We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast: Curate's Egg WIth No Yoghurt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Breakfast: Curate's Egg WIth No Yoghurt”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

It is painful to write this in a way. But I have to be honest. This is a marvellous hotel in many ways. My partner and I had a wonderful weekend, helped by the glorious weather. But there were lapses which were so serious that I feel I must qualify the excellent reviews given by others.

First the good points. The staff and owners were exceptionally kind and helpful. The rooms and public areas are comfortable and attractive.It is easy to relax. The food is very well prepared. We had dinner on three nights andm despite the comments I will make below, the food itself was excellent. One dish I had, a carrot veloute soup with langoustine ravioli, was quite simply brilliant. Ziggy behind the bar is a star, with great understanding of wine. The young pastry chef took great pains, under direction from the owners, to prepare delicious desserts specially formulated to meet my needs as a diabetic.This included a fantastic diabetic souffle specially made for me. All of this is deeply appreciated.

But how was it that a hotel of this standard ran out of yoghurt at breakfast, so that a waiter, to his overt discomfort, had to tell the couple at the next table that he could not complete their order? He wondered whether they would like fruit instead. This was not the only occasion on which the hotel ran out of ingredients.The dinner menu is enticing but short. There is a special starter each evening and a special fish main course. On night 2 the kitchen ran out of the fish special (bream). A small luxury hotel should have treated this as a warning to the wise and moved heaven and earth to respond. But on night 3.the fish special (cod) ran out again. This was serious for me as my diabetic diet means that I eat alot of fish and I had already tried the bass on the main menu. I decided to break my diet as a special treat and have the pork dish which I had been secretly coveting all weekend, But that had run out as well. These failings, combined with an emphasis on root vegetables, cheaper cuts of meat such as cheek and fishes from the mid price range made us wonder whether the kitchen had an adequate budget.

The service in the restaurant is enthusiastic but lacks direction. It is too slow (especially at breakfast). There needs to be better coordination and training. On all three evenings when we ordered wine we asked at the outset that it should be poured with our main course. Yet before that was served we were asked five or six times by different members of staff whether we would like our wine poured straightaway. This was well intentioned but irritating. When we ordered jerusalem artichoke, our very kind and helpful waitress asked whether we had had the artichoke before only for it become clear that she had no notion of the difference between a jerusalem and a globe.

I hope this is constructive. This is an expensive hotel and although it has a nice position, it lacks spectacular views. It needs to be perfect. We would go again. But I would hope to see a significant improvement in the areas which disappointed us this time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Anthony,

Thank you for your review. It is very fair comment - we did run out of a lot of things, and don't feel that we were up to standard on this. It is sometimes difficult to judge on the quantities and here we clearly didn't get it right. We're really sorry it wasn't good, the incredible weather had brought out a lot more people and as a result we found ourselves caught short.

The menu you had during your stay was the winter menu (hence the root veg); the beef cheek is served with fillet, and the fish vary (although cod is no longer inexpensive!). The new spring/summer menu begins on 9th April.

Your comments regarding the restaurant service are also fair. We do spend a lot of time and effort on training yet clearly didn't deliver on various aspects.

You are absolutely right that we didn't get it right that weekend. Please trust us, we will.

Kind regards,
Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    132
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
115
1,025
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Top hotel. Top staff. Top food. 5 star all the way!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Top review! Thank you so much, hope to see you again soon. Zoe x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This small but perfectly formed hotel ticks all the boxes. We enjoyed fabulous food, in comfortable surroundings, with excellent service, a really relaxing environment. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at Gilpin and the attention to detail at breakfast and dinner all add to the experience. We had a jnr. suite with a lovely view of the lamas. The décor throughout the hotel is luxurious, interesting and well thought out.

This is a lovely location just a few minutes in the car from Lake Windermere, with beautiful views everywhere you look and lots of photo opportunities. We would definitely recommend this hotel for a special occasion or just when your feeling like you need to be pampered.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked lovely on the website - we choose Thirlmere which had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infotourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your lovely post - attention to detail is one of our raison d'etres, and we are lucky to have great staff. We all take great pride in what we do, and genuinely enjoy striving to get it right, so thank you for letting us know when we do! Zoe x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We traditionally go for a weekend blowout in Majorca for our company board meeting, however this year we decided to try somewhere closer to home. The Lakes are just over an hour from home, and our 'Tripadvisor Friend' told us about Gilpin Lodge. We trust their opinion and booked our weekend away.

We were greated at the main house by Taryn, a delightful lady, who checked us in in seconds, and arranged to meet us at our garden suite. By the time we had driven to the garden suites, and parked, she was already there waiting for us. The garden suites are above the main hotel building and have recently been built.

We were booked into Sergeant Mann, which we chose since it is very private. The suites closer to the front entrance are apparently less private.

The room was beautifully furnished with a super king bed, sofa, desk and chairs. All swish and new. Between the bedroom/lounge area and the bathroom is a dressing area which has a huge cupboard that has a mini bar in it plus kettle etc on top. Plenty of wardrobe space and safe.

The bathroom is huge, with large walk-in shower, massive bath, fluffy robes and slippers. Molton Browne products (large bottles!).

Through the patio doors in the bedroom is the deck, which has two wooden sun loungers, coffee table and a hot tub. The beauty of this area is that it is totally private, with only the hotel lamas for company! They are over a fence though.

We had booked dinner for 8.30, so were advised that our pre dinner drinks and canapes were ready from 7.30 in the bar.

You enter the hotel through the rear, walking past a few of the standard rooms, and down the stairs to the drawing room and bar area. All very muted creams and greens with plush sofas and antiques. It is fairly formal and we had ensured that we dressed appropriately - I would not have felt massively comfortable without a jacket, or at least a freshly pressed shirt. Mrs M-B was in a suitable dress.

They make a good margarita and served a beautifully chilled Lake District lager. Canapes were intricate and delicious.

We had opted for dinner, bed and breakfast, so it was pretty straight forward on the ordering. I think that we had beef, duck, lamb and pork over the two nights but cannot really remember! The menu was the same for both nights and the choice is not massive, but we were more than happy. We also chose the wine that went accompanied each dish.

Again, I cannot remember exactly what wine we had, but I do recall it being EXCELLENT! The chief wine man, Ziggy, is obviously hugely passionate about his wines. He comes and tells you about every wine, in detail, when it arrives. I feel that his patter may be wasted slightly on everyone, but I loved it.

The staff are not what make Gilpin Lodge, since the hotel, rooms, food and wine speak for themselves, but I do think that the staff definately diserve a mention. I think I worked out who the owners were, who were very welcoming, but all the staff clearly were proud of Gilpin Lodge and proud to work there (something that cannot be said about other hotels in the Lakes, or elsewhere!). They do not rush around after you because that is their job, they just seem to provide excellent service because that is what they do. I liked it and other hotels should learn from them.

After dinner we retired to the hot tub for a night cap or two and a cigar. Very civilised. Very private.

We had breakfast the following morining fairly late - we arrived just before ten, but didn't finish until pretty much eleven. Breakfast is very good. I had poached haddock with a hollandaise sauce on a muffin - a first!

We had booked into the spa, which is at the MacDonald Hotel in Windermere. This is an arrangement that Gilpin Lodge have for their guests. Mrs M-B had a facial while I went for a run on a treadmill and watched the rugby. It kind of makes you appreciate how good Gilpin Lodge is when you go to the MacDonald spa. It is nice enough but basic, although they do have a funky fusion shower (or something like that) that had different coloured lights and aromas!

Mrs M-B said the facial was poor, as was her therapist.

We then had a mad dash to the Sharrow Bay hotel on Ullswater for afternoon tea. We were late but it was good. I would recommend it - even at £25 per person. We drank alot of tea and many cakes, all beautifully presented. Great view over Ullswater from the tables (all by windows!). Unfortunately Mrs M-B started feeling ill from the moment we left.

We returned to Gilpin Lodge for a late afternoon nap - at least Mrs M-B did, I sat in the hot tub ready her new Louise Bagshaw novel!

We had a repeat of the previous nights drinks and dinner, but cut short due to wife illness. The staff were all very concerned - especially as we had to leave dinner before desert.

The following day we had breakfast in bed - awesome - particularly as I accidently ordered two breakfasts, by mistake. The best sausages I have had in a long time.

Reception buzzed us and asked what time we would like to leave - check out is at eleven and they were more than happy for us to check out at twelve. In fact we didn't leave until half tweleve. Absolutely no problem.

We paid our bill and departed.

Conclusion - Excellent. We will come back next year and get our desert!

You cannot really fault a hotel like this. Everything is done so well. Someone did manage to put a round of drinks onto our tab by mistake, but this was quickly refunded onto my card - I didn't notice until after I had paid.

On the second night someone forgot to bring out the wine to accompany my pre-appertiser. I din't notice until my starter came with the wrong wine. Ziggy immediately noticed but it caused all sorts of confusion - obviously throwing all the next course wines out of sync. It was actually quite amusing since they clearly have a very slick wine pouring strategy and are not used to mistakes!

After we departed we went for a wander round Windermere - went shopping and ate fish and chips on a park bench - back to reality - ha ha!

Total cost was about £1200 for two nights all in. Cheaper than Majorca and home in an hour - bliss.

Room Tip: Garden Suites at the back are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheYoungLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, and for taking the time for such detail! Firstly apologies for the mistakes that were made, and another thank you for your understanding - things do occassionally go awry, and if they do we always put our hands up! We have 2 options for spa at the main hotel, either at the Old England or also we have therapists that come to your room to do treatments, perhaps this might be preferable? As always your comments will be read by all the staff, so Ziggy and Taryn will bask in the particular mentions! To us the staff do make Gilpin - the decor, location, food and wine can be perfect, but without the people it would be impossible to create the atmosphere that we have. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon. Zoe x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. Both times we have visited we have stayed in a Garden Suite (with a hot tub - well worth paying the extra!) and both rooms (Haystacks and Cat Bells) are beautifully decorated with lovely attention to detail.

The food is wonderful. We enjoyed lunch, dinner and breakfast and for each meal we couldn't understand why Gilpin does not have a Michelin star?! The service was very attentive and professional but not at all stuffy. We liked that the staff were friendly and approachable - all made us feel very welcome.

We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Book a garden suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kt_proud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you, your review is very kind - and we're so glad you are returning, it really is the biggest compliment. I particularly love your comment about not being stuffy, this is something we specifically aim for! We look forward to seeing you again. Zoe x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
3.5 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.4 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
376 reviews
7.4 km away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,429 reviews
6.1 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
972 reviews
9.8 km away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing