We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
158
26
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
26
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hope park on arrival town centre pot of tea mini fridge large selection of fresh fruit tub chairs cooked breakfast top floor friendliest hosts warm welcome parking on site great choice for breakfast large tv full english nothing is too much trouble tea making facilities
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

I cannot fault this little b+b, I received a very warm and friendly welcome and was shown the parking area at the rear.
The room(room 1) was beautiful, stunning views of the mountains through a large bay window.
The decor of the whole place was well thought out and tasteful.
The breakfast was very tasty and the hosts just can’t do enough for you.
I highly recommended this place, cosy, friendly and very good value for money

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ebenezerManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We stayed for two nights and received a warm welcome as we arrived along with a pot of fresh coffee. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. Location is excellent with a 5-minute walk to the Lake in one direction and the town centre to the other. Highly recommended and would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Great access to the lake and town centre
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile


This was the second time that we have stayed at this hotel and we will definitely return again in the future.

The hotel has a fantastic location just minutes outside of the town centre with stunning views over Crow Park and Derwentwater lake.

The service we received was very friendly from the hosts and the breakfasts were amazing.

No complaints from us what so ever

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cosmopolitan801697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

A husband and wife (think) team run this B&B and are so nice and sociable and are trying to look after their guests in the best way possible. Very friendly greeting on arrival, however, parking is on street and is first come / first served. Parking at rear for 2 cars is currently unavailable due to building work being carried out. Shown to our room on top floor, "would you like a pot of tea or coffee" we were asked. Came with chocolate rolls. Fridge in room appreciated, together with 2 bottles of water and a bottle of milk. Although room was advertised as not having a view, I would disagree! view of Skiddaw in impressive. Cooked breakfast is the biggest we have ever seen and very tasty and nicely cooked, so be careful not to take advantage of the offer of an extra egg or sausage.
However, the only drawback is the tiny bathroom, the sort that would fit in our under stairs cupboard. A full sized shower, Loo under a sloping roof and a basin that is the smallest I have ever seen, too small even to wash hands without spilling water onto the floor.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Guis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

I am so glad that we chose this B&B for our first trip to the Lake District! We were welcomed with a pot of fresh coffee on our arrival, which was a lovely touch. We stayed in room 1 which gave us a wonderful view. The room itself was very clean, as was the shower room (recently renovated) Apart from the usual tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV, there was a small fridge in the room. This was a great touch, it contained bottles of water and a small bottle of fresh milk! Two tub chairs made this a room to relax in and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast gave the options of fresh fruit,yoghurt,cereals,omelettes or full English. The food was beautifully cooked and a good size to set you up for a day's walking! This B&B is 5 minutes from the town and less than 10 minutes from the lake itself. I would definitely recommend this B&B, Alison and Barry were the perfect hosts and have created a warm and welcoming environment that we hope to re visit in the future.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a lovely view.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Caron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews