We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A lovely weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rutland Hotel
Ranked #83 of 915 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Have just come back from The Rutland Hotel. The hotel was spotless and service was second to none. The breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. Kay and Adrian were attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
The lounge was relaxing with a great view of the seafront and a pool table to keep our two sons entertained.
Overall I would recommend the warm hospitality and will have no hesitation to book this hotel again.
David and Jacqui Briscoe Whitchurch

Room Tip: It is a little bit of a climb up to the family room, so those with walking difficulties need to boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 242Jacqui09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    25
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
83
70
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had a lovely time in Blackpool and would certainly recommend staying at the Rutland Hotel it was in a very good location right on the seafront but away from the noise. It was comfortable and the breakfasts and cleanliness were of very high standard. The proprietors Kay and Adrian were very friendly and welcoming even though we were late arrivals they were very accommodating.The other members of staff were just as friendly too, it had a nice atmosphere especially the bar/lounge which had a wonderful view of the sea. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We had a very good experience at the Rutland Hotel. Spotlessly clean, home cooked evening meal a must, the steak pie was wonderful. The lounge area was welcoming and relaxing. The staff friendly and efficient.The proprietors came into their own with spot on advice and suggestions when a dental emergency occured. We will be booking again.

Room Tip: Stairs a bit of a climb, book lower level if this is a prob.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186299Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We have been to the Rutland for the past eight years, and have just returned from our second visit this year. Each time you go it gets better. the rooms, cleanliness and service are spot on. The food all home cooked by Adrian couldent be better. Then to sit in the lounge on a night over looking the sea, with a good drink from the bar. Just the place to relax after a day in Blackpool. Adrian and Kay treat you like friends from the first day up to going home, nothing is to much trouble. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. We shall be back next year. Maureen and Derek Castleford.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 18 are sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derek24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proprietorsBlackpool, Owner at Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments we always look foward to your next visit give Maureen our love, will try and get Jack here for your next stay Kind regards Kay ,Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

I recently stayed in the Rutland Hotel in North Promenade, Blackpool. I thought it was a nice place to stay and the proprietors were very nice and helpful, particulary Kay. she was always so friendly and willing to chat at breakfast.

The rooms were nice and clean although a little bit outdated and everything can be heard in the rooms next door as the walls are obviously too thin and infact i got a knock on my door one night at about 11.00 from a lady next door complaining about my conversation. Regarding the Bathroom, time to get rid of the curtains in the shower, glass doors would be more appopriate and more hygenic, particulary these days.

Regarding breakfast, i felt fresh tomatoes would be more appropriate than pureed ones.

My only other criticism would be the public toilet on top of the stairs seemed to have no wash basin only spridgel and i felt this is not adequate and and a wash basin should be available after use of toilet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauralaura30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proprietorsBlackpool, Owner at Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you for review and your kind comments hope your journey home was a good one as the weather was not good when you left. , Regrettably we did receive two complains from both the rooms either side of you about the noise coming from your room late at night both referring to telephone calls you were making home. To answer the points for improvement you kindly put forward firstly fresh tomatoes at break fast are available at any time on request (personal taste ) secondly , shower curtains are widely expectable including with the visit Britain accreditation which we are a member. Thirdly, there is hand sanitizer at all times in our public toilets which you obviously did not see (this is proven to be more affective than washing) also because all our rooms have en-suites we are not obliged to supply public toilets . once again thank you for your kind review we do try and answer as many as possible and take on board the comments made, (most could have been resolved during your stay with a simple conversation )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 km away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.1 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,861 reviews
1.7 km away
Rutlands Hotel
Rutlands Hotel
#180 of 915 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Bromley
The Bromley
#91 of 915 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 km away
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#185 of 915 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 km away
Glenwalden Guest House
Glenwalden Guest House
#179 of 915 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Hotel

Property: Rutland Hotel
Address: 330 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 915 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing