We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,797)
Filter reviews
3,797 results
Traveller rating
1,381
1,191
663
343
219
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,381
1,191
663
343
219
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the palm court sea view steam room the general manager leisure facilities standard room lovely hotel car park tram stop evening meal short break buffet style family room enjoyable stay north pier night break stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 3,797 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Our first visit to The Imperial was in May this year & we decided to return to see the illuminations. We had booked 2 nights DBB but through different agents. The 1st night was for a standard room but we were upgraded to a sea view on the 3rd floor. Check in was easy & pleasant. Room was quite nice but it did seem rather dated & in need of a refurb ( see pictures). The en-suite was tiny & the towel rail was right by the toilet, I half expected to find the towels in there! We did ask for a fridge to be brought up to the room & this was done quickly. Dinner in the Palm Court restaurant was lovely & our request to be seated by the window was accommodated. For our 2nd night stay we asked if we could have a sea view room with a bigger bathroom & we were allocated room 323 (moving from 325). This had a bigger en-suite as it had a bath with shower over but the compromise was a smaller bedroom. The changeover was handled by the hotel staff who moved our luggage from one room to another & they moved the fridge too! Breakfasts were very good although the hotel was busy. Dinner on the second night was good. Although there were some minor niggles mainly the dated rooms we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & we found all the staff we met most friendly and helpful. We must make a special mention for Tony on reception who was so friendly & seemed to be 'on duty ' nearly all the time. In fact on checking out we asked if he had his bed here!! Thank you The Imperial we will return soon.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank OliverW857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thanks so much Oliver for your honest and detailed review, and of course for the 5 stars! How lovely of you to mention Tony, he'll be thrilled to see his name! I'm delighted you are now regular friends of the Imp, and I'm not sure whether we met during your visit. If not, please say hello wont you next time, its great to put a face to the name! Hope to meet you personally next time! Best wishes, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

We had a four night weekend break paying all but £70 using Tesco Clubcard vouchers. Following a smooth train journey from Kent we arrived by taxi and were booked into room 301 on the third floor which was a lot better the two previous rooms on the fourth floor we had stayed in. It was on the south east corner of the hotel with a view of the tower in the distance. The room was clean and seemed to have been redecorated fairly recently. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was quite powerful. Tea, coffee and biscuits were available in the room. The breakfasts were well cooked and tasty and we had no queuing or other issues - we treated ourselves to one breakfast in our room for an extra £5 which was also good. We had head, back and neck massages in the leisure area which were relaxing and good value. The staff in Number 10 bar were very attentive and brought drinks when needed.

Room tip: Avoid fourth floor rooms
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Derek50Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

How lovely of you to write a review Derek, I'm so pleased you loved the room allocated to you and that you had a relaxing 4 day break. I believe we did actually meet at breakfast on one of the mornings Derek. How marvellous that you're a regular friend of the Imperial, its so good to know that you enjoy your visits. I do hope you'll drop me a line and let me know you're coming next time, it would be great to say hello and have a quick catch up before you settle in! Looking forward to seeing you next time, best wishes, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel is lovely looking from the outside and the reception area is nice too.
We checked in no problem and were given our room key.
The room was spacious a little dated but functional. Only one of the two windows opened and the room was very hot this was disappointing but ok.
The en-suite was well let’s say small, a shower over the bath and toilet & sink but not much space to move around.
The bed was so bouncy like a bouncy castle!!!
Slept ok in the HOT ROOM!!
Breakfast was ok a good selection but the cooked items were just warm hardly hot.
Overall this is an ok hotel but nothing fancy.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank leisa43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Hello Leisa, Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay, I do appreciate it. Leisa, you don't mention whether you spoke with anyone about the heat. It's not always easy to get it right for everyone at this time of year, but the team could have turned off the heat for you and brought you a fan had you required it. I hope this is what happened. I'll mention your comments to Chef about the breakfast. I do hope you had a great time in Blackpool and were able to do everything you wanted! With very best wishes, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

It states the Hotel opened its doors in 1867 and was home to Charles Dickens well room 416 must have been his and untouched since then, the wife and i half expected C. Dickens to be sitting up the corner with his quill pen in hand with his we willie night hat on.Pictures to follow. Food is 100 per cent superior at the Wetherspoos chain of pubs.Staff give their all under the circumstances,so over all if Charles Dickens came back he would find nothing's changed.The above room had NO A/C. NO SAFE NO FRIDGE/ MINI BAR NO MAKE UP MIRROR.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Hello Dennis, I'm so sorry that you did love the room allocated to you. What a shame that you did not mention this while you were here, as I feel sure we could have shown you some alternatives. It's true that the hotel has no air conditioning in the bedrooms. Fridges and safes can be arranged on request though. I hope that you enjoyed Blackpool and were able to see all that you wanted while you were here. With best wishes, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited on a Friday afternoon for an amazing afternoon tea. The food was brilliant especially the mushroom soup. The waiter (Francis) was really attentive too. I would happily to recommend this to my family and friends. All reasonably priced too!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 516franb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thanks Fran for taking the time to review your recent visit. I'm so pleased you loved the Afternoon Tea and Francis will be thrilled to see his name! Hope to see you again! with best wishes, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews