We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We went the the Elgin hotel for a four day break, we upgraded our room to a sea view but found it very compact , it had two single bed's as that's all they could offer us, they were comfable and the room had a TV and tea & coffee making facilities , we had a good choice for breakfast and evening meal, the entertainment was very good and the bar prices were fair, on our package we had a coach trip through the illuminations and a trip to Skippton included, we have been to this hotel a few times and we intend to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the sea front but you pay extra for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Alan
Many thanks for your kind review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and vey much look forward to welcoming you back. Don't hesitate to ask for a larger room or upgrade (or both) at time of booking. We have an exciting line up of holidays for you next year with new themes and excursions. Our new brochure should be out on the 10th October.
With Warm regards and Best Wishes,
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

very good value for money. loved the fact that dinner and breakfast were served to your table and not buffet style. good quality food, very nicely cooked. staff are very friendly and efficient. lovely welcome. room great. we will return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickenchowmein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear 'Chickenchowmein'
Many thanks for your kind and generous review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your liking.
Your comments about the welcome and the friendliness are particularly well received - I will post your comments on the staff notice board.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm Regards and Best Wishes,
Nigel and 'Team Elgo'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

just had a midweek break at the Elgin overall the hotel was good but the room we were allocated was the smallest room we have ever stayed in ,it was definitely not for 2 people , if one was in the bathroom and the other looking in the wardrobe you couldn't get out ,there was nowhere to put the case stand as there wasn't a space in the room ,the bathroom door wouldn't fully open as it caught on the carpet ,the space from the bath to the door coming out was about 24 inches in which you had a toilet an wash basin so we were really disappointed ,when I told the receptionist that I thought this was a single room made into a double she just said no we have smaller rooms than that ,I just can't understand why people pay the same amount for there holiday in a box room and others get a decent sized one as my friends did

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get room 366 if there's 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank murdock622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Mrs Murdock
Many thanks for your review not least your complements about the hotel in general. The room you had is probably the smallest in the hotel but being a 1930s property our rooms are generally smaller than those built in this century. Indeed our sister hotel, The Sheraton, has a lot of larger rooms. However, here at the Elgin, we do like to think that our rooms are all well equipped and very smart, clean and cosy. In fairness, your friends stayed in a superior sea view room which does incurr a supplement.
We do have many varieties of rooms in all shapes and sizes. I do hope you will come to stay with us again – please don’t hesitate to contact myself or Amanda (Operations Manager) directly at time of booking, and we will be pleased to allocate you one of the larger rooms.
Thanks again for your much valued feedback.
Kind Regards,
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

The room was very clean plenty of room.good food excellent entertainment. Very
Polite staff bingo most nights very good value for money wi-fi every room.
Over all 10/10.Mr Mrs king very happy pensioners.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Mr and Mrs King
Many thanks for your kind and generous review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your liking.
We look forward to welcoming back 'The Happy Pensioners'!
Warm Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Made us feel very welcome and looked after us exceptionally! Rooms were immaculate. No problems at providing a late breakfast in our room, thanks to the efficiency of Tom, Paul and Arek. Reception staff lovely and very helpful.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C77IQsuzannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Suzanne
Many thanks for your very positive review. It's great to have such feedback - not least for team morale. We're very fortunate to have such a good bunch of people working here at the hotel. It's an old cliché but it's true, ' a hotel is only as good as its staff'.
Hoping to be of future service.
Warm Regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,261 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#20 of 73 in Blackpool
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
5.5 km away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,245 reviews
5.5 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgin Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Address: 36-42 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#6 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: €64 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elgin Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Hotel (Large Hotel of the Year Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 - Lancashire Tourism Board) is an 89 bedroom hotel located on the cliffs on the exclusive Queen's Promenade, just one mile north of Blackpool Town Centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and we are proud to offer an extensive range of room type which range from Standard to Club Executive - these rooms even have TVs in the bathroom! In addition, we also have five accessible bedrooms. We offer a wide range of midweek and themed mini weekend breaks, including: • Elvis Tributes • Swinging 60s • Rod Stewart Tributes • Comedy & Cabaret nights • Turkey and Tinsel breaks • Illuminations breaks • And much more! With all this to choose from, you're sure to find something to suit your taste! Bingo and cabaret entertainment can be enjoyed every evening after Dinner in the hotel. Guests on midweek breaks also have the option to take advantage of our free excursions to various locations throughout the year! Return coach travel is available from a number of regions when booked with Elgin Tours. We take the stress out of travelling so that you can start your holiday the right way. Plus we're fully bonded with ABTA for extra piece of mind. Our philosophy at the hotel is very much focused on adding value to your stay. We strive to go the extra mile and our friendly staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. Our commitment to customer service is just one of the reasons why many guests choose to return! • Dinner, Bed and Breakfast as standard • Special discounts for children • WIFI available • Lift to all floors • Car park plus plenty of on-street parking without charges/restrictions • Fully licensed bars and lounges • Accessible rooms • Great transport links (bus and tram stops outside of the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Elgin Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Elgin Hotel
Elgin Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing