We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bail House & Mews
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$121
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$125
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Lincoln(North Hykeham)
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
264
178
75
42
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
178
75
42
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barfour poster bedtapas bar next doorfeature roomlounge areafree tea and coffeeole olecar parkself cateringshared bathroomsteep hillrefreshing changeguest loungebedside tablelots of characterlovely hoteluphill lincoln
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Perfect place to be for the occasion.I have stayed at Bail House & Mews several times (or it's sister hotels in Lincoln) over the last year or more. The staff have been more than efficient,effective & welcoming on each of those occasions.Last month, they did not fall short of the mark. I had not booked to stay, circumstances led me to just walk in to Charlotte House (one of their sister properties ) nearby. They had no availability there on that occasion, but within minutes a telephone call to Bail House had my problem sorted. It was a two minute walk from one to the other. It was perfect.Ground floor room, on Bailgate ( A15 Ermine Street ) where the Saxon battle re-enactors were going to walk & ride the next day. That is what I was in Lincoln for ! Four poster bed,period furniture & fittings ( not Saxon of course ) warm room, plenty of space, what more could a weary travellor ask for ? Oh yes, breakfast next door at Ole Ole for a fiver !

Stayed: September 2016
Thank strider400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andriana P, Reservations at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review. As always, it was a pleasure to welcome you back. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Andriana Plester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

The room we stayed in was as seen on the website , beautiful old beams. Because of the house being so old your shower is actually in the bedroom, but a very good shower., with a toilet, sink and large bath through an adjoining door. Parking as stated on the website is limited VERY LIMITED , as I paid for the parking on top of the hotel cost , I was at least hoping to get a space when we arrived, it is first come first served.
Breakfast VERY disappointing again this is extra . It is served next door in the Tapas Bar next door very basic, not what I expected for the cost of the hotel. Cooked breakfast was toast burnt, sausage, bacon eggs beans tea or coffee , no juice or cereals, not even offered an extra pit of tea.
On the whole very disappointed for a surprise night for my hubbie.

First time I've put a review, felt I needed to this time slot of money for not alot.
Only good thing it's central and clean.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank pjroldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andriana P, Reservations at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review. Our parking is limited as stated on all online literature and in our confirmation emails. We will only charge guests for parking if they have used a space. If you did not find a space; you will not have been charged. We cannot reserve or garauntee spaces, especially on busy days.
The partnership we have with the breakfast venue is respectful and any issues that occured could have been rectified at point of delivery. We are sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast. We do welcome feedback to hand over to the restaurant to further improve service.
We hope you will consider staying with us again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Andriana Plester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We had a very comfortable one night stay at the Bail House in a very friendly and relaxed environment. We were given a warm welcome by the lady on reception and shown the facilities available. Although small, the hotel and a very comfortable, if perhaps over warm, lounge with a well stocked 'honesty' bar. The member of staff went off duty at 21.00 leaving us to switch the TV off when we went to bed.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidbH9676VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andriana P, Reservations at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review. We hope you had a pelasant stay.
As our reception is closed from 9pm as per all online literature and notice upon check-in; staff will leave and if guests are still enjoying the lounge; staff will not turn off radio or tv unless specified by guest that they are not using it.
We do apologise if this caused any inconvenience to you and hope you will consider coming to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Andriana Plester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We arrived early and was instantly made welcome. The room was beautiful. It had a four poster bed, en suite bathroom, nice fluffy towels and bathrobes. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room and in the lounge area. A hairdryer and straighteners were also provided in the room. Breakfast was extra and provided in the restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andriana P, Reservations at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review.
We hope you had a pleasant stay and that you will consider staying with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Andriana Plester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Very misleading description of the apartments. After much effort trying to sort WiFi we learnt that there is none in the apartment and you have to use main house - we had to chase this to find out. Really inconvenient to have no internet access as we had confidential work to do and WiFi was reason for booking there.
I'm sure owner will reply that staff offered use of the lounge to my fiancée, which is why he refused a discount. That didn't happen unfortunately.
Bizarrely the staff brought a guest in to the bedroom to help fix the WiFi which wasn't even in the apartment.
The house is filthy. Your socks or feet will be black after walking around a bit.
Linen store is outside the bedroom window which means you are disturbed by staff all the time.
Lincoln has some great hotels and is well worth visiting but you'd be better off staying somewhere else.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank TravellerRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews