We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage - did not want to leave x”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax on the riverside patio and take pictures of the birds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax on the riverside patio and take pictures of the birds.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Relax on the riverside patio and take pictures of the birds.
The bathroom features a very nice and very large shower and good views across the river.
Picture of heron taken from patio to the rear of Lydia'sRiver Cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nellie391...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage - did not want to leave x”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A fantastic location for a holiday in Keswick. A beautiful cottage in gorgeous surroundings. The riverside patio was very peaceful. The cottage has everything you need and is very cosy. We were a family of four and found the size more than adequate for us all. There is plenty of storage space (especially for all our walking gear). The open plan space downstairs is a great place to relax after a day walking in the hills (with a fire in a bit wet). The wifi was also very reliable. It is just a 10 minute walk into town for shopping or an evening meal. We would recommend Casa Bella if you like Italian food. We loved our time in the cottage and wished we had booked two weeks. Would definitely stay again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Lydia's River Cottage and hope to welcome you back someday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Hello Jillian, Michael and I love it when guests have a good stay and enjoy Keswick and the surrounding area to the full. We were not able to meet up on this occasion, but hopefully if you return to Keswick we will be able to do so.

Kind Regards

Daphne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Princy J
1 review
“Beautiful cottage set in an exquisite surrounding”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A beautiful cottage placed in an exquisite surrounding. The cottage is within walkable distance from the town centre, the lakes and other walking destinations. The interior is very tastefully done. The kitchen is fitted with high quality appliances. The patio with the river running close by was a real bonus. The owners were friendly and helpful. We had good communication since the time of booking the cottage and right up to our arrival. We were delighted to be welcomed with a delicious home made cake! We had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing time during our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for reviewing Lydia's River Cottage in such glowing terms, particularly as you are a first time visitor.We take heart from such reviews and it does make everything worthwhile.
Daphne & Michael.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venture71...
1 review
“Excellent self-catering cottage in Keswick - perfect for exploring the North Lakes”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a lovely, newly refurbished cottage on the riverside within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre.

The cottage was luxurious and immaculate, and the shower was very spacious. The bedrooms are a little on the small side - something to bear in mind if a family is staying. Having said that, my husband and I were very comfortable and slept well. There was plenty of storage space in both bedrooms. The living room / kitchen was a great space to relax in after a day out, and we found the broadband/wifi reliable and fast. We could stream entertainment on the TV by logging into our streaming accounts.

My husband and I had some questions before and after booking, and upon arrival, and Daphne was very responsive and informative - quality customer service!

We had a wonderful holiday and would definitely stay here again.

There is a bus stop almost on the doorstep (Twa Dogs Inn), with buses that run into Keswick and other locations in the North Lakes. We didn't have a car, and were able to use the buses to take day trips to Cockermouth, Buttermere and Grasmere. When we arrived, we came in by train from London to Penrith and then took a taxi from there to Keswick, though you could also use take a bus.

Aside from being well-connected, Keswick itself is worth exploring. We bought "round the lake" tickets and then broke up the journey with walks along the lakeside. Tourist Information in the town centre is helpful, and we can recommend the Java Coffee Shop and the Wild Strawberry for coffee, and Kat's Kitchen for veggie-friendly food.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely and informative review, and for sharing your tips for future guests. We're big fans of visiting Buttermere and Grasmere, too. Most of all, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon in the future if you decide to visit Keswick again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We could happily live here!”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lydia's River Cottage is honestly one of the nicest holiday cottage we've stayed in - and we've stayed in many and various! Not only because of the obvious beautiful location, overlooking the River Greta (private balcony with river views) and within walking distance of Keswick town centre and its amenities, without the hassle of car parking; Daphne and Michael have worked very hard on making a beautiful home-from-home. Much thought and care (and seemingly greater expense than one would expect for a holiday let) have gone into the decor, fittings and furnishings, which are of excellent quality and taste. There has been attention to detail, which give that little feeling of luxury. The bathroom is beautiful, with a superb, large, indulgent shower; the kitchen is amazingly capacious and well-kitted out; bedrooms are small, but cleverly provide more than enough storage space and very comfortable beds. For a cottage this size, there is an amazing feeling of light and space; the open plan layout downstairs is perfect for that holiday feeling.
The delicious home-made cake was very welcoming, with the tea and milk provided too.
Daphne and Michael are very helpful, thoughtful, caring hosts.
We will definitely stay here again and have been recommending Lydia's to friends and family.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for the lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards Daphne & Michael.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing