We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice and friendly hotel. Room 5 not for tall people.”
Review of Bail House & Mews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bail House & Mews
Ranked #18 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I went up to Lincoln for a short weekend brake and was pleasantly surprise with this hotel. It was not my first choice but it was recommended to me by their sister hotel. The amenities were good and the staff friendly. The only thing that let it down was the roof beams in the bedroom and the bathroom in room 5.
Firstly the roof beams. It gives the room a lovely feel with the exposed brickwork and the lattice of exposed roof beams however I am 6,1 and when walking round the room there are two cross beam the width of the room. One is in the middle of the bed and one is at the foot of the bed. The end of the bed one brushed the top of my head however the one in the middle of the bed cone up to my shoulder high. Getting to the bathroom meant having to nearly double over. The small bathroom door is hidden in the corner behind one of the low beams. The amount of time I hit my head I would not have been surprised if I came home with concussion. The beam is right over where a person would get out of bed so of course getting up in the night meant a crack on the head and seeing stars.

Secondly the bathroom was small but adequate a few holes in the linoleum one looked like a cigarette burn or a drill hole. The bath was big and deep. Just the thing for us big guys who hate the tiny ones usually found in hotel rooms. The shower is in the bedroom, for all to see, the only place it could go with the slanting walls and limited space. You really have to be 100% comfortable with your partner to use it.

Apart from these things it is a nice hotel, there is an all-night bar and outdoor swimming pool (it must be for summer use because only a mad man would use it in February). Free tea and coffee in the lounge area and very close to the Cathedral and cafes. I would defiantly go back although I will be requesting a different room.

Room Tip: Room 5 not for tall people.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanceVv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailHouseManager, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. It's worth mentioning that the pool is not in use at this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for Bail House & Mews
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the family room, just as a couple. Was fantastic would really recommend staying at this hotel, is ideally located near the Castle, Cathedral and at the top of Steep Hill. The rooms were lovely and clean, with towels etc provided. The honesty bar is a real novelty with items reasonably priced. The breakfast is served in the restaurant next door and was lovely a choice of full English or Continental. Though we asked for poached eggs on toast which they gladly did. Will be staying again at this hotel again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tutttifrutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailHouseManager, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We had a very warm, friendly welcome when we arrived. The reception area and the lounge are lovely. Our room was a twin, and the only slight quibble I have is that one of the beds has no bedside table , nor any independent light. That means that if the person in the other bed wishes bright light to read the night away, the light stays on. I realise that the building is ancient and that causes problems, but it is really inconvenient. Having said that, we were only there for one night, but on a longer stay it could be irritating. The room was warm,comfortable and clean, and stocked with tea/coffee and biscuits. The shower room also was spotless. The mirror over the wash basin was so low that only a child could use it. I wonder if another mirror could be placed over the towel rail, at a more usual height?
Breakfast was served in the adjoining Spanish tapas restaurant, and was excellent.
The staff that we met were charming and helpful.

Room Tip: See my comment about the twin room
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vollyjudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailHouseManager, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

The room was wonderful, everything set up as promised. Very helpful staff and really quick to reply to any questions or queries. I wasn't able to check in exactly at the right time so I dropped my bags off and they took them straight to the room when it was ready - so helpful. So many shops, pubs and wonderful restaurants nearby too!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zorannagray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailHouseManager, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we feel that we are a great accommodation within historic lincoln

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Such a beautiful place to stay in Lincoln, so good that we have stayed here twice now and will be returning. The rooms are stunning and we managed to get upgraded for the same price. Staff are friendly and helpful. We will be back soon!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank haylesxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailHouseManager, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We'll look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,799 reviews
0.2 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
526 reviews
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
847 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
891 reviews
0.4 km away
The Old Palace
The Old Palace
#13 of 51 in Lincoln
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bail House & Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bail House & Mews

Address: Bail House 34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: €64 - €169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bail House Hotel is a luxury small boutique hotel in the heart of historic Lincoln. This historic building dates back to 1350 and enjoys an enviable location in Lincolns Cathedral Quarter with its wealth of independent retailers, bars and restaurants.Our spacious bedrooms, most with king size beds and en-suites, have been sympathetically decorated to compliment the architecture and history of the building. Each room has a unique view of the Castle, Cathedral spires or the Bailgate. All our rooms benefit from tea and coffee making facilities, TV and free local and national phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bail House & Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bail House & Mews Hotel Lincoln
Bail House And Mews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing