We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rowan Tree Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Keswick
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
137
16
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack puddingguest houseb btown centrepowerful hot showergreat bedtop qualitywarm welcomefull englishbeautiful breakfasta great nights sleepfive minute walkfree wifigreat place to staylooking forward to our next visithome from homefour nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We stayed with Paul and Anne for one night on our Land's End to John o'Groats bike ride. We turned up after a day in really heavy rain but Paul happily stored our bikes for us in a secure place and helped us with getting our kit and shoes dried out ahead of the next day. Our room was large and clean with an excellent en suite and there was free WiFi which was useful. The next day we had a fantastic cooked breakfast which set us on our way and Paul even checked that we'd made it to our next destination. Overall an excellent place to stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Good location - close to the centre of Keswick. The rooms were clean and nice and there was plenty of coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cookies. Nice staff. Breakfast was delicious with lots of things to choose from. We especially enjoyed the greek yougurt with fresh berries and fruit

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laura Rishøj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

You know when you look at accommodation in Keswick you are overwhelmed by choice. This one consistently had great reviews and the rooms looked wonderful online.
We booked and with speed we were confirmed and looked forward to the few nights stay.
Anne and Paul greeted us with open arms and warm hearts.
The rooms were more than generous and decorated with amazing taste. The amenities were perfect and the coffee and tea facilities in the rooms were better than any hotel ive stayed in.
The breakfast choice was impeccable and as a chef i can say it was the best one i have eaten at any guest house. I can tell great care was taken in choosing the items for breakfast. From the little french jams to the Stornoway black pudding.

I would highly recommend here to anybody that wants high standard accommodation whether you are there for 1 night or 5. We will be back.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lauren-Miss4L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We were greeted and shown to our room by Paul the owner who has a certain sense of humour which we quickly caught onto, his cooking abilities at breakfast are excellent as we found out, the portions are big so think before you order.. The rooms were clean with large TV's and plenty of hot water from the deluge of a power shower. Handy for Keswick town center. We will be back, excellent value for money !

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 4 are the best but cost slightly more,
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountyDurhamPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Climbing Blencathra via Sharp Edge. Now....for that walk you want the perfect B&B. We found it at the Rowen Tree. Warm welcome, beautifully cooked English breakfast, good sized rooms with en suite shower for the sweaty arrival home. Anne clocked that we'd need to book for dinner Saturday evening. Thank you for anticipating our needs. I heartily recommend this place.
Lois, David n Heather

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank loisleeds2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews