We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B'n'B I've visited in a while!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Absolutely loved it here. We visited February 2017 and booked a room for 2 nights. Exceptional value with Breakfast included; which was excellent. We were given room 7 - Constant. Lovely decor...until you opened the bathroom which looked completely different. I suppose the owners hadn't got round to updating it yet. Nonetheless it had everything you needed in it and it was clean. Can't complain.
The owners were welcoming and friendly and gave us advice on what to see, visit, where to eat etc. The location is amongst houses but is in-between Bowness-on-Windermere and Windermere (centre). You could walk to both although we considered Bowness slightly closer. If you're driving, the parking there is a little treacherous and scary! It's very hilly and is narrow road so just be wary.The decor was lovely and quirky. The breakfast has won awards and you can see why. They have a classic menu and a decent continental spread.
I would stay here again. Thanks for our stay.

Room Tip: Bring walking boots!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my boyfriend, after a family wedding and totally fell in love with the place! Loved the vintage decor and quirky accessories such as the top hats and jelly molds for lampshades!

The breakfast was absolutely delicious, cooked to perfection and lots of choice, I also loved the fact that there was a cafe tierre in our room with rum doodles own coffee, this was such a nice touch, with fresh milk constantly available from the dining area. This was such a lovely treat, as most b&bs just provide Nescafé with uht milk.

Our room was really comfortable and cosy with a big comfortable 4 poster bed, and I liked the way the entrance to our bathroom was what looked like a secret wardrobe! there where also a selection of books on the window sill, one of them being Rum doodle the novel, the inspiration behind the hotel.

The owners of the b&b where so lovely, very friendly and helpful, everyone who worked there was lovely and and always happy to help and chat to us about the surrounding area and give directions.

We really enjoyed our stay here, such a great atmosphere with lists of character, I would highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dollygirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina-Rum-Doodle, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

As with other reviews we stayed in the ground floor room which is very disappointing compared to the photos of some of the brighter upper rooms. The Lakes obviously get a lot of grey wet weather and so it was very dark and there wasn't a lot of space to relax in the room, or a sitting room where you could relax after a long walk. The bathroom was very old and in poor repair. We were recommended the B&B by a friend so we're a bit disappointed.

Breakfast was nice and service was friendly. After breakfast there wasn't really anyone visibly around so if you need assistance with anything it is best to speak to someone at breakfast.

I'd recommend booking early and making sure they have an upper room.

It is a nice quiet spot and being half way between Bowness and Windermere means you can easily walk to either for dinner.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DrPwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

To be fair, I have never stayed in a B&B before this experience...it was lovely!! We were met at the door by the new owner, offered wine and snacks as soon as we walked in- that was a touch! We had a lovely chat with the owner and felt very welcome and comfortable throughout our stay. Breakfast was delicious each morning, the bed was comfortable and the room was equipped with everything you could need during your visit. We will definitely be planning another stay here again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina-Rum-Doodle, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hi Julianne,

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you. We're so glad to hear you had a good stay & your first introduction to a B&B was a good one! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

My partner and i stayed here for 2 nights and were blown away. So we will defiantly be returning next time we are in the area.

Emma and Greg the owners are so lovely and frienly along with the other staff they had help out over breakfast. .

We booked in advance and had a choice of several rooms but we decided to stay in room 5 'wish' it was very cute and quirky. The bed was a 4 poster bed and was very comfortable, the room had an ensuite, which was abit on the small side but for a shower it was fine.

The breakfast was delicious and there was lots to chose from, tea, coffee, juice, cereal and a varity of freshly cooked breakfast was also available.

The B&B is in a great location away from the main road and only a short walk to Windermere or Bowness, where there are plenty of shops and eateries.

Again only a short walk down to the lake, where you can then slip off down many of the walk ways and get exploring or take a boat round the lake.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.6 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
1 km away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
1.4 km away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 107 in Windermere
408 reviews
0.9 km away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: €66 - €124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing