We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed was very uncofortable but otherwise the facililty was good”
Review of The Colwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Colwyn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2017

The room size was OK (average) but the bed left a lot to be desired as it was two 3/4 children's beds placed together ... sideways. This resulted in the middle of our bed being very hard and across our backs. Approached manager who advised there were no other options. When departing, in talking to the owner, he advised that we should have talked to him and he would have changed our room.

Otherwise the facility was good. The location is close to entertainments, restaurants and shops and is beachfront. The tram stop is within about 2 minutes walk as it's diagonally opposite the main entrance to the Colwyn.

The breakfast is really good with good service offered by all staff.

Room Tip: Front rooms on first floor provide a view of the sea at the cost of engaging the stairs ... but wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank smpja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Thanks to the wonderful owners and staff our trip to Blackpool was brilliant!! Had a dissapointing start to our trip when the hotel I booked turned out to be worse than Fawlty Towers, a quick cross of the road and we had a family sea view room in The Colwyn Hotel and couldn't be more delighted. Room had everything we needed, with the sea view as a bonus with us turning up last minute. Excellent atmosphere, clean, bright and refreshing. The staff were all friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much for them. Tram and bus stops right across the road along with beach access a short walk along the Promenade. Pleasure Beach, almost on the doorstep, literally 2 small roads to cross to get there, about a 2 min walk, and lots in very short walking distance from the hotel. Looking forward to our next, longer visit to Blackpool, and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hez19802017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Just a couple of things to lose a point - bedroom very warm and stuffy, couldn't leave window open at night because of street noise. Other thing was cold showers!

Apart from the above everything was great and I would definitely choose to stay here again. Charles and Sheila were charming hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Mick almost perfected making Lemon, Lime and Bitters.

Beautiful big breakfast room which overlooked the beach, delicious breakfast with good selection. Bedroom was light, spacious and clean - great view.

Charles loves his 60s music and pointed us in the direction of a good music venue.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovechocolatecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Just come home from having a lovely 2 night stay with my son daughter in law and grandson lovely hotel very welcoming and friendly rooms are lovely and clean breakfast was delicious brought out a little breakfast for the my grandson nothing was to much trouble

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank june g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night on our way to Liverpool. My mum and I had room 102 a twin and my brother room 106 a single. Both rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and a great view of the ocean. It is opposite a tram and bus stop and a short, less than 10 minute walk to the Grosvenor Casino. The hotel had lovely light, bright sitting areas with great ocean views. The dining room also had the same views. The food was good quality and beautifully cooked. Great selection of cold items too. The owner Charles went out of his way to make our stay great. Nice little bar on site, reasonable prices. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank elaine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
523 reviews
5 km away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
902 reviews
0.6 km away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,280 reviews
0.1 km away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#2 of 73 in Blackpool
545 reviews
4.8 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colwyn Hotel

Address: 569 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: €47 - €85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colwyn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colwyn Hotel, situated on the fashionable New South Promenade overlooking the Irish sea and stunning sun sets, is a Blackpool hotel with a commitment to excellent customer service. If you're looking for a quality yet affordable hotel in Blackpool, you can't go wrong at the Colwyn Hotel. We're excellently located next to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the Sandcastle Waterpark, G-Casino and South pier. There are tram and bus stops right across the road to Cleveleys, Fleetwood, Stanley Park and Blackpool's amazing zoo. We offer free parking on our forecourt and free wifi. There is a lift to all floors. Most of our rooms and our dining room have excellent sea views. You need to know that you'll receive the right standard of hotel accommodation, at the right price. If you're looking for a summer holiday or a short break, you'll always enjoy your stay in Blackpool when you stay at the Colwyn Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Colwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing