We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
338
115
16
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
115
16
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake district on arrival king size room guest house box of chocolates warm welcome train station minute walk pubs and restaurants breakfast was excellent a lovely place to stay busy road eggs benedict tea and coffee making facilities stayed for nights would stay again local area
Filter
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Superb accommodation! and very friendly staff making you feel so welcome!
On arrival at the Ravensworth Guest House, we were greeted by Nick who was very polite and showed us to our room straight the way. We then had a nice hot cuppa tea and gorgeous Lemon drizzle cake to make us feel welcome! after a 5 hour journey we really appreciated it! it was yummy!
we were given a talk about the hotel breakfast times etc and also the about the free wifi and internet access via a computer kept there in the lounge area, along with a wide selection of dvds for viewing in your room.
He explained to us in great detail regarding the local area and all the local attractions that are near by too which helped loads.
Our room was lovely, furnished well and the shower room was beautiful! very modern and stylish! all the little thoughts like the tea coffee biscuits and bathroom items was free of charge to use and got replaced if used.. the little touches make such an impact!
Large choice of breakfast menu to choose from which was served in a beautiful conservatory. A La Carte Breakfast style menu =)
As this place was only a short walk to local shops and amenities, it made it very convenient, no need for the use of transport! only a 20-30 min walk to the main lake windermere too, not far at all! Shops were merely around the corner, not even 5 minutes away!
I will definitely be recommending this place to friends!
This has to be one of the nicest places I have stayed for a long time!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Kathryn M, Thank you for your review and for going into so much detail about everything that we offer our guests during their stay here with us. It's always a great feeling when we receive reviews like this which not only means that we are doing our job properly, but it also gives future guests an idea of what we do here too. Many Thanks and we hope to see you again soon. Nick & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

easy to find, just 3-5 minutes to rail station. capacious and comfortable room, compared with other hotel rooms which i stayed in the same price, its room is very clean and tidy. i noticed the teakettle and cups had not any dust and clean inside. free nice breakfast, many choice and can be ordered. Holder Nick is very friendly, did a lot introduction about lake district to me. Thankful.
and just a small problem, the vehicle on the main road wake up too early. : )

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chen Yi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Chen, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you saw a lot of our beautiful countryside. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future. Nick & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We were greeted at the door by Nick with a big smile vey welcoming after along drive.Our rooms were comfy,spotless and well thought out.The breakfasts were something else,set you up for the day.All the staff were so friendly and helpfull.Situated very close to some lovely individual shops in the village.We walked down to the lake for our cruise,quite a walk but well worth it.The lakeland store was just around the corner.We will be back!!!Excellent congratulations Nick and Cheryl and all your staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more natural light.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzyCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you OzzyCotswolds for your review and we are delighted that had an enjoyable stay with us. It's good to know that you had he opportunity to go on the lake and visit that fantastic Lakeland shop just up the road from us. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at this great hotel. Nick & Cheryl were very welcoming and always pleasant. We were greeted by Cheryl who had a warm drink and cake ready for when were settled in our room ! They explained the area to us and all the great places to eat / visit. The rooms & bathroom was spotlessly clean ! the breakfast was superb quality and very well presented ! Every thing about our stay was perfect ! Can not find one negative about the stay and will be booking here in future !!!
Chris & Alison Wickett

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wicky1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Chris & Alison, Thnak you so much for your review and comments. We appreciate you taking the time to pass on your thoughts to future guests. The tea and cakes always go down well, especially after a long journey here. We look forward to seeing you both again here soon. Nick & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have had four nights at this great hotel where Nick and Cheryl did everything to make our stay absolutely delightful. We were greeted by Cheryl who told us all what we needed to know about the hotel and the area when we arrived and made us a cup of tea. There are lots of little extra touches, ie a dvd library as well as books. The breakfasts are pretty good too and the staff are so friendly and helpful. I would have no qualms about recommending this delightful establishment and If returning to the Lake District for another break, I wouldn't stay anywhere else

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jainine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2012

Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure having you both stay with us and we are delighted that you had such a successful stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope that it isn't too long before we see you here again. Nick & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews