We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,212)
Filter reviews
4,212 results
Traveller rating
441
723
757
649
1,642
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
723
757
649
1,642
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1,353 - 1,358 of 4,212 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

The second time we have stayed at the Metropole. Really love this historic Hotel. Of course it's not perfect but for me all the original features really add to the overall experience. We stayed in room 098 0ne of the Suites which is absolutely brilliant. Large Four Poster Bed - Separate large Lounge - large en suite bathroom with his and hers sinks. Separate Kitchenette. A very nice ground floor room. On the second night we decided to eat in the restaurant for only £12 a head. Full three courses choice of starters mains and deserts. Roast beef and Yorkshire puds was really nice and lots of hot veg. Staff are friendly and always on hand to help. My only question would be the entertainment lasts no more than 45 mins and we missed it. Also the entertainment bar shutters were down for 23.00. I would defiantly stay at this great Hotel again it's location and setting don't get any better for enjoying the resort.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank LesMott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

I was so pleased to read that all aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction and especially that you felt we offered value for money. Do please ask if room 98 is available again and we will book it for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Stayed here through national holidays and to be honest I expected a lot more from the hotel..the rooms are so basic but you at least expected them to be clean...they smell of smoke..we only had one towel which was a hand towels. .beds aren't clean..carpets are a disgrace..bathrooms are not clean...but the worst part was finding out 2 couples that were on our trip was on the ground floor with sea views..stunning rooms and whirlpool bath...why on earth are the rooms so different...they paid the same money as we did and our rooms couldn't of been so far apart on cleanliness. ..I really think national should be looking at the service all there customers get as they would be disgusted at the rooms they are letting the hotel give to most of the customers...totally disappointed...definately will not go back there...

Room Tip: Lower floor...better rooms
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank julie02111972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Well where do we start! Location perfect parking horrendous said u get blocked in the staff can't help you! ( or don't want to help you)don't book room 1 the view of a brick wall is like being in a jail! Beds are hard it needs a good clean every part of it needs hovered and polished and painted.guys get in touch with the community service staff and get it painted for free!!! Staff! Sort out ur staff they defo don't want to be there! Miserable and rude. Good points! The bar guy got us drinks till late which we appreciated we met some great people and we slept well after getting extra duvets to put down cause beds are hard! Who's the manager of this hotel?? U need to sit down and make a list and a deadline! Blackpool beach was clean and tidy I think more people will come so it be worth making ur hotel look clean and tidy, my room smelt of smoke and the curtains were dusty as hell. We will come back defo so fingers crossed u take the negatives and make them into positives!!! Good luck X

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisarafferty79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

This so called Grand Hotel isn't that grand. The hotel is huge. The communal areas are shabbily ornate. The bedroom was very uninspiring and small. We couldn't wait to get out of the hotel. Although generally clean the overall appearance looked neglected. Dirty curtains and windows. The breakfast was very good. The car park is horrendous and far too small for the size of the hotel. One gentleman was unable to leave the hotel after checking out as his car was blocked in. We were asked on checking in if we had parked our car in a bay, if not you would get £100 fine. The parking police could have made a fortune with all the cars that were parked with no thought for other people. I suppose it served a purpose for a one night stay. We would not return, nor would we recommend it.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Reception rude ... no towels ... dirty... no tv working and when we told them they will not offer to give us a new room with a tv to keep baby happy absolute joke and im going be demading a refund . The place is a disgrace b&b would av been far better dont stay here

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews