistake! The room we booked for 2 adults and 1 child were in fact just a double bed, they gave us a bigger room with a separate bedroom for our daughter but it was not an advantage.

no 8 The smell of sewerage in the hall were overpowering and the obvious dirt everywhere from drawers, carpet, beds and bathroom were undeniable although when spoken to the staff acted shocked and unaware?! The mattress on the very creaky/Boosey bed looked at least 20 years old with protruding springs. The single beds were bowed in the centre and touching the floor. Headboard dirty, all mattress uncovered such as no protectors or pillows. Mould in the bathroom, views of trash in the garden.

We were then led to another room that turned out to be a house/apartment out through the car park onto a back street. This were very plain with dirty Walls/floors and thick dust, radiator cover broken, very wobbly dining table. I felt very upset that on a special family night away we are trailed around to these horrid places wasting more of our valuable time and energy.

We were then guided to our final room because we were too tired/drained to go find another hotel in the night with our daughter. It were a four poster room no 7.
The bed frame is lovely but nothing else sadly, the mattress as with all others had dirty marks and no protection, the two seater at the foot of the bed is the dirtiest sofa I've ever seen. The furnitures broken rather than vintage and the views are of a neighbours garden with swing. Bathroom window covered in ivy and then dirty water damaged drawers, toilet roll holder, shelf, floor, shower, carpets. The kettle full of limescale and dirty cups. It spoilt the whole trip and we couldn't wait to leave the area. I couldn't fit all the pictures I took as proof on here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Metsx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailHouseManager, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. We operate constant maintenance & some issues can on occasion take longer to resolve.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We rented a big apartment for our family for three nights at this very lovely place. We had a great time, very friendly staff, nice and clean rooms, well equipped, perfectly located. We will definitely come back. Thank you:)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nordmennene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailHouseManager, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The most pleasant experience of staying in a hotel in the town centre. This is a very peaceful place where coming and going was easy and without hindrance. The room with its four-poster bed was exquisite and very comfortable. The staff could not be more helpful, ensure all needs were met. The whole atmosphere was relaxing and luxurious, more than home from home. Breakfast was varied and generous. Must go back.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailHouseManager, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.2 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,869 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
767 reviews
0.1 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#8 of 14 in Lincoln
872 reviews
0.2 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bail House & Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bail House & Mews

Address: Bail House 34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: €71 - €225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bail House Hotel is a luxury small boutique hotel in the heart of historic Lincoln. This historic building dates back to 1350 and enjoys an enviable location in Lincolns Cathedral Quarter with its wealth of independent retailers, bars and restaurants.Our spacious bedrooms, most with king size beds and en-suites, have been sympathetically decorated to compliment the architecture and history of the building. Each room has a unique view of the Castle, Cathedral spires or the Bailgate. All our rooms benefit from tea and coffee making facilities, TV and free local and national phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Bail House & Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bail House & Mews Hotel Lincoln
Bail House And Mews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing