We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hen House

Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Fresh eggs daily (hens willing!)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Fresh eggs daily (hens willing!)
Take a peak inside the nesting boxes and help yourself to eggs
Stunning sunsets
Outdoor space with patio and chairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian T
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a wonderful little place to stay. Tucked away in beautiful countryside. Absolutely ideal for trips into the heart of the Lake District. The kids loved looking for the hens each morning. A lovely warm welcome from the owners and would definitely look to stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Thanks for the great review, we're so glad you all enjoyed your stay and we'd love to welcome you back.
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiggy0307...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Little Lakes Cottage”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a lovely stay at this lakes hideaway over new year with our little girl. The cottage is very well equipped and has everything needed to enjoy a home from home break way in the lakes. Our little girl loved chasing the chickens, sorry collecting eggs in the morning. Lesley the owners was very helpful prior to arriving with directions and local info and very welcoming on arrival. Would definitely recommend to both couples and small families as a great base to explore the lakes and north Yorkshire dales. Will hopefully return again soon..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decor and value for money
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bex W
2 reviews
“Cosy, relaxing retreat”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Lovely cute property with all the basics you need for a couple of nights.
Clean and tidy and lots of helpful information about the local area.
Owners very welcoming, made sure we were comfortable - also a lovely surprise to get a bottle of mulled wine as a little Christmas gift.
Great value for money and would definitely recommend for a couple or small family wanting a quiet country retreat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Thanks for your review Bex and I'm delighted you would recommend us to others.
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
247tripad...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“cosy retreat”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Enjoyed our stay, well equipt, a bit disappointed that i had to introduce myself to the owners the day after we arrived, otherwise i dont think i would have seen them at all all bank holiday wknd, but dont let this put you off, from what i read in the comment book, other people staying were well looked after. But otherwise very comfortable, four adults and one dog, nice break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the nice quiet area
Liked least: lack of communication from hosts
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Hi there - thanks for your review and apologies we didn't get to meet you on your first day, but it was lovely to see you on your second day. I'm glad you enjoyed your break in this beautiful part of the country.

Kind regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleW...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely house for family to stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had lovely time in the hen's house, children were very excited to see the hens. House is clean and warm and well equipped. Would definitely come back in near future.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and it would be lovely to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing