We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Had to Re-arrange the Furniture to get our suitcases in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of New Hacketts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Hacketts Hotel
Ranked #58 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 28 February 2008

Well, where do I start? ( Friend's Party)

OK, obviously I should start with the first point of call - the RECEPTIONIST! My Husband described her as Hostile and he's a very nice man! She just did not really care who we were and showed no interest in us - the GUESTS!!!!! When we finally got to our room, after taking the lift and then walking up another flight of stairs, we just about fitted into it together. After much re-arranging of the furniture we Managed to get our Suitcases in. The ROOM was SMALL Beyond Belief. The SHOWER was a laugh, you either burned to death or chilled to death in it!!!!

The Cleaning Staff were so Friendly when we met them on the stairs on the way to breakfast. THEY DO AN EXCELLENT JOB. Our room was spotless. Sheets, towels fresh every day which is what you really want.

The Breakfast was also to die for. The staff were very Efficient. They did not forget any request even though the breakfast room was full with about one hundred people, (mostly coach parties).

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank caillingodeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for New Hacketts Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 568 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2008

MyHusband and Myself made the terrible mistake of booking this Hotel for St Valentines weekend. If I hade bothered to check the reviews before I booked I would never Have gone.The reviews for this hotel were so poor that I tried to cancel,having told the Hotel my concerns after reading the reviews,only to be assured that we would be given a refurbished room. We arrived on Friday the 15th Feb and were told at reception that we had been given the Bridal suite because on my concerns re the reviews.We went to the lift and there was only room for two people you had to go back down for the Luggage (wish we had not bothered) When we saw this so called Bridal Suite I could have wept! The Four poster bed was just a frame,The Carpet was like something out of Family ar War! The celing were polysterine tiles which housed a three light fitting,one of which did not work.there was another single bed in the room.But the Final touches were the spotlight which was perched over the bed which was a fire hazard as all the bakalite shade was frazzled due to the heat, the spotlight on the other bed did not work So if this was the bridal suite God help
the other rooms. At Dinner a steak was offered,which as said to be Rump steak cooked in the oven, any cook knows that you do not cook rump steak in the oven,this was braising steak. Veg
which was broccoli was so over cooked it was Yellow. On Discussion with a couple on our table we felt quite lucky as they had no central heating only an electric wall heater half way up the wall. After meal at 6pm Bingo started ,only to be followed by a male singer at 10pm,he was quite good.We went to bed only to find that the pillows were like rocks! so I lay on the matress which can only be discribed as totaly unaceptable as I lay awake most of the night waiting for daylight as the spring in the matress
dug in to every countour of my body.dont think they have heard of a divan matress, on crawling out of bed at 7.15 I Packed our belongings and went to breakfast at 8am and beat ahasty retreat at 9am. Did Not inform Hotel of our departure as Blackpool is quite busy at the moment.We booked and paid for two nights but one was enough for anyone! I would not have liked to think that giving up our room early,condemed any other unsurspecting couple to have that Bridal suite as a Diviorce could be iminent afterwards. This Hotel Is an isult to decent people.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank plumStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

Stayed for one night and thankfully no more
Room was small and wallpaper hanging from walls
Ceiling had large damp patches and was of polystyrene tiles
like in an office block

Various areas had never been dusted, tops of bedside lights, the
extractor fan in the toilet was caked in dust, very old fashioned and worn carpets, Bathroom was about 3ft by 3ft with a shower tray and toilet and wash hand basin
floor was vinyl that appeared to be laid over old carpet ??

Food was the highlight but nothing exceptional.
menu had option to buy glass of wine with dinner but nothing else. Water was disgusting to drink.
Entertainment is firmly aimed at the OAP bracket and will not interest any family staying there.

In all having stayed in many hotels around the world this is the type of hotel that is driving holiday makers abroad
like travelling back to the 60/70's is how I would describe it

unfortunatly many of Blackpools sea front hotels are very old buildings that are in desperate need of internal modernisation

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank saggy9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillianclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Critix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 km away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,080 reviews
0.4 km away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
855 reviews
0.1 km away
Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
259 reviews
2.3 km away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,289 reviews
6.0 km away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hacketts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hacketts Hotel

Address: 14 - 20 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SQ, England (Formerly Hacketts York House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: €34 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Hacketts Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hacketts Hotel, situated on Blackpool's Queens Promenade, with the beach on your doorstep and transport links across the road. It's a short journey to the town centre and many of Blackpool's famous attractions. New Hacketts is an excellent choice for families, couples or groups. 101 bedrooms, all en-suite with tea/coffee making facilities, some with sea views of the beautiful Irish Sea. Enjoy freshly prepared meals by our very talented chef! Then sit back and relax in our bar lounge and enjoy an evening of entertainment. Bar snacks and alcoholic beverages are available 24 hours on request. Our friendly and helpful staff are here to assist you with any requests or requirements to ensure you have a most enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your New Hacketts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacketts York Hotel
Hacketts Hotel Blackpool
Hacketts York Blackpool
Hacketts York House Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing