We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding anniversary”
Review of Henson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Henson Hotel
Ranked #267 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wedding anniversary”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

me and my husband booked this hotel for 2 nights for our first wedding anniversary last july,but we end up living after first night,we paid £60/night :(( was to old fashion,well Henson hotel its just old ,old carpets and smelly,the room was "clean "staff friendly brekfast room very old fashion def we never book again ,never go back to blackpool!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank nina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davej1719, Owner at Henson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
You say you stayed in July and leave a review in November , very odd.
Are you a competitor or a person like we saw on the tv about trip advisor .
Please give me the dates you say you stayed and your name please so I can check this out.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    95
    22
    20
    12
See reviews for
96
97
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The Henson Hotel ... well we have stayed at many hotels in Blackpool over the years from posh to terrible.... and the Henson Hotel is not posh, not terrible just old and musty, the staff try to be friendly but all look worn out ! the bedding was clean but very worn and not changed for the four days we were there .. breakfast was supposed to be self service but as soon as anyone reached the hot food counter the owner raced over to count out the bacon and sausages I was scared I was taking too much food .. bit of a long walk from the hotel into Town so you have to get the bus .. there is a stop just over the road or the tram stop is over 10 mins walk .. one good thing, we were able to park our car right outside the hotel for the four days .. maybe with new bedding and minor repairs in the room .... it would be better .... there was no toilet roll holder and the light over the sink the light cord was broken and filthy dirty .... I have stayed in a lot worse in Blackpool .... it was just ok.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Twizz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davej1719, Owner at Henson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Thank you for your review in reply may I respond to a few issues.
You will find most hotels will not change your bedding on a four night stay not even the posh ones.
I know about forty different hoteliers and not one of them would of changed your bedding just your towels. As for worn bedding I cannot understand this if anything is starting to wear we throw it away.
As for the breakfast after many different ways of serving breakfast we have found this way the best.
If people are left to help themselves to everything you find a massive waste problem, a lot of people tend to take more than they can eat and this is left on there plates. We do not advertise an all you can eat breakfast but you could have come for seconds you are very welcome our food is usually highly recommended if you read our reviews. As for staff , again we seem to be lucky and have good staff who get rave reviews maybe just a bad day for them , no excuse but it has been a long haul for them seven days a week full most of the time.
Again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend last week and after reading the bad reviews i believe that the people that wrote these are somewhat confused. My girlfriend and I were both extremely pleased with the service that we recieved. The rooms were clean and of a good size, the breakfast was one of the best I have had whilst staying in a bed and breakfast. Will definetly be returning and would recommend to anyone who requires a nice clean BandB with a traditional breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davej1719, Owner at Henson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on trip advisor .
All too often when people are happy with there stay they don't bother placing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights.Terrible service and terrible room- wash basin was in the bedroom not en suite at all .The door frame inside bathroom was missing,and the room was crowded.The owner and one of the waitresses was very rude .Dinner was mostly unedible -Brussels and roast potatoes were served with salmon (what a joke).Chocolate pudding was still frozen.
We will not be returning here again,it was like fawlty towers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Orbital5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davej1719, Owner at Henson Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
Thank you for your review but I am confused. Your room had a vanity sink unit in the room and a toilet and large shower in a separate bathroom I don't understand how you think this is not en-suite maybe you didn't know this room was here I don't know !
as for your meals if you care to read the many reviews on countless review sites you will see our food comes highly recommended maybe you are not used to fresh food.
As for the owner and waitress being rude I would like you to clarify this matte as I do not remember being rude to anybody and as for my staff I always tell them to be nice and polite with everybody but I will not tolerate my staff being spoken to by anybody as if they are second class citizens and always ask them to stand up for themselves and speak for themselves. Again if you look at all the review sites our staff are always scored highly.
I cannot remember who you are but I think you will find you are one of those few people that are never pleased even though people bend over backwards for you. As for not coming back , so be it you will find we are nearly full most of the season so we must be doing something right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

just arrived back from staying at this hotel . Can,t fault it it was very clean the food was exellent ,rooms were clean and beds very comfy which was a suprise as i read a review on here before i went saying how bad it was think this person doesn,t know what they are talking about. the staff were also polite and helpful as were Dave & sue would definitely go back there and recommend it to friends and family

sylvia & dave scaife

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvies1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 km away
Stuart Hotel
Stuart Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
254 reviews
0.6 km away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,006 reviews
4.3 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 73 in Blackpool
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 73 in Blackpool
731 reviews
0.4 km away
The Headlands
The Headlands
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
291 reviews
0.1 km away
The Corona
The Corona
#21 of 859 in Blackpool
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henson Hotel

Property: Henson Hotel
Address: 23 Clifton Drive, Blackpool FY4 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Henson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Pleasure Beach on the Blackpool's South Promenade, this friendly, family-run hotel has free parking and free Wi-Fi. With modern rooms and a bar, there are also delicious breakfasts. Blackpool's lively town centre and famous piers are less than 2 miles up the coast. Blackpool Tower is a 5-minute drive away, passing restaurants and shops on the way. The Henson Hotel is just 50 metres from Blackpool Pleasure Beach Train Station, and 1 mile from Blackpool Airport. Each of the rooms has a TV, free tea and coffee and a private bathroom. Some rooms have a separate lounge area with sofas, and a large flat-screen TV. The bar and games room offer good views of the sunset, and Henson Hotel provides seasonal entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Henson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing