We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crazily Cold - Awesome Experience - 1 to do before you die!”

Keswick Adventure Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Via Ferrata, Canyoning, Ghyll Scrambling, Stand Up Paddleboarding and Rock Climbing - just a few of the fabulous activities on offer from Keswick's Premier Activity Provider.Catering for School Groups upto 150 through to individuals, families and businesses.Memories that Last Forever.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Crazily Cold - Awesome Experience - 1 to do before you die!”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Myself and 2 friends went Ghyll Scrambling with Al from Keswick Adventures on Friday 4th November - Wow, what a way to spend the morning!

All kitted up with the provided wetsuits we headed off into the mountains in Al's jeep and away we went! A very exciting and thrilling way to spend the morning. Extremely cold to begin with, but with the adrenaline pumping through your body from the 15ft jumps.... my favourite being "jumping into the washing machine" you soon warm up!

If we are back in Keswick in the future we will definitly be in touch!

Cheers

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Stevehicks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ghyll Scrambling - amazing!”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Went ghyll scrambling on November 4th 2011 in the Lake District for the very first time and it was a brilliant experience. It was a small group of 5 so we were taken through an extra 10mins of the ghyll as we were loving it so much and wanted more!

Not going to lie.. it was absolutely freezing but the adrenaline keeps you going! Definitely bring lots of layers of clothing and shoes with good grip; you're provided with a wetsuit and helmet.

Al, the instructor, was really helpful from booking and answering emails to the guided activity itself and was fun with plenty of bant. I would recommend this activity to anyone up for a different experience in beautiful surroundings. Next time I am in the Lake District I will be trying out the rest of the activities at Keswick Adventure Centre.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank yh_truong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ghyll Scrambling - A great activity for a wet Sunday afternoon”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Al and his son put on a great afternoon for my friends and I. They provide good equipment so despite the conditions we were always comfortable. Al was a decent instructor with a never ending steam of banter and dad jokes, although he was always very safety conscious. Lots of fun, highly recommended.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes !!”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

What a brilliant couple of days we had with Alastair and his great team of experts. They set 3 trips up for us over 2 days and nothing was too much trouble for them. All the guys were superb fun and some were even great to look at! Dave helped us through the scary abseiling with calm and lovely positive encouragement, Sean instilled "commitment" in us to do the ghyll scrambling safely and Dwayne was a pleasure to go Mountain Biking with - great chat and a perfect guide. As for Alastair - what a cheeky chappie. Made the trip for us guys - thanks so much and remember to book direct with them!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ScotandLiverbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wet & Wild”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Went ghyll scrambing with the guys from Keswick Adventure Centre. They were awesome, organised us all into kit, gave us clear instructions and then took us all on the 'ride' of a lifetime - down a wet and wild ghyll in the Lake District - and they took PHOTO's so we have proof!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank RAKearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keswick Adventure Centre also viewed

 

Been to Keswick Adventure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing