We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location......”

Lakeside Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #113 of 156 Restaurants in Keswick
Price range: US$1 - US$39
Description: Café by the Lake offers breakfast, lunch and pre-theatre dining in a contemporary setting. By the shores of Derwentwater, it is the perfect place to pick up a coffee before going on the launches, or lunch after a walk by the lake. Well behaved dogs are welcome!
Restaurant details
Description: Café by the Lake offers breakfast, lunch and pre-theatre dining in a contemporary setting. By the shores of Derwentwater, it is the perfect place to pick up a coffee before going on the launches, or lunch after a walk by the lake. Well behaved dogs are welcome!
Reviewed 6 April 2018

But far from perfect service. We visited in the week before Easter hoping for coffee and a hot cross bun. Service was so slow and I would not have wanted to be the customer who ordered two hot chocolates with cream on top which sat on the side for 15 minutes before being delivered to the table - spilt all over the tray with the cream almost completely melted.

Eventually we were served, but there were no hot cross buns just enormous slices of catering pre-bought cakes. Thank goodness the views are so good from the table seating. What a wasted opportunity - we noted that they had recruitment posters in the windows. I am hoping they attracted some effective people for the Easter week.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FullResponse, Manager at Lakeside Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Linda S,

Thank you for your comments we take all service issues seriously but please realise that it is a very busy cafe and sometimes drinks do take a little longer to get out. I am sorry you had a long wait on this occasion.

Hope to see you again.

Regards

The Lakeside team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

We tried to book a table for a pre show meal but nobody answered the phone. So we went early and paid an outrageous car parking charge only to find that despite numerous empty tables which we could see, there was apparently 'no availability' as we were informed by a surly duty manager (6th April). We complained but nobody bothered to get back to us with an explanation

2  Thank dick o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Booked at the theatre restaurant for a pre performance meal. The seating area has all the charm of a bus station but hoped the food might be an improvement. Alas not the 'soup' a heavy tasteless stodge. I didn't think it would be possible to ruin mushy peas and haddock but the miniscule portion of fish was lost in a green sludge with crushed cold potatoes. Considering there were only two parties for food I hate to think what you'd get if it was busy. A truly vile meal. Plenty of better options in the town.

2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Decent hot filled sandwiches and very good coffee. Worth a visit for an easy, tasty lunch.

Also worth popping through on a cold morning to grab a takeaway hot drink and sit by the lake!!

Thank 7409ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FullResponse, Manager at Lakeside Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear 7409ben,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we use a special blended coffee which is unique to us and I am really glad that you enjoyed it.

Regards

The Lakeside team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We use this cafe regularly and have always been 100% delighted. The food is really terrific and the cafe itself is very nicely presented, with fantastic views. Highly recommended.

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FullResponse, Manager at Lakeside Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear David S,

Thank you for the great review, it is much appreciated. Hope to see you again.

The Lakeside team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakeside Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Lakeside Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing