We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$317
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elleray(Windermere)
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$404
US$370
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Windermere(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$201
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
St John's Lodge(Windermere)
US$189
US$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
4
4
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
4
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed recently in Birch Cottage and overall had a really lovely time. The cottage is well presented with some lovely touches such as fresh plants and flowers and well decorated for a cottage rental. It was very clean when we arrived and we were shown straight in despite being a bit early.
My husband is in a wheelchair and unable to walk and we managed fairly well in the week. The cottage is a little tight for space but it is an old building and they have done well to make it accessible and to keep the character. Without major extensions there isn't much else they could do. We brought our own shower chair / commode from home as this is a requirement for us but they did have a shower stool we could have borrowed. Also one of the beds is adjustable which really helped us.
The cottage is up a steep hill but we walked down quite easily and on a couple of occasions did venture down and back with the wheelchair which was a struggle but we managed between us. Parking in the evening is really easy when venturing out to one of the many restaurants for a meal and we always found a disabled space.
We found everyone very welcoming and hospitable and were left to manage ourselves pretty much. The gardens are really beautiful and the old house lovely.
As a family we enjoyed our restful time here and felt as if we had a good break in a stunning part of the country.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed in Claife which is a self-contained apartment on the 1st floor. It has a modern, well equipped kitchen with large windows overlooking the garden, a table and 2 retro style leather arm chairs. There is a large bathroom with a modern walk-in shower and large bath with a separate toilet.

But the bedroom was the centre piece for us. It is a huge room with high ceilings, a modern four poster bed with beautiful bed linen, lots of cupboard space and another 2 arm chairs facing a another huge bay window looking out onto the secluded rear garden.

The apartment is a good 10 minutes walk from the centre of Bowness up a steep hill so not ideal for everyone but as this was mainly a walking holiday that was not an issue for us. The owner recommended a couple of walks which were right on the doorstep and we used the car ferry (on foot) and did a couple of walks on the other side of the lake so it was a busy week. But no matter how tired we were, just walking into this lovely apartment was a great way to end the day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJMillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed in Claife, which was a beautiful apartment. Overall we were disappointed with the experience: the owner's son (?) was an absolute bore and just would NOT stop talking about the most uninteresting facts and figures of tourism in the area, despite us having just arrived from a 6 hour drive to the Lakes!

Particularly annoying was that we had to retrieve a key to use the laundry facilities, which entailed having to endure a painfully long conversation with the above-mentioned each time we needed it.

Furthermore, we had absolutely no control over the heating of the apartment! With no radiators in the bathroom or toilet, we had to have the towel-warmers on constantly... ! Rather annoying, especially when we were told we had to pay an electricity bill at the end of our stay! We thought this was a tacky addition to an example of 5-star accommodation. We expected our energy usage to have been covered by the price we paid to stay!

Consider other options before coming here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alfred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed for a week. The accommodation is lovely (apart from see below) in a picturesque setting but we wished we had stayed directly in the town. The walk back to the apartment after a day's walking was just too much. After 4 days we ended up taking the car to the town and had to pay £5.50 per day to leave it in the car park. Bowness is great. Lots of good restaurants and bars.
Unfortunately while we were at the apartment, the bath seal was leaking so we had to tolerate lessons from the owners on how much we should fill a bath up and was told that when we sit in it, the bath water rises (thanks!!). First 5 star holiday accommodation we've stayed in where we are only allowed 4 inches of bath water!

Room Tip: We were in the Claife apartment
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Very friendly reception by landlord. Clean tidy and beautifully finished apartment with lovely lake views. up a quite steep hill so not for the disabled or unfit as access is via an outdoor metal stair. we would certainly visit again. lovely romantic setting for honeymoon. halfway between windermere and bowness set in lovely grounds in which deer and lots of birds can be seen. we were left to our own devices and had a very relaxing week.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicvamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews