We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic way to discover the treasures of the Lake District”

Mountain Goat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.39*
and up
Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from...
Ranked #2 of 12 Tours in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 40 years experience of the Lake District, the Mountain Goat is nationally and internationally recognised by many coach and tour operators as their first and foremost Lake District tour specialist. From Holidays and Short Breaks to half-day and full-day guided mini-coach tours; this is the ideal way to explore the spectacular scenery of the Lake District and beyond.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to discover the treasures of the Lake District”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We booked a half day tour to experience the wonderful delights of the area. Our driver (Peter Fox) made our journey very enjoyable with his knowledge of the area. Travelling in a mini bus allowed Peter to venture up in to the hills where a coach would not be able to.
There are so many different trips you can choose from, and whenever we get to return to the Lakes we will definitely use Mountain Goat Tours again to discover other areas.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mark529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    100
    13
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basehor, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Introduction to Lake District”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We took the "Tour A - 10 Lakes Spectacular" and thoroughly enjoyed it! The tour van picked us up and dropped us off right at our front door, exactly at the appointed time. The van was comfortable with great visibility, made frequent and convenient stops, and the guide was excellent. Our tour guide, Tony, was friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable. He gave interesting insights into what we were seeing, yet was wise enough to occasionally remain silent and, in his words, "let the scenery speak for itself." A great combination for any guide!

We especially enjoyed the included boat excursion on Derwent Water.

If you are only making a brief stay in the Lake District, or if you want a good overview in one day to map out what to see in more detail later, this tour is a great experience. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank KC_USA_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They really look after their customers.”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had booked two tours with Mountain Goats, on two consecutive days, and arranged to be picked up at the caravan park where we planned to stay. Then we found the caravan park was booked out. We rang Mountain Goats, and the lady in the office went out of her way to find out for us what other caravan parks there were in the vicinity, even to the point of going herself to the tourist information place to check on the caravan parks. We were trying to find accommodation on a mobile phone and in the end there were frequent calls to the Mountain Goats office. I wouldn't have blamed her one bit if she had got a bit sick of our calls, but she was always pleasant and helpful.

Accommodations were eventually sorted out, and we went on our tours. Different drivers each day, but both very friendly and informative. On the second day three different couples weren't ready when he arrived to pick them up, but he took it all in his stride.

The tours are well planned, with appropriate comfort stops, a variety of scenery, plenty of photo stops, both planned and some on request, and in the middle of the tour a break from the bus with mostly a lake cruise, but on one tour a mini train ride.

On top of that the tour cost is very reasonable. It doesn't include lunch, though on the first tour we did have morning tea. However, lunch stops are planned in places where there is a variety of choice, and sufficient time is given for the meal.

We thoroughly enjoyed our tours, and would happily recommend Mountain Goats to our friends. They do look after their passengers.

JanB

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jansmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic extensive ride through the Lake district”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Mountain Goat tours offer a range of tours of the beautiful Lake District in UK. We chose the "All day 10 lake" tour and were picked up at our accommodation - very convenient - on time and dropped back there after 7 hours of touring. We covered all the major sites and were able to spend time on our own at some. Our driver, Anne, was extremely competant, friendly and well informed. We were safely driven to places we would never have been game enough to drive ourselves, along some narrow, steep but beautiful roads. All in all an unforgettable day and really good value. Thank you Anne

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mareeread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent tours and Guides”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Unlike the previous reviewer we have found the guides/drivers of the Mountaih Goat Tours most helpful. This was our third trip, having done the Ten Lakes and the High Adventure previously. This time we did the Southern Lakes Cartmel Village and Hoker Hall. Our guide Gerry,was full of local knowledge and went out of his way to ensure all on the tour were catered for. The other trips were amazing because of the high climbs and this one went through the "Damson Valley" which in itself has some wonderful scenery and many places of interest.
I personally would recommend the trips and look forward to doing more next year.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank roberta00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Goat Tours also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Mountain Goat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing