We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (651)
Filter reviews
651 results
Traveller rating
415
175
36
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
175
36
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird feeders sun loungers landing stage lodore falls overlooking derwentwater keswick launch lovely hotel the main hotel lake district evening meal generous portions dog friendly hotel easy access bay window stunning views short break lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 651 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Staying in a B&B nearby. Rang hotel which advertises itself as open all day to walkers for meals etc. We’re advised to pop in early to see if tables available for dinner only to be advised by the same member of staff when we did turn up that they didn’t know how many tables would be free as they were waiting for their own guests. ££ lost and off we went to spend our money elsewhere! shame, Won’t bother again!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank karen1791615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

As always, the Hotel exceeds your expectations, comfortable rooms, great food, good beer and the staff could not be more helpful.
Have now stayed at this hotel half a dozen times over the last four years, and it gets better every time.
The dinner menu is always wide ranging, you could stay for a week and never repeat your meal!

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Perfect each & every time we stop here be it for a quick refreshing 'pitstop' or to be fed & watered...

To be honest, our trips to derwent water are never without at least one stop here.

Location - perfect.
Accomadation - spotless.
Food - superb (cant wait to have the chicken stuffed with haggis then wrapped in panchetta....lovely.

A quick stop off today following a couple of hours quad biking close by. So a 2 mile hike to the MM was our reward & lovely once again.

Thank you to all the staff that work here that makes this place 'tick' & work so good.

Thank you

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Stayed for one night on our way back to Wales from Scotland. Staff were increadibly welcoming and the service was great, from the moment we arrived. Our room was spotless and had everything we needed. We had our two dogs with us so were given a room in a building on the grounds where people can stay with pets but, as I said, it was a lovely room with a very nice, newly renovated bathroom.

The hotel is perfectly situated next to Derwentwater and even has it’s own little jetty. We had a very pleasant dinner, in a bar where dogs are allowed. In the morning breakfast was served promptly and was also very good. The dogs were given a Cumberland sausage each so if there was a dog Tripadvisor they would give it full marks. The hotel was quite a find, more than just tolerating dogs, they make an effort to welcome them. They are also exceptionally nice to human guests

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PandionWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Been here for the last 4 years when visiting family from Cornwall . Just a quick drink ... turned into all afternoon. Very comfortable lounge with leather seats or tables . Staff very friendly & helpful. Can only imagine , on a warm evening it would be a great place to chill out , outside with a view to die for. Had lunch today, (vegetable ) hot & very tasty. A most !!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank fraddondrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews