We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bail House & Mews
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$104
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Lincoln(North Hykeham)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
264
178
74
42
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
178
74
42
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barfour poster bedtapas bar next doorfeature roomlounge areafree tea and coffeeole olecar parkself cateringshared bathroomsteep hillrefreshing changeguest loungebedside tablelots of characterlovely hoteluphill lincoln
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 592 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Maybe my expectations were a little high as I looked forward to our little trip to Lincoln but I cannot hide my disappointment with this hotel. At first sight of the online advertising it looked good, affordable with great reviews so I thought it were fail safe. Huge mistake! The room we booked for 2 adults and 1 child were in fact just a double bed, they gave us a bigger room with a separate bedroom for our daughter but it was not an advantage.

no 8 The smell of sewerage in the hall were overpowering and the obvious dirt everywhere from drawers, carpet, beds and bathroom were undeniable although when spoken to the staff acted shocked and unaware?! The mattress on the very creaky/Boosey bed looked at least 20 years old with protruding springs. The single beds were bowed in the centre and touching the floor. Headboard dirty, all mattress uncovered such as no protectors or pillows. Mould in the bathroom, views of trash in the garden.

We were then led to another room that turned out to be a house/apartment out through the car park onto a back street. This were very plain with dirty Walls/floors and thick dust, radiator cover broken, very wobbly dining table. I felt very upset that on a special family night away we are trailed around to these horrid places wasting more of our valuable time and energy.

We were then guided to our final room because we were too tired/drained to go find another hotel in the night with our daughter. It were a four poster room no 7.
The bed frame is lovely but nothing else sadly, the mattress as with all others had dirty marks and no protection, the two seater at the foot of the bed is the dirtiest sofa I've ever seen. The furnitures broken rather than vintage and the views are of a neighbours garden with swing. Bathroom window covered in ivy and then dirty water damaged drawers, toilet roll holder, shelf, floor, shower, carpets. The kettle full of limescale and dirty cups. It spoilt the whole trip and we couldn't wait to leave the area. I couldn't fit all the pictures I took as proof on here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Metsx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailHouseManager, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. We operate constant maintenance & some issues can on occasion take longer to resolve.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We rented a big apartment for our family for three nights at this very lovely place. We had a great time, very friendly staff, nice and clean rooms, well equipped, perfectly located. We will definitely come back. Thank you:)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nordmennene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailHouseManager, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The most pleasant experience of staying in a hotel in the town centre. This is a very peaceful place where coming and going was easy and without hindrance. The room with its four-poster bed was exquisite and very comfortable. The staff could not be more helpful, ensure all needs were met. The whole atmosphere was relaxing and luxurious, more than home from home. Breakfast was varied and generous. Must go back.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailHouseManager, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

If I didn’t know better you would have thought you were staying out in the country with its cute and quaint cobbled street mews entrance from the rear, with a private car park situated past the outbuildings which are self-catering, along the green shrubbery York stoned pathway to the Reception, all of which looks very welcoming and friendly.

The rooms are well proportioned and as you can see from the photographs contain 4 four poster beds, antiques to die for with a nice relaxing self-serve drinks area in a welcoming lounge area.

There is a Tapas bar next door where you can go for a quiet drink or your morning breakfast which I understand is part of the accommodation.

Bail House is situated in the heart of Lincoln’s ‘West End’ on the Bailgate which is in the area of Lincoln Cathedral, Lincoln Castle and Steep Hill.

We could not have wished for a better location on our one night stopover to attend the ‘Billy Ocean’ concert at Lincoln Castle.

To all Trip Advisors, I highly recommend this establishment. It is clean and tidy and the staff are very friendly and welcoming.

If you find this review helpful please give a ‘Helpful Vote’.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailHouseManager, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Booked for one night to see Billy Ocean at the castle, absolutely brilliant location. Manager Andy was very helpful. That's the good points.
Booked into a superior room (No:3), got to top of stairs and the carpet was thread bare. Into the room you are greeted by a chair that looked like it came off a skip, holes all over it. Under the bed there was a block of wood holding up middle of bed. Shower drizzled out, not much control on temperature and the shower head just hung down.
We booked our breakfast for 9.30am. You go next door for this, we arrived at 9.25. No juices were offered. 40 minutes later we received our two teas, but unfortunately received 1 tea 1 coffee......losing our will now. The cooked breakfast when it arrived was very nice to be fair, but too little too late.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Notts338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailHouseManager, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your review, but disappointed that you were unhappy with your stay. We are an historic building in a brilliant part of town., I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast when it arrived. Of course A Sunday morning at 09.30 will always be our busiest breakfast time & this is explained upon check in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews