We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 day stay”
Review of Bail House & Mews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bail House & Mews
Ranked #17 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Great location. lovely hotel. the twin room was at the top of steep stairs with worn carpet. a little disappointing compared to historical setting. shower room very good. staff friendly. heard the traffic and church bells in the morning. maybe double glazing needed. lounge areas very good. no staff after certain time in the evening and self service to drinks. paying for their car park use a bit cheeky.breakfast in restaurant next door - staff very good.

Room Tip: twin room on second floor and noisy traffic
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarieW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andriana P, Reservations at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review. As the Bail House & Mews is a listed building, like many along the Bailgate; double glazing is something that we cannot rectify. We hope that all guests appreciate the history of the building throughout.
We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the near future as we have a family room towards the rear of the hotel where noise pollution from a busy night is a minimum.

Kind regards,
Andriana Plester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for Bail House & Mews
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2016

Perfect place to be for the occasion.I have stayed at Bail House & Mews several times (or it's sister hotels in Lincoln) over the last year or more. The staff have been more than efficient,effective & welcoming on each of those occasions.Last month, they did not fall short of the mark. I had not booked to stay, circumstances led me to just walk in to Charlotte House (one of their sister properties ) nearby. They had no availability there on that occasion, but within minutes a telephone call to Bail House had my problem sorted. It was a two minute walk from one to the other. It was perfect.Ground floor room, on Bailgate ( A15 Ermine Street ) where the Saxon battle re-enactors were going to walk & ride the next day. That is what I was in Lincoln for ! Four poster bed,period furniture & fittings ( not Saxon of course ) warm room, plenty of space, what more could a weary travellor ask for ? Oh yes, breakfast next door at Ole Ole for a fiver !

Stayed: September 2016
Thank strider400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andriana P, Reservations at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review. As always, it was a pleasure to welcome you back. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Andriana Plester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

The room we stayed in was as seen on the website , beautiful old beams. Because of the house being so old your shower is actually in the bedroom, but a very good shower., with a toilet, sink and large bath through an adjoining door. Parking as stated on the website is limited VERY LIMITED , as I paid for the parking on top of the hotel cost , I was at least hoping to get a space when we arrived, it is first come first served.
Breakfast VERY disappointing again this is extra . It is served next door in the Tapas Bar next door very basic, not what I expected for the cost of the hotel. Cooked breakfast was toast burnt, sausage, bacon eggs beans tea or coffee , no juice or cereals, not even offered an extra pit of tea.
On the whole very disappointed for a surprise night for my hubbie.

First time I've put a review, felt I needed to this time slot of money for not alot.
Only good thing it's central and clean.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank pjroldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andriana P, Reservations at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review. Our parking is limited as stated on all online literature and in our confirmation emails. We will only charge guests for parking if they have used a space. If you did not find a space; you will not have been charged. We cannot reserve or garauntee spaces, especially on busy days.
The partnership we have with the breakfast venue is respectful and any issues that occured could have been rectified at point of delivery. We are sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast. We do welcome feedback to hand over to the restaurant to further improve service.
We hope you will consider staying with us again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Andriana Plester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We had a very comfortable one night stay at the Bail House in a very friendly and relaxed environment. We were given a warm welcome by the lady on reception and shown the facilities available. Although small, the hotel and a very comfortable, if perhaps over warm, lounge with a well stocked 'honesty' bar. The member of staff went off duty at 21.00 leaving us to switch the TV off when we went to bed.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidbH9676VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andriana P, Reservations at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review. We hope you had a pelasant stay.
As our reception is closed from 9pm as per all online literature and notice upon check-in; staff will leave and if guests are still enjoying the lounge; staff will not turn off radio or tv unless specified by guest that they are not using it.
We do apologise if this caused any inconvenience to you and hope you will consider coming to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Andriana Plester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We arrived early and was instantly made welcome. The room was beautiful. It had a four poster bed, en suite bathroom, nice fluffy towels and bathrobes. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room and in the lounge area. A hairdryer and straighteners were also provided in the room. Breakfast was extra and provided in the restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andriana P, Reservations at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review.
We hope you had a pleasant stay and that you will consider staying with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Andriana Plester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,800 reviews
0.2 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
526 reviews
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
847 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
891 reviews
0.4 km away
The Old Palace
The Old Palace
#12 of 51 in Lincoln
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bail House & Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bail House & Mews

Address: Bail House 34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: €64 - €188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bail House Hotel is a luxury small boutique hotel in the heart of historic Lincoln. This historic building dates back to 1350 and enjoys an enviable location in Lincolns Cathedral Quarter with its wealth of independent retailers, bars and restaurants.Our spacious bedrooms, most with king size beds and en-suites, have been sympathetically decorated to compliment the architecture and history of the building. Each room has a unique view of the Castle, Cathedral spires or the Bailgate. All our rooms benefit from tea and coffee making facilities, TV and free local and national phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bail House & Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bail House & Mews Hotel Lincoln
Bail House And Mews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing