We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We arrived in Leicester by train, and we were glad that we'd got a "walking route" from the station to the hotel, as it is tucked away down a side street. As is always the case I had asked for a "quiet room". At this hotel the quieter rooms overlook the Casino car park. (The other side of the hotel looks onto the busy ring road) The reality is that in the summer there is no such thing as a quiet room for residents of this hotel. You have to have your window wide open to keep the room to a reasonable temperature, consequently the banging car doors, shouts of disappointed casino punters, early morning reversing dustbin lorries combine with the sirens of the ambulances travelling along the dual carriage way to constantly disturb your sleep. Let's hope it's quieter at cooler times of the year!

Despite all of that, this hotel has a number of advantages. There is a Wetherspoons just a few yards away so you can eat a much cheaper breakfast than the Travelodge option. There are lots of chain restaurants at the end of the shopping centre. An Indian restaurant next door to the hotel looked interesting but as there was no menu on display we were loathe to risk a trip in. If you want to go the the Guildhall or the Cathedral they are only a short walk away. The bedrooms were larger than average, the bed comfortable, the bath had a fixed head shower provided, the towels were clean and we didn't pay a lot.

The reception staff were lovely and very helpful. They provided good customer care, were well informed about local services, and dealt promptly with issues. They were good enough for this review to move up from a 3 to a 4 star rating.

If you are thinking of booking this hotel my tips would be:
1. Take all you own toiletries, as Travelodge foam soap and shower gel is dreadful
2. Ask to be as far away from the lift as possible
3. Pack earplugs if you are a light sleeper

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the lifts as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tranquilnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

My wife and i have just spent two days in Leicester Central Travelodge where i had to attend the hospital for an appointment. The travelodge was easy to find and only a few minutes walk from the bus station. It is handy for the city centre. We stayed on the third floor in room 320. All the staff were very friendly and that was everybody. We had a nice evening meal and next day we had a snack both were very nice. Our room was spotless comfortable bed tv etc . The hotel is very clean. We enjoyed our stay very much and will book another night next week as i have another hospital appointment.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

If you are looking for a lovely place to stay while visiting Leicester, you have to look nowhere else! The hotel is in the middle of this great city of Leicester City Football Club which won the league title recently! And there is the Leicester Tigers and the 1400 King Richards III who is buried in the city! The only warning thing is that you have to book early, so that you are assured of a place! This place sells like hot cakes!
One more thing, the vegetable and fruit market is in the middle of it in the centre!
Give it a try, I had a lovely experience visiting. Staff is lovely and of course, a lovely breakfast - children eat free! What else could I have wanted! Chill and enjoy!

Stayed: June 2017
Thank frankbH6882RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Very Comfortable beds, good breakfast but avoid the evening meals, they're crap. They stamp your ticket for the nearby Rooftop car park to reduce the cost from £24 to £5. Online booking only seemed to offer "Business Floor" though I don't know why, or what the difference is from regular rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank flyingbobalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Fabulously situated for DeMontfort uni and lots of places very close by to eat. Lacking in the tea & coffee (a greater range ie green tea and biscuits in the room would have been great) also as it was summer time, no duvet on bed which I had to ask for but this was brought up to our room while we were out for the evening. I usually stay elsewhere in Leicester but in future this will always be my first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank 625joannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
1.1 km away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
675 reviews
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Campanile Hotel Leicester
Campanile Hotel Leicester
#25 of 41 in Leicester
462 reviews
1 km away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
6.2 km away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#20 of 41 in Leicester
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel

Address: Vaughan Way, Leicester LE1 4NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: €42 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Leicester Central hotel is perfectly located for those visiting this Roman city. Whether you want culture from the Haymarket Theatre, shopping at the Highcross Centre or football at the King Power Stadium, it's all here. The city boasts the National Space Centre, a must-see for wannabe astronauts, along with the New Walk Museum, with exhibits covering everything from Ancient Egypt to Victorian Art. Or grab a drink on buzzing Belvoir Street. Our new Business Floor Room option guarantees you a room on one of our quieter business floors. All rooms feature a comfy king size bed with four plump pillows and a cosy duvet. Our on-site restaurant and bar serves breakfast and tasty evening meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Leicester Hotel Leicester
Leicester Travelodge
Leicester Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Leicester
Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing