We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday home for large group”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hagg End

Hagg End
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hagg End
Large kitchen diner with american style fridge freezer King sized bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Hagg End
Large kitchen diner with american style fridge freezer
King sized bedroom
Dales Way footpath sign
Master king en-suite bedroom
The front enclosed garden area with seating
Large kitchen diner with gas range cooker
Original pot-rail with blue and white china
Twin bedroom with pine ceiling
Twin en-suite bedroom
Garden and driveway to Hagg End
Large lounge with log burner, featuring original beams
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Viv B
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday home for large group”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Excellent farmhouse suitable for large group. 4 bath/shower rooms including one downstairs bedroom with ensuite suitable for elderly/disabled. House is clean, full of character and with modern amenities including well equipped farmhouse kitchen with huge table. Reached by single track (gated) road, the house is set in beautiful countryside on the Dales Way with walks/cycling right from the door. Good storage for bikes inside the large utility room. Wifi weak in parts of the house, including the living room. Ample parking
Friendly, helpful (and unobtrusive) owners live just next door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Could do with more keys if have several groups coming and going separately
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
Thank you for your kind review.
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will C
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Eight of us stayed at this cottage for a weekend in March 2015. We had a fantastic time. The cottage is located well away from neighbouring properties, which gives you a sense of privacy, but it is also right next to a designated walking trail so you can walk directly from the cottage to Lake Windermere. Inside, the cottage is clean spacious but also cosy - the kitchen is absolutely huge which is great for large parties, while the living room is snug and welcoming. All the bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and well-presented. Finally, the owners were extremely helpful throughout our stay, and even gave us some free wood for the wood burner. They were there when needed but not overbearing, and left us to it for the most part. I would highly recommend this place to anyone wishing to visit the Lake District.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We do try to give our guests as much privacy as we can when they are here, but the bonus is we are here if they need anything. We have created a new garden since your visit, and that has been a great hit, although still a bit of work to do. But we don't like disturbing guests so have to fit it in when they are out, or the house is empty. Takes a bit longer but we get there in the end.
Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SammySurg...
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fab place to enjoy the lake district from”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our first trip to the lake district. The house was actually easy to find and the owners directions were exceptionally clear. Our host Helen was there to greet us- she is in the house next door which is reassuring as we really are in a remote location. The charm was that Windermere and its facilities was just a 10 minute drive away. The accommodation was clean, spacious and comfortable. I meant to wake up early everyday but the bed was so comfortable and the location so peaceful that you could easily sleep till 10am!
The kitchen and house is well equipped and compared to other rentals it really has a personal feel. Helen can always advise you on local activities. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone for a luxury stay in the lakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and your first visit to the Lakes, it really is a beautiful area, and lots to do.
I am glad you liked the house, it has been a balance between providing all the comforts, without losing the character, so good to know we are achieving that.
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Littleborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful farm House in a stunning location”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I have just come back from a fantastic weekend staying at Hagg end Farm house celebrating my husbands 50th Birthday. There were 10 of us that stayed and i can honestly say that there were plenty of room for all of us, We did not feel crowded at all, In fact we stayed in on the Saturday night and had a BBQ which we brought inside and eat at the very large table in the kitchen, We found the farm house to be very homely and full of character and Helen was extremely welcoming and gave us some great tips about the local area. We hired a taxi on a couple of occasions to take us into Bowness which was a 10 minute drive away and found the taxi firm to be very reasonable.
There were plenty of room for all 5 cars to park outside and our 3 dogs loved exploring around the house.
We would all recommend staying here and would love to do it all again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind words, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I noted you sat out on the lawn one night and that me think it would be nice to have some chairs there too, to catch the early evening sun. So thank you for that idea and I will look for some suitable ones.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sister_of...
east midlands
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hagg End was in a great location for instant access to footpaths and great walks. The scenery is just stunning. The cottage itself was nice and obviously well restored but I didn't really feel relaxed while we were there due to quirks of the house. The lounge, although spacious is very dark on one side due to the layout of the room, feels like you need to have the lights on even when it's bright sunshine outside, it's just not the environment you want for chilling out when you get back from a walk. The kitchen is a lovely light room but there's only so long you can sit on hard wooden chairs. It's well stocked with all the equipment you need to cook big meals, though a lot of it needed washing before use, thank goodness there was a dishwasher!

From the descriptions on the website I thought there would be more of a confined grassy outside space for our little boy to expend some energy, but although there are wonderful walks on your doorstep there isn't really much of a garden to speak of, there is a gravelled area on one side of the house then a raised grass area, mostly taken up with the trampoline. He did love that trampoline though! Beds and pillows were comfy enough and bathrooms were fine, fab shower in the double ensuite with bath. Curtains are pretty light apart from the twin room at the top of the stairs, this is where the baby slept luckily.

There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance, the Wild Boar (very good but book on your way past!) and the Watermill in Ings. Last thing to mention, we only really got good WiFi signal in the kitchen, it was pretty much non-existent in the lounge, could do with a booster or something given there's no mobile signal.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Thank you for your comments, all feed back is welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing