We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“freindly clean efficient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2017

been here several times due to its location and staff... recent refurb has improved it even more...we were late booking this time and hotel pretty full so had to pay £50 extra in station building..well worth the extra as well sited and great views from sir Joshua Reynolds suite.. food bit rich for me but evening meals well impressive and dining room nicely decorated.... all staff and management are the best you will get anywhere in the world and we have been to many top places abroad . service is excellent and always with a smile

Room Tip: window seat for dinner as rabbits will keep you amused between courses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamjbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Me and my wife have only spent just a few hrs hear and can tell 1st impressions count from the outside to the front desk and the rooms everything is spot on its beautiful the staff helpful smiling professional knowledgeable inside and out some part old but just adds to just how nice this place is new areas beautiful areas we have not been in like Restraunt some outside areas can't comment only because I don't think it would differ from what already think and feel about this Hotel have give it ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ can't fault it thank you

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank neil1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We had a twin room with comfortable beds,a large bathroom and a mountain view. The dining room was bright with garden views and the food was excellent..The lounge area was large and looked newly refurbished in attractive restful colours.

Room Tip: Front garden view would probably be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank P107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Really not impressed at all with this hotel. I booked a so called 'superior king' room for my girlfriend and myself as a treat for her birthday, at a cost of £366 for two nights. The room was a huge letdown to say the least. We walked into a freezing cold room which smelled of damp, the bed was a double bed, not king size. The quality of the bed was extremely poor, a cheap and very uncomfortable mattress with poor bedding and pillows. When you pay just £40 for a Premier Inn at the side of a motorway you at least get a nice comfortable bed, so to find this kind of standard here after parting with over £360 was extremely disappointing and surprising. The room itself had paint cracking from the one of the walls and from the ceiling. We explained to one of the staff that we were disappointed with the quality of the room and to her credit she instantly offered us an upgrade, but this room was of just as poor quality.
I am aware that hotel prices in the Lake District are at a premium, but for £183 per night you are entitled to expect at least some level of quality, and this place had absolutely none whatsoever. The whole place has a generally old and tired feel to it. I must add that the staff were extremely pleasant and willing to help, but we will certainly not be coming back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Chorlo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely stay in Keswick. Great location with parking which was real bonus. Recently refurbished. Beautiful lounge and restaurant. Dinner menu was fabulous. Breakfast a little disappointing with limited range of items. But overall I would recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank elkay04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.8 km away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
770 reviews
4.9 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,184 reviews
28.8 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
678 reviews
24.7 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: €106 - €193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing