We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed again at the Cragwood this weekend. The dogs absolutely love it there. A fantastic location on the shores of Winderemere. We have not been before in July so it was lovely to see the gardens in full bloom. The gardens and surrounding area is well looked after by the gardener. The food is good in the restaurant and the staff are friendly. The location is probably the best thing about the hotel. They have a good selection of rooms and we always have a lovely spacious room looking over the gardens. We will be back again in September.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 998 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

My wife and I know the lake district well, having grown up in the area. The Cragwood fitted the bill for us, as it was in the National Park, and handy for all the sights.

The hotel met our every expectation. Our room was simple but roomy and clean with a lovely comfy queen size bed, and overlooked the lake - what a view! The staff at the hotel couldn't do enough to make our stay successful, and helped out with anything we needed. The food is exquisite - we have not tasted food that has so much flavour and is entirely home-made, it was absolutely wonderful.

Would we stay again - you bet we would! If anyone wants a simple hotel (ie no gym, pool, sauna etc) but great accommodation, then look no further.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank algbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

just come home from another fantastic three days at cragwood.the hotel is a credit to all the people that work there.fantastic value for money,simple luxury nothing to much trouble.room immaculate,bathroom quite small in our room this time but quite adequate.what would you expect from an arts ands crafts house of this age thankyou

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank 40mf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Well situated for Windermere and the surrounding beautiful countryside we enjoyed a 3 night stay here with excellent food, comfortable rooms and although it´s just off the very busy main road it IS quiet and peaceful. Philip´s attention to detail is spot on. Always cheerful and ready to offer tips on trips, routes, days out he also made us feel very much at home.
The gardens and views were so breathtaking you really don´t need to tour around and sit in traffic jams to see the area. Just stay here and you have it all.
Philip my recommendation: get a professional photographer in to show off the grounds and views - sell yourself a little better. One wouldn´t know from the website just how good and well situated the place is !!
Tanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

we had a nice stay in this simple hotel, staff was nice, location very convenient and the grouns well kept. the rooms are a bit basic but i think everything is a good match for hte price you pay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shera1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
3.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.6 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
6.1 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
802 reviews
0.9 km away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
1.1 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: €128 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing