We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2017

We were up in Windermere for two nights and were very much looking forward to our stay at the Rum Doodle. We were shown to our room on the ground floor which was okay but rather drab. We were extremely disappointed with the bathroom which was shabby to say the least and was just generally below standard. The room had also not been cleaned properly as we found things under the bed that must have belonged to a previous guest

The breakfast was okay but I wouldn't say it was as fantastic as some of the reviewers had said.

Room Tip: Don't have the room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2017

We had a lovely and comfortable stay at Rum Doodle! I love that vintage and English feel. I am from Asia and the stay here felts a little different from the usual stay we get living in the city. It gives a nostalgic essence to it and it felt like home too. Both Emma & Greg were such a great host! Everything was so well-organised and well thought of. You have all the information you need to visit Lake District at Rum Doodle! There are DVDs available if you want to watch some movies at night. I love the breakfast every morning too! It was home made and tastes really good. I would absolutely recommend anyone who is visiting Windermere to book a stay here at Rum Doodle.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PotatoSpinach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Myself and my partner stayed here for 2 days and was a lovely experience, the room was quirky and the roll top bath added such a different feel compared to most standard rooms you get. The breakfast was stunning and the pancakes come highly recommended i must say alongside the ginger cake which is spectacular. Overall a lovely place and would defiantly stay again

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights over bank holiday, Emma was very organised in arranging check in even though she wasn't in - then treated us to tea and cake (which was delicious) when she returned. The rooms were unique and we liked the wine glasses and dressing gowns as an added touch, the bed was very comfortable and we slept great after long walks in the Lake District!
This b&b is in the best location between Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere and parking is no problem. The highlight was definitely the breakfasts though, as reviews have mentioned the blueberry pancakes are amazing!! As is the porridge, and the ladies serving are all lovely and attentive.
Would definitely recommend :D

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sarah271093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

My wife and I visited for 3 nights in February 2017- a Valentine's celebration in Windermere.
The owner was absolutely lovely, couldn't have asked for better.
The room was absolutely gorgeous, filled with quirky furniture and artifacts.
The house itself is beautiful, very clean with gorgeous decor.
The breakfasts were some of the best we've ever had, and we travel a lot.
My particular favorite was the porridge, we've attempted to recreate it at home and sadly it's nowhere near as good as Rum Doodles.
Rooms are en suite with a shower and bath. Lovely bed linen, cosy, very clean room.
We even had a visit from little Tiger - very handsome resident cat.
Fantastic in every way, highly recommend. We will be back xx

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TLGibson69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.6 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
1 km away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
1.4 km away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 107 in Windermere
408 reviews
0.9 km away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: €66 - €124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing