We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 5 The Townhouses

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jimbuchan...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I wish it was as good as the description.”
Reviewed 27 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Fantastic location. Could not be better for pubs, shops, food etc. Great views from upstairs, well decorated and equipped.
However:-
Noisy front bedrooms even with windows closed.
Noisy hall with massive gap under the door. Must be really cold in the winter.
Curtains in front bedroom can only be closed by standing on the window ledge. Bit of an issue when there is a bus stop and street light outside the window.
Outdoor dining area sounds great but it's a crappy table and chairs in a scruffy backyard with no flowers or othe decoration.
Toiletries were minimal when we arrived and we had to complain to get them.
We were locked in the front bedroom on the first night because the latch stuck. Serious fire hazard. Noticed that several others in the house had similar problems. Needs sorting!
Good luck with boiler. We couldn't get it to do what was needed. Had to resort to manually switching it on and off.
No drying facilities was a problem - even in August we couldn't get out towels dry.
Kitchen table sounds great and looks like an old wooden table with metal legs in the pictures. What a disappointment, and the vintage chairs turn out to be tinny and uncomfortable.
Parking is an issue in Keswick with prices in the vicinity of the house charging £16 a day, the lack of parking here could cost 4 couples very dear! Make sure you buy the pass for parking.
Location is so good and we had a great time, despite poor weather. This place could be so good and the response to my complaints was quick and as effective as it could be. There shouldn't have been the need to complain though. At this price we expected better. Felt let down .
.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2018
Dear Jim, thank you very much for taking time to give your helpful feedback on No 5 the Townhouses, which we appreciate. We are delighted that you enjoyed the location, views and decoration of the No. 5 and that you had a great time. We are also really pleased that you found the response from Keswick Cottages quick and effective. This is something we pride ourselves on.

However, we also note your comments on some of the points which you did not enjoy, which we appreciate you sharing with us. Please be assured we take this feedback seriously and are saddened that you did not enjoy your stay at this 4* property as much as our other guests. We will be addressing each of your points carefully.

In respect of the gap under the front door, we will be installing a further draught excluder to meet your concerns. No 5 The Townhouses benefits from a completely new boiler and central heating system throughout which keeps the property toasty in colder weather. Instructions are contained in the welcome pack and for any remaining technical queries about using this lovely new heating system, Keswick Cottages are always on hand to assist our guests. Guests also benefit from a log burning stove in the living room, which adds a lovely extra glow.

In respect of the curtains in the front bedroom, we do not recommend our guests to stand on the window ledge. The windows can be completely covered with the new venetian blinds, which we recommend using first. If guests would like the further use of the curtains, they can be pulled along the curtain poles from floor level. However, we will review the curtain poles to ensure we have addressed your comments.

Unlike many other holiday cottages, all guests at the Townhouses benefit from complimentary Cole & Lewis shampoo, conditioner and hand wash. Regrettably we are unable to offer toiletries beyond this range.

We are addressing your concerns about the latches on the doors as a priority. Please be assured that all of the Townhouses have been inspected and approved by an independent fire assessor. Safety of our guests is paramount. However, we will of course review the latches again in response to your helpful comments to ensure that the high safety standard at these properties is maintained.

In respect of parking, all guests at the Townhouses benefit from a parking permit included free with your stay, which is valid in multiple car parks in Keswick, the nearest being only a short distance from No. 5. A second permit is available to guests with multiple cars for a small extra charge, subject to availability. Alternatively, there is unrestricted street parking nearby.

In respect of drying facilities, we have provided multiple drying racks for guest use in the utility areas and bathrooms. Complimentary towels are provided for our guests. However we note your comments about the request for further drying space and will review appropriately.

We note your feedback about the kitchen table. We can confirm that the table is a quality wooden structure with metal legs, accompanied by colourful vintage metal chairs . These are shown in photos of No. 5. The kitchens have proved popular with many of our guests to dine together on rainy days, as has the private outdoor seating area on warmer days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmlMatfen
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Holiday let in Keswick”
Reviewed 16 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Well equipped and stylishly furnished throughout. Also very clean. However there were a few things which let it down.

The front door's draught excluder is pointless as there is a gap (you can actually see the outdoors) which lets in a huge draught making the house cold. The heating switches off late afternoon so the house is really cold in the evening once the draught has worked its way through the house, we could not work out how to override the heating system.

The house is on the main road into Keswick so lots of traffic noise. Also no parking on site and double yellow lines outside making off loading luggage impossible. There is one permit for the long stay car park down the road, this seems inadequate for a house sleeping 8 unless all arriving in a people carrier! We arrived in 2 cars and had to pay £12 day to use the long stay car park, thank goodness we weren't there for a week!

The fridge wasn't working, to be fair the agency were around straightaway with a small temporary one which was adequate for our needs but its a shame it was not fixed for our arrival.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2018
Dear jmlMatfen, thank for your thoughtful comments on No 5 The Townhouses. We are delighted that you considered the property to be well equipped, stylish and clean.

We note your comment in respect of the front door and will be installing a further draught excluder to meet your concerns. No 5 The Townhouses benefits from a completely new boiler and central heating system throughout with instructions contained in the welcome pack. For any remaining technical queries about using this lovely new heating system, Keswick Cottages are always on hand to assist our guests.

Keswick is a very pretty town which attracts lots of visitors each year. This does generate some traffic, which is the counterbalance to these properties located so centrally. Whilst you are absolutely right that there is no on site parking at No. 5, which is referred to on Keswick Cottages website, the parking permit included free with your stay is valid in multiple car parks in Keswick, the nearest being only a short distance from No. 5. We note your comment about guests with multiple cars and have arranged a second permit to be made available to guests with multiple cars for a small extra charge, subject to availability.

Finally, we are really sorry that the fridge broke immediately before your stay. It is a brand new fridge and is now behaving itself perfectly. We are glad that you were pleased with Keswick Cottages response time, and do hope you find time to return to Keswick soon. Best wishes from No 5 the Townhouses.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanyaclos...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous weekend”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I couldn't recommend 5 The Townhouses enough. Absolutely gorgeous property with plenty of space, we were a party of 6 adults and 2 dogs, great location with everything you could ask for. I can't wait to book our next stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Thank you for the lovely review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break in 5 The Townhouse. We look forward to welcoming you and your family (including the pooches!) back for another stay soon. Keswick Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachel m
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A beautiful house and pet friendly in a central location, perfect.”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I would definately recommend this house and would stay there again. It is a 2 minute walk from the centre of Keswick which is spot on. Pet friendly though still very clean and modern inside. A log burner in the living room which is always a bonus after a lake district walk in the pouring rain. We loved it and would definately stay there again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2018
Dear Rachel, we are delighted that you enjoyed No 5 Townhouses and the convenient location for Keswick town centre. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Keswick Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s j
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here as a group of 7 adults and a dog. There was plenty of room for us all and the house was modern and comfortable. It was within very easy walking distance to the town and was perfect for our stay. The lack of parking wasn't a problem for us, but I could see with small children its a little inconvenient.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to review 5 The Townhouse. Really pleased you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing