We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,229)
Filter reviews
1,229 results
Traveller rating
839
233
85
46
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
839
233
85
46
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding venue boat house stunning views small wedding wedding breakfast lake district main building beautiful hotel perfect setting second to none log fire from start to finish couldn't do enough afternoon tea underfloor heating many thanks evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 1,229 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Stayed at Langdale for 2 nights for a family wedding (very popular wedding venue) An have to say completely blown away by the grandness of the who hotel, built in the 19th Century it has retained a lot if its character. Check in smooth and easy. Room..huge, bathroom..huge! with a small balcony..and fantastic views over the lake.
The hotel food is proper, genuine, fine, fantastic tasty grub. Cannot fault, even the wedding breakfast and dinner provided was exquisite.
Hotel staff very friendly and attentive.
Not the cheapest in the area but worth it for the views.

Room Tip: Go for lake view rooms
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trooper777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review following your recent stay at the hotel for a friends wedding. I am so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects that the hotel has to offer.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Had a lovely meal here on 11th April, Fish & Chips were delicious, worth the wait! perfect views of the lake and beyond. Enjoyed looking round the hotel, full of character, nice to come back after nearly forty years, it has hardly changed (apart from the staff!) made my day seeing it again!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ydc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal at the Hotel. We hope you won't leave it another 40 years until you visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Langdale Chase in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Attended a wedding at Langdale Chase, the hotel is stunning inside and was a lovely day. Amazing views of Lake Windermere from our room and at breakfast. Shower in room was very disappointing though could not get it to run warm it was either scolding or cold! Overall had a lovely stay and would go back.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding day and our beautiful Hotel and lakeside grounds. Thank you for drawing our attention to the problem with the shower, please be assured that our mainenance team have rectified this. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We were married here 19 years ago this month and we return several times a year .....not always staying but just to visit and take lunch and just remember the lovely day we had all those years ago....the rooms are wonderful and room 2 which we love the most has such wonderful views.
If you are ever looking for a venue for a wedding look no further than the truly beautiful place....but don't tell too many people !!! It's our secret OK ....
Over the years the hotel has held little events for an organisation my wife and I run for parents who have lost children to Cancer and other illnesses...we can never thank them enough....last year I asked them to light a candle for all the children at Christmas....they lit 100 ....they made so many people happy.
Ian and Jenny

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your visit to the hotel for lunch. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the charity work we do, this is always something which we love to support here at the hotel. I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

A 3 night break in 3 star hotel but 1st in location .Excellent staff ,wonderful room with breathtaking view over lake.Lounge a little dull,furniture uncomfortable but dining room and conservatory excellent.Fantastic sunsets each evening ,immaculate grounds with walks along lake side .We enjoyed drinks on the terrace admiring the wonderful scenery in lovely sunshine in March !!!! .We will hopefully return to the Langdale Chase soon.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe room with lake view
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mary56cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you for your recent review following your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, but you found the lounge furniture uncomfortable and dull, We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews