We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walkers' Paradise”
Review of Glen Rothay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen Rothay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We stayed at the Glen Rothay for 3 nights after reading a recommendation in Trail magazine. Our room, #1, was very spacious with beautiful bay windows and a queen sized, very comfortable, sleigh bed. The bathroom was also large with a walk-in shower and bath with separate mixer taps (ideal for a soak after a long walk!).
Breakfasts were excellent, cooked to order, and dinner, served in a dining room adjacent to the Badger Bar, was superb. Huge portions, ideal for walkers, and all executed perfectly. The fish and chips was just as it should be: crisp chips on the outside, fluffy inside; the batter crispy and golden on the white flaking fish. My husband loved the home made puddings including sticky toffee.
Staff are friendly and helpful and there is plenty of parking. Plus the chance to see badgers being fed in the evening.
The only drawback was the plumbing in our room: it's been mentioned before in reviews. The shower sometimes only gives you boiling hot water. The owner said it is often repaired but then the problem happens again so they will need to take up the flooring. The shower taps on the bath work perfectly well.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hyacinth_bucket2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We called in for our evening meal as we were staying across the road & it was recommended. We had no problem getting a table & was served immediately. The staff were very very friendly & in the ball. We both had steak which was cooked to perfection. Compliments was given to the chef. We then finished our evening at the bar enjoying a glass of wine or two.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Visited Glen Rothay Hotel for 2 nights and what a lovely hotel it was, we had a superior room with ensuite and it was perfect, comfy, clean and very spacious.

The food was great too especially breakfast.
All staff were polite & friendly.

Plenty of things to do and visit, we got a map & let our feet take us, exhausted at the end of the day but worth it to see the beautiful countryside.

Would definitely return and would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing time away.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Malley1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night wish it could have been more as it was so lovely the room was very comfortable and big bathroom with his and hers wash basins ! Staff so friendly and very helpful - food excellent . We shall come again . A must is a visit to Sarah nelsons gingerbread shop - no other gingerbread tastes as good !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Joanbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Just back from a lovely weekend with friends. 3 of us stayed in the cottage (woodlands) and it was spacious and cosy and had everything we needed. Food was great ( breakfast and we had an evening meal) and plentiful. Staff very attentive and friendly. Saw a badger last night too which made my day. Absolutely no complaints and am looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth paying that bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraSherrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rydal
3.2 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,766 reviews
2.2 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.1 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
2.5 km away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
640 reviews
3.3 km away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Rothay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Rothay Hotel

Address: Glen Rothay Hotel Grasmere Road, Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Rydal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Price Range: €87 - €190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Rothay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous Lakeland hotel perfectly located between Ambleside and Grasmere. Huge rooms with 4-poster beds. Woodland and mountain views all around, and a 2 minute walk to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Glen Rothay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Rothay Rydal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing