We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay.”
Old Codgers Cottage dating back to 1847 right in the centre of Windermere
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Codgers Cottage dating back to 1847 right in the centre of Windermere
Old Codgers Cottage front Old Codgers Cottage cosy lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Old Codgers Cottage dating back to 1847 right in the centre of Windermere
Old Codgers Cottage front
Old Codgers Cottage cosy lounge
Old Codgers Cottage cosy lounge
Old Codgers Cottage new fitted kitchen
Old Codgers Cottage Master Bedroom
Old Codgers Cottage Second Bedroom
Old Codgers Cottage Shower Room
Old Codgers Cottage Garden
Wastwater from Great Gable
Buttermere & Crummock Water from Haystacks
Ullswater from St Sunday crag
Ashness Bridge Borrowdale
Castlerigg Stone Circle
House On The Bridge Ambleside
Lake Windermere from Fellfoot Park
Conniston Water
Lake Windermere from Bowness
Lake Windermere from Lakeside
Windermere Town Centre
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Sixpence1...
Swansea Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Have stayed at Old Codgers before. It is clean and cosy and has everything you could possibly need. Good supply of books DVDs Angel games. A few minutes from the shops and restaurants but in a quiet side street. Parking permit provided.
Fab "little choppy" opposite the cottage too.n
Would definitely stay again and recommend as it is dog friendly and has a small enclosed garden.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Dear Mrs Tanner, Thank you for your review and kind words, its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Old Codgers cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.
Many thanks and best regards Clive & Rose at Windermere cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ourkaren
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dog friendly & Lovely little cottage in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We specifically booked this cottage because we could take our little Jack Russell. It's located right in the centre of Windermere town and is very easy to find. The communication from the owners was spot on. When we arrived we were delighted with every aspect of the cottage. It caters for all the guest's needs and the enclosed garden is perfect for dogs.
The chip shop directly across the road was fabulous and all the other local shops were quaint and brilliant.
I would recommend this cottage and would return anytime!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
carole s
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“out of this world”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

this cottage has to seen to be believed, it is brilliant, right in the middle of town, you couldnt get any nearer, ..... The cottage itself is FULLY equiped... comfy.. in fact home from home.... warm, local, everything you could wish for..... I cannot fault this cottage (if I won the lottery I would make an offer) lol.... The housekeeper has to be recommended because when we arrived the cottage was spotless, smelt brilliant.... thank you so much.... we will be returning ... thank you so much also loads of local info.... BRILLIANT

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: cant complain about anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedaboy
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay at old codgers cottage in windemere”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had a great stay at this lovely cottage, spotless throughout, great location, parking outside the cottage, close to bus routes, handy for bars and restaurants, and fantastic chip shop across the street, lots of local info. Lovely welcome gift which was much appreciated.
First visit to the lake district, will definitely not be our last. Would definitely stay there again.
Ted & Anita from Oxfordshire

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing