We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
112
119
79
49
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
119
79
49
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews booked through blackpool promotions free travel pass central hotel mon fri food was lovely next year evening meal coral island beans last weekend bar prices single bed couldn't fault town centre many thanks blackpool tower couldn't do enough
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Room is like a sauna. Television doesn't work. My child asked for a bread roll and was told he couldn't have one because he wasn't having the soup!!! I paid an adult price for him as well!!! Never again second and last time!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank siobhanhair79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Siobhan,

Thank you for the feedback,

We do kindly ask guests to please make us aware at reception of any issues whatsoever so they can be rectified, the team will always try their best to ensure your stay is the best it can be. Management would have re tuned the television as soon as made aware. Signal is sometimes affected when Seaguls and sea birds nest on the roof top of the building which is an ongoing issue, also due to being very close to the seafront we are subjected to the full force of adverse weather which also has an impact. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

In regards to the bread roll - i have spoken with restaurant staff relating to this who state they were serving another guest at the time when asked for the bread roll and unfortunately forgot bring the roll to your table - this was a small oversight by serving staff and they pass on their sincerest apologies.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope you will choose the Royal Hotels again in the future,

All the very best,

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Hotel rooms very tired and needing done up, friendly staff OK bus home rubbish had to wait to long would not recommend to anyone to go here and to go to other hotel. Used to like this place would advise anyone to to one at the front

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Elaine,

Thank you very much for the excellent feedback on your time at the Royal Alexandra.

Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us, and feedback is invaluable as it helps us improve on the standard and quality of our services in the future .

In regards to the hotel decor - with continued investment into the Royal Hotels we are always updating and upgrading. For the 2018 season we refreshed many of our guest bedrooms with new paint and wallpaper and we aim to update all guest bedrooms across the board in due course. We also updated the exterior areas with a new astro turf patio area, painted the front of the hotel and added new modern steps this year.

We thank you for the feedback on our staff - the Royal Alexandra prides itself on excellent customer service and all of the team work so hard to deliver a great holiday experience to our guests.

With reference to the coach journey - we are sorry this didn't meet your expectations, coach pickup times are approximate due to delays and diversions however our drivers will always try their best to stick to schedule and ensure a smooth, efficient onward journey.

With five hotels within the Royal Hotels group offering town centre and promenade locations there is plenty of choice for a great Blackpool Holiday so we hope you will consider us again for a future holiday to the resort.

Thank you once again for your review, all the very best

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

1 nights stay to show our granddaughter the lights,room was good and location was good,the only BAD thing about our stay was being overcharged at the hotel , 2 pints of larger and a packet of crisps was £10 YES i was charged £10. for this reason i wont return to this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Ian,


Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such fantastic feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us however we do apologise for the issue relating to the overcharge in our bar, we are not sure exactly what happened here however we will speak with our bar team to investigate.

We do hope you will re consider staying with us again in the future, thank you once again for the review

All the very best

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Myself and my partner came down for a weekend break and we very much enjoyed our stay here we had a few small issues but nothing major. The room we had was clean and fresh. Downside to the room was the hand basin was abut too small and maybe new shower required as the mixer taps either made it too hot or too cold at times maybe an electric shower would be better. The breakfast was lovely we did enjoy it and waiting staff were quick and friendly. Evenings meals were OK the soups were lovely and the gammon. The curry was very dry and the roast potato's were so dry and hard that was our only complaints food wise but apart from that the food was nice.on 1 day of our stay we wanted to have dinner at the later sitting which we wrote the time on our sheet and I had forgot to say to a member of staff that I had wrote the later time on my sheet as we had said on the day before we would be having a later sitting that day. When we came for our dinner we were moaned at a bit by 1 member off staff and were made to feel guilty about it we understand things can get busy but there was 6 spare tables at that sitting so didn't see the problem to be honest. But on a more positive note the entertainment was good Chris Ritchie by far our favourite he is fantastic and very funny shame he wasn't on longer. The drinks at the bar we felt were good prices. The hotel itself is great location we didn't have to walk far to find shops cash machines take aways ect. We very much enjoyed our stay and we would come back again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Lisa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent holiday at the Royal Alexandra.

Overall we are delighted you had a great stay with us and that you were so comfortable in your room.

Guest feedback is extremely important to us as it is through feedback we monitor so we can aim to improve in the future so we do thank you for bringing the minor issues mentioned - to our attention.

In reference to your room - we are sorry you found the hand basin in your bathroom to be a little on the small side, these vary in size and style from room to room, the issues with the shower may have been due to multiple guests showering / using the system at the same time (prior to dinner / breakfast) as that can sometimes affect slight fluctuations in temperature, we do apologise for any inconvenience caused.

In regards to the food - Thank you for your great feedback on our curry and roast potatoes, this has since been passed onto our chef as we do take all guest feedback on board for improvement in the future. We are however very pleased for the most part you did enjoy the food on offer whilst at the hotel. With regards to the slight change in your dinner reservation - we do apologise for the staff member in question as this is certainly not the usual excellent standard of service we aim to provide, we will speak with our serving team to ensure our usual excellent standard is maintained.

Thank you for your great comments on our entertainment - we are delighted you enjoyed! Chris Ritchie is superb and one of Blackpool's finest cabaret performers so it's great you got to see him whilst on holiday with us. It's also great you found our bar prices to be extremely reasonable in the cabaret bar.

Our location is fabulous, being so close to Blackpool's many great attractions and shops - we're pleased you thought the location was ideal.

All in all it's wonderful you had a great holiday, we hope you will choose us again for a future break to the resort. 7

Best wishes from the team

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel last week Mon to Fri... Room was small and needed a good clean windowsills filthy windows filthy bird mess all over my husband cleaned the window sill with a baby wipe it was black. Don't like the Hitler approach in dining room wit sour faced waitresses they don't know how to smile obviously s in the job too long. You must be there on time as ur starter is on table waiting for you and oh they do not take kindly to you being late excuse me.. My holiday I paid good money to relax and not to be dictated to... Lot of food is cheap frozen food it certainly is not nice experience also not happy about sharing table with strangers... That said. we enjoyed Blackpool just not this hotel. Won't be back.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank june f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews