We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
139
16
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black pudding guest house powerful hot shower town centre top quality great bed full english beautiful breakfast a great nights sleep yogurt free wifi quiet area great place to stay four nights comfortable beds breakfast choices cooked to perfection
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Fabulous from initial booking to leaving. Superb hosts. Superb location - get there and leave your car til hometime. Home from home facilities and nothing too much trouble. Breakfasts are superb and keep you going for the day, all made to order just for you. Looking forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank elliottsu2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We stayed at the Rowan tree only for one night and it was excellent .The rooms were very tastefully decorated and everything matched and it was spotless. The breakfast is to die for one of the nicest breakfasts ive had everything is freshly cooked and nothing is too much trouble for the owners and again all the crockery matched (which i think makes all the difference ). I would class this guest house as five stars , we would highly recommend it and will be staying here again in the near future.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Y5082ZCjackiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Had our second stay here over the new year period for 3 nights. Again, everything is just perfect! We got parked quite near even though Keswick was busy. We had the same room as last time (4) and bed, shower, space, refreshments, tele, wifi coverage were all wonderful. Anne & Paul are so friendly and I would put Paul's breakfast against any hotels! Fresh fruit and yogurt (which the Mrs loved), cereals, fresh coffee and options of full english (everything cooked to prefection!) or you can pick some of these items (I went for the poached eggs/mushrooms on toast which were perfect). The location lets you get into Town in less than 5 minutes. Hopefully we'll see you in the summer and loved our stay...again!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Riley044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Lovely welcome from the owner. the bedroom was very clean and the bedding was beautiful, crisp white sheets and a lovely double bed. even in December the room was lovely and toasty warm, it was a lovely nights sleep.
Breakfast was ordered the night before and was just great, with lovely fresh coffee and juices, Anne cant do enough for you, and the guesthouse is so close to the town that it is the perfect choice. Highly recommended. (we got this room cheaper booking direct with the guest house than with those 'hotel search' sites)

Room tip: room 1 is very small but was fine for just one overnight stay
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodolfomimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Having stayed in many hotels and guest houses in Keswick over the years I can honestly say that The Rowan Tree is unbeatable in what matters most - Value For Money. I've stayed here 3 times now and all the rooms are cosy, the showers strong and hot, and the beds fantastic so you get a great nights sleep. Exactly what you need after a long day out on the fells. And in the morning you get a brilliant breakfast to set you on your way again. The eggs. bacon, and sausage are top quality and they have their black pudding shipped in from the Scottish Highlands! Highly Recommended!

Room tip: All rooms are great VFM but rooms 2 & 4 are the biggest and best.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank stevenmdr2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews